VOGONS

First post, by mooggy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello people,
I am wondering if I could get some help with X-Com using DOSBOX please? Forgive me if this is structured incorrectly, I am not very experienced at asking for tech help.

Ok, I have the Dos version of X-Com on CD (for those of you against abandonware/illegal downloading, etc) that I bought a few years ago. I downloaded DOSBOX and mounted my D drive and am playing from the cd rom drive.

The game starts up just fine, but with no music, and i can place my base and do everything in the base screen and the Geoscape screen. As soon as I land at a crash site, the screen goes dark and nothing happens. If I continually press escape it jumps to the mission complete screen, then my graphics on the Geoscape are all messed up and I cannot interact with anything.

Now, as far as the music. I have done the d: setup.exe and put in the soundblaster and then the default channels and such, but after I make the last selection, I think it is music board, then 330, I get an error that says "Null Pointer".

I am very inexperienced with troubleshooting, so if there is a fix for these, can you please take it easy with me, or point me to a step by step tutorial on these fixes? I have searched these forums for an answer to this and did not find my exact problems.

Thank you very much for your time and insight.

Reply 4 of 8, by ADDiCT

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I'm not 100% sure, but i think you have to install the CD version on your hd. There are some games that can be run directly from the CD, and will save their config to a file on the c:\ drive, but i think i remember XCom (or UFO) needs to be installed.

So, first you should mount both a c:\ drive and your CD/DVD (d:\). Then try setting up the game again. If you're still having troubles, look for a menu item "install to hd" or something similar. If you find one, install the game to your c:\ drive, and run it from there.

Reply 5 of 8, by Neville