Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-29 @ 20:41

I'm using dosbox with win 3.1 in it. Most things work fine except for Photoshop 4.0. It freezes the moment PS 4.0 starts.

The output in the console is:
Code: Select all
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with ff, len 1
XGA: Wrote to port bda3 with 0, len 1
....
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'int'
Last edited by dehavilland on 2014-1-30 @ 18:11, edited 3 times in total.
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby Jorpho » 2014-1-29 @ 21:55

Do you have the S3 video driver installed? What resolution are you running Windows 3.1 in?
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-29 @ 21:58

Jorpho wrote:Do you have the S3 video driver installed? What resolution are you running Windows 3.1 in?

Yes I have installed the S3 video driver.
Resolution is 1024x768, I tried 800x600 and it also crashes.
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby Jorpho » 2014-1-29 @ 23:32

What about the color depth?
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-30 @ 01:04

Jorpho wrote:What about the color depth?


I have tried 256 32K 64K but none is OK.
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby IIGS_User » 2014-1-30 @ 08:31

dehavilland wrote:I have tried 256 32K 64K but none is OK.

So W31 still displays 16 colours "only"?
Klimawandel.
User avatar
IIGS_User
Oldbie
 
Posts: 877
Joined: 2007-3-14 @ 19:59
Location: native_lang=ger

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-30 @ 14:44

IIGS_User wrote:
dehavilland wrote:I have tried 256 32K 64K but none is OK.

So W31 still displays 16 colours "only"?


Maybe, I failed to notice any change in the color.
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby Jorpho » 2014-1-30 @ 15:58

All right... How about one of the other video drivers?
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=9405
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-30 @ 18:10

Jorpho wrote:All right... How about one of the other video drivers?
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=9405


I'm sorry but the title of this post is wrong. Not crash, but freeze.

Well I tried all these video drivers.

ET4000 with configuration of svga_et4000:Unable to enter windows
ET4TURBO with svga_et4000:Windows will become more 'colorful', but it only have 256 colors(All 64k colors belongs to ET4000 configuration:( ) PS 4.0 make dosbox freeze again but without reporting XGA errors, only "terminate called after throwing an instance of 'int' "
svga_et3000:Windows will not display properly.
paradise:Windows will not become more colorful, also PS 4.0 make dosbox freeze but without XGA errors.
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby Jorpho » 2014-1-30 @ 18:17

Well, I'm just about out of ideas. Maybe it's time to give up and use PCem instead.

What if you change the cpu_type to a 386 or a 486? Or have you tried installing the Photoshop 4.0.1 update?
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-30 @ 18:20

Well this is the 'last moment' of running PS 4.0 with an S3 driver (1024x768x64k) It is a Chinese version of Win3.1 (PWIN3.2).
...
选区_008.png
(25.55 KiB) Not downloaded yet

...
Last edited by dehavilland on 2014-1-30 @ 18:27, edited 1 time in total.
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-30 @ 18:23

Jorpho wrote:Well, I'm just about out of ideas. Maybe it's time to give up and use PCem instead.

What if you change the cpu_type to a 386 or a 486? Or have you tried installing the Photoshop 4.0.1 update?


Yes I have installed 4.0.1 update. Is that a matter of Win32s? But other programs that requires win32s runs perfectly...

Now I'm trying to rollback and see what will happen.
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby Jorpho » 2014-1-30 @ 19:24

dehavilland wrote:Is that a matter of Win32s? But other programs that requires win32s runs perfectly...
Yes, Win32s normally requires the cpu_type to be adjusted, but maybe Photoshop also requires this. It's worth a try, anyway. I looked up the system requirements and saw that the program's minimum requirement was a 386 and that it included special optimizations for Pentiums.

It is a Chinese version of Win3.1 (PWIN3.2)
Maybe the regular version of Windows 3.1 will work better?
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-30 @ 22:07

Jorpho wrote:
dehavilland wrote:Is that a matter of Win32s? But other programs that requires win32s runs perfectly...
Yes, Win32s normally requires the cpu_type to be adjusted, but maybe Photoshop also requires this. It's worth a try, anyway. I looked up the system requirements and saw that the program's minimum requirement was a 386 and that it included special optimizations for Pentiums.

It is a Chinese version of Win3.1 (PWIN3.2)
Maybe the regular version of Windows 3.1 will work better?


Even Photoshop 3.0 won't work...

I rolled back to PS 2.5 and it finally works...:(
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby truth_deleted » 2014-1-30 @ 23:58

Win32s compatibility with Photoshop to version 3.x: http://stephan.win31.de/w32slist.htm#list (Installer may give trouble by crashing in module <unknown> v3.0).
truth_deleted
 

Re: Dosbox crash when running photoshop 4.0

Postby IIGS_User » 2014-1-31 @ 08:09

This one worked within my DOSBox setup:
Video-drivers.com/w3117004
Klimawandel.
User avatar
IIGS_User
Oldbie
 
Posts: 877
Joined: 2007-3-14 @ 19:59
Location: native_lang=ger

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby dehavilland » 2014-1-31 @ 16:08

Well, there is some similar problems when executing AutoCAD R12...

XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 4002a, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3fb002a, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3fb0041, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 23002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 4b002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 4b003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 18f002e, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 244002e, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 244003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with cb002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with dd002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with dd003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with e0002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with f2002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with f2003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with f5002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 107002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 107003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 260002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 272002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 272003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 275002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 287002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 287003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 28a002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 29c002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 29c003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 29f002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2b1002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2b1003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 2b4002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2c6002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2c6003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 2c9002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2db002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2db003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 2de002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2f0002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 2f0003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 2f3002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 305002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 305003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 308002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 31a002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 31a003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 31d002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 32f002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 32f003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 332002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 344002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 344003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 347002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 359002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 359003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 35c002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 36e002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 36e003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 371002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 383002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 383003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 386002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 398002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 398003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 39b002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3ad002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3ad003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 3b0002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3c2002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3c2003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 3c5002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3d7002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3d7003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 3da002d, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3ec002d, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 3ec003f, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with 15b0064, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 170064, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 1701a8, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 8104 with d00067, len 4
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 1580067, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
XGA: Wrote to port 810c with 15801a6, len 4
XGA: Unhandled draw command 3
Amibay username:winstonwu91
Recent wants:A cheap intelligent midi interface card, a good record player

A young Chinese student studying in US, drives a vintage car, use a vintage typewriter and loves vintage PC.
dehavilland
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-1-19 @ 00:08
Location: DE, USA

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2014-2-02 @ 15:15

Command 3 is CMD_RECTV1 (fill rectangle in y direction). Not implemented in DOSBox.

I didn't find documentation about port bda3.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Dosbox freezes when running photoshop 4.0

Postby Vanden » 2017-12-05 @ 08:57

Hello,

I had exactly the same problem with Photshop 3.x and 4.0.x: Dosbox freezes or Win32s error ...
In my case it was because of QEMM 97: do not use the optimization of QEMM. it is possible to just use MagnaRAM to have a RAM manager.

Win3.11 with Photosop 4.0.1
Win3.11 with Photosop 4.0.1 (22780x6000 jpg open)
Vanden
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-12-01 @ 16:03


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests