How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Re: How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Postby Radicator » 2010-1-06 @ 03:47

I am trying to install the cd version of flashback but now the install freezes in dosbox 0.73. I am using the latest freeware version of xxcopy and have followed the instructions for installing it in dosbox. After entering in "install c fb", I get the following message:
XXCOPY == Freeware == Ver 2.93.1 (C)1995-2006 Pixelab, Inc.
Create the new directory, C:\FB\INSTALL.EXE (Yes/No)?


At that time, dosbox freezes up and I have to kill dosbox. Any suggestions?
User avatar
Radicator
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-1-06 @ 03:06

Re: How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Postby rcblanke » 2010-1-06 @ 10:51

Maybe try to perform the command

SET COPYCMD=/Y

before installing.
User avatar
rcblanke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: 2005-4-01 @ 09:44
Location: Round 42

Re: How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Postby Radicator » 2010-1-06 @ 12:21

I tried that and still get the same thing.
User avatar
Radicator
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-1-06 @ 03:06

Re: How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Postby Radicator » 2010-1-07 @ 02:30

The answer was in front of me all of the time. Another way to get the flashback cd to use xcopy, all you have to do is run the install.bat in windows command and exit the game configuration menu. After that you copy the fb directory to your dosbox game directory and run the install.exe from the fb directory. If your CDrom drive is a different letter in dosbox, you have to edit "go.bat" in the fb directory to change it to the drive letter of your mounted cdrom drive in dosbox. Now I have sound and music with mt-32 selected as the midi device. I wonder if this helps other games that install with xcopy. Please do tell.
User avatar
Radicator
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-1-06 @ 03:06

Re: How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Postby SKARDAVNELNATE » 2012-6-11 @ 21:50

Can someone provide a better link? I don't see an XXCOPY16.EXE in the ZIP file.
User avatar
SKARDAVNELNATE
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1176
Joined: 2006-10-28 @ 15:51

Re: How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Postby bloodbat » 2012-6-11 @ 22:18

Hmm can't find it either, but maybe this works just as well...
http://www.freedos.org/software/?prog=xcopy
User avatar
bloodbat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 792
Joined: 2009-12-06 @ 07:11

Re: How to get games which install with XCOPY to work - GUIDE

Postby zerodiagonal » 2018-5-31 @ 10:41

Going through my old .vfd archives (personal backups from my originals; not pirated versions), I found out that STEEL EMPIRE does rely on XCOPY to install.
My workaround was simple: just monut the vfd files and xcopy'ing them using the XP Command prompt, Doxbox'ing the hdd folder for accurate gameplay.

(yeah, this is an old thread but just wanted to add that game to the list)
User avatar
zerodiagonal
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2013-1-24 @ 16:48

Previous

Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest