Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby brazzjazz » 2018-10-23 @ 21:02

Hi,

I already mentioned the problem in a thread on GOG.com: https://www.gog.com/forum/ignition/horr ... ring/post9

I'm getting a low framerate, constantly varying from 20 to 50 fps. I want a steady 60 fps, though, if this is possible.

I don't know the DOSBox version, where do I check it?

Apart from DirectDraw, which I had when I last looked into this problem today, I also tried OpenGL, OpenGLnb, Direct3D (same low framerate).

My dosbox_igni.conf:

Code: Select all
# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.74. (Please use the latest version of DOSBox)
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines and are ignored by DOSBox.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
#       fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen. (Press ALT-Enter to go back)
#       fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen. It can reduce screen flickering, but it can also result in a slow DOSBox.
#   fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
#                     Using your monitor's native resolution with aspect=true might give the best results.
#                     If you end up with small window on a large screen, try an output different from surface.
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
#                     (output=surface does not!)
#           output: What video system to use for output.
#                   Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw.
#         autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen. (Press CTRL-F10 to unlock)
#      sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
#      waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
#         priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
#                     pause is only valid for the second entry.
#                   Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
#       mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from. Resetmapper only works with the defaul value.
#     usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=desktop
windowresolution=original
output=ddraw
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
#  machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
#           Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
#  memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
#             This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
#             though few games might require a higher value.
#             There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
#    aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
#    scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
#              If 'forced' is appended, then the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
#            Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=true
scaler=hq3x

[cpu]
#      core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
#            Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
#   cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
#            Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.
#    cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
#            Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
#            Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
#              'auto'          tries to guess what a game needs.
#                              It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
#              'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
#                              (Example: fixed 4000).
#              'max'           will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle.
#           
#            Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
#   cycleup: Amount of cycles to decrease/increase with keycombo.(CTRL-F11/CTRL-F12)
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=1000
cycledown=1000

[mixer]
#   nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
#      rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
#            Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=20

[midi]
#     mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
#             Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#             Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
#               See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
#  sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
#          Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
#  sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#     irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#     dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
#    hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
#          Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
#  oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
#          Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
#          Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=22050

[gus]
#      gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
#  gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
#           Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#  gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#   gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#   gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
#           there should be a MIDI directory that contains
#           the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
#           with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
#    pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#     tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
#            Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#    disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
#               2axis (supports two joysticks),
#               4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
#               4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
#               fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
#               none disables joystick emulation.
#               auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
#               (Remember to reset dosbox's mapperfile if you saved it earlier)
#               Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
#        timed: enable timed intervals for axis. Experiment with this option, if your joystick drifts (away).
#     autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
#       swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
#   buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=auto
timed=false
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
#          Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
#          Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#          parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq (optional).
#          for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
#                           (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
#          for modem: listenport (optional).
#          for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
#                         transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
#          Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
#            xms: Enable XMS support.
#            ems: Enable EMS support.
#            umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=auto

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.


My PC: Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, MSI GTX 970 @1446/3893 MHz, 16 GB DDR3-1600, Win10 x64
My ReShade presets: https://sfx.thelazy.net/users/u/brazzjazz/
User avatar
brazzjazz
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-10-21 @ 00:53

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby DosFreak » 2018-10-23 @ 21:39

You're trying to run a late 90s DOS game in software mode instead of glide and expecting 60fps. Not going to happen even on the original hardware.

Why not play the Glide Windows ver? Supposedly that runs better.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9935
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby brazzjazz » 2018-10-24 @ 01:09

I found out GOG has included the Windows version as a CD image (game.gog), and I'm trying to run the Windows version now. Apart from glitches of its own, it seems to have a strange cap of 36 fps that only occasionally venture up to 55-60 fps.
My PC: Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, MSI GTX 970 @1446/3893 MHz, 16 GB DDR3-1600, Win10 x64
My ReShade presets: https://sfx.thelazy.net/users/u/brazzjazz/
User avatar
brazzjazz
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-10-21 @ 00:53

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2018-10-24 @ 07:41

Hm, I did a video of the game over a year ago and it ran pretty smooth even in 800x600 in DOSBox. I didn't run a FPS counter though, but to me the framerate seemed pretty stable. Many games of that time weren't even able to run in 60FPS.

Did you try running the game without the hq3x scaler? That might have a large impact on performance as well.

Here's the video btw.: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eotq7sjzU3g
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 350
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby brazzjazz » 2018-10-26 @ 22:24

Yesterplay80 wrote:Hm, I did a video of the game over a year ago and it ran pretty smooth even in 800x600 in DOSBox. I didn't run a FPS counter though, but to me the framerate seemed pretty stable. Many games of that time weren't even able to run in 60FPS.

Did you try running the game without the hq3x scaler? That might have a large impact on performance as well.

Here's the video btw.: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eotq7sjzU3g


Hi, yeah, I even used your config file, from your GOG thread, remember? :-) I suspect you might get the same framerates, only I only call 60+ fps smooth, and even stable 36 fps still hurt my eyes. On top of that, the framerate looks worse than what it shows in Afterburner for some reason.
My PC: Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, MSI GTX 970 @1446/3893 MHz, 16 GB DDR3-1600, Win10 x64
My ReShade presets: https://sfx.thelazy.net/users/u/brazzjazz/
User avatar
brazzjazz
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-10-21 @ 00:53

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby lightmaster » 2018-10-27 @ 22:15

Hello there:
Maybe the problem is Afterburner's overlay, try without it?
Good Luck!!
MoL
Image
User avatar
lightmaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 638
Joined: 2005-10-01 @ 12:09
Location: Sol III

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby brazzjazz » 2018-10-29 @ 18:56

It feels the same without Afterburner...
My PC: Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, MSI GTX 970 @1446/3893 MHz, 16 GB DDR3-1600, Win10 x64
My ReShade presets: https://sfx.thelazy.net/users/u/brazzjazz/
User avatar
brazzjazz
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-10-21 @ 00:53

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby lightmaster » 2018-10-29 @ 19:48

Looks like an engine limitation of fps, remember doom and doom II? 35fps (Tics per second).
Image
User avatar
lightmaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 638
Joined: 2005-10-01 @ 12:09
Location: Sol III

Re: Ignition (DOSBox, GOG version) has low framerate

Postby brazzjazz » 2018-10-29 @ 20:14

This sounds plausible, since I witnessed long stretches of 36 fps, and both DOS and Windows version behave very similarly. Even though for short moments, MSI Afterburner measured 60 fps - I'm not sure whether this could be explained away with some phenomenon.
My PC: Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, MSI GTX 970 @1446/3893 MHz, 16 GB DDR3-1600, Win10 x64
My ReShade presets: https://sfx.thelazy.net/users/u/brazzjazz/
User avatar
brazzjazz
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-10-21 @ 00:53


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests