VOGONS

First post, by JayDP

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi;

I am very new to the use of Emulators.
Somehow I got directed to DOSBOX v 0.65.
I have printed and read the README.
I have Windows XP Pro on a PC as follows:

1.80 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64, 64 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: MSI MS-7191 1.0
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 080012 10/14/2005
1984 Megabytes Installed Memory
Slot 'DIMM0' has 512 MB (serial number SerNum0)
Slot 'DIMM1' has 512 MB
Slot 'DIMM2' has 512 MB
Slot 'DIMM3' has 512 MB

I tried to use XP's Compatability mode to run the SETUP.EXE off of the CD.
It wouldn't run/install. I tried to copy all of the files off of the CD to a directory, it wouldn't allow copy. I tried to use DOSBOX, mounted the CDRom drive, tried to run the setup.exe and apparently I need Windows to install this game.
Help?

UPDATE/Follow-Up: I found out that there is a DOS version (BAT file) to install & run KQVII - as well as a Windows version on the CD. I installed the DOS version using DOSBOX on my XP Pro to get it working, I did. Then I installed all on the XP Home PC for my daughter, for whom the game was actually for to begin with.

I am not sure if I can use the DOSShell front end to run a DOS game. I do not want my daughter to have to type in "cd Sierra" & "KQ7DOS" each and every time. So for now I have put those two commands in the DOSBox Config file. Not proper or eloquent, and this will NOT do should I load any more of our older games that she likes and useful for the long summer ahead home and off school, but it's a start.

The DOSShell front end did not have much documentation, so I need help, either: Configuring a BATch file so my daughter can just type one command to run the game and it will exit DOSBOX when finished
OR Help with somehow using the DOSSHELL front end to accomplish the same thing. Thanks!

Last edited by JayDP on 2006-06-07, 10:52. Edited 1 time in total.