VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX (Commited r3804)

Postby Great Hierophant » 2014-2-07 @ 03:16

The attached ZAKJR executable fixes the off-center screen and the composite colors. The output looks just like the photo I took of the Tandy 1000 SX's composite color output. The RGBI colors look fine too.

Oh, and because I hate having to ask people to hack everything for me, I have attached the executable for Maniac Mansion, which also has this problem and has been fixed for the PCjr. using NRS' hack, the file compare command with the binary switch and a hex editor.
Attachments
MANIACJR.zip
(38.45 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
Last edited by Great Hierophant on 2014-2-08 @ 05:41, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2337
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2014-2-07 @ 04:54

This hacking of Maniac Mansion and Zak has only peripheral relevance to DOSBox and the composite patch, and is better joined to the thread where the hacking was first discussed.

To clarify, none of these hacks are needed for DOSBox (just use the Tandy machine type); and a real PCjr must be upgraded with a memory "sidecar" expansion in order to run the games, hacked or not.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4123
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby Great Hierophant » 2014-2-07 @ 05:06

And you will need to run a program like King's Quest I or tdyspkr.com to enable the external sound output, or you will hear nothing from these hacked games on a PCjr.
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2337
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby NewRisingSun » 2014-2-07 @ 15:54

This leads me to the question: What is the point of setting BIOS mode 4 then doing tens of manual I/O writes when you could just set BIOS mode 8 and be done with it? Silly LucasArts.
NewRisingSun
Oldbie
 
Posts: 777
Joined: 2005-9-02 @ 02:26

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2014-2-07 @ 17:33

Great Hierophant wrote:And you will need to run a program like King's Quest I or tdyspkr.com to enable the external sound output, or you will hear nothing from these hacked games on a PCjr.

You could use the bypassed Tandy register writes as "patch space" to enable output from the sound chip:

Code: Select all
mov ax,8003h
int 1ah

or, if you prefer a more direct approach:

Code: Select all
in  al,61h
or  al,60h
out 61h,al
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4123
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby NewRisingSun » 2014-2-07 @ 18:03

I have updated ZAKJR.EXE to incorporate the external sound output enable code.
NewRisingSun
Oldbie
 
Posts: 777
Joined: 2005-9-02 @ 02:26

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby Great Hierophant » 2014-2-08 @ 03:50

NewRisingSun wrote:I have updated ZAKJR.EXE to incorporate the external sound output enable code.


I checked the differences between the current and prior executable, and the changes make sense except why the change of two bytes at 0x12 and 0x13?

I made the appropriate changes to Maniac Mansion, except those bytes, and it Maniac works and enables the external sound. So does your Zak patch. I uploaded this new Maniac modification above.
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2337
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby NewRisingSun » 2014-2-08 @ 06:13

why the change of two bytes at 0x12 and 0x13?
That field in the EXE header is a checksum of all the non-overlay bytes in the EXE file. It's not terribly important, and most linkers don't set it at all, but Zak's apparently did, so I recalculated it after patching for consistency.
NewRisingSun
Oldbie
 
Posts: 777
Joined: 2005-9-02 @ 02:26

Re: VGA machine and Tandy audio for Maniac Mansion?

Postby Nilex » 2017-11-28 @ 05:09

@ OP, and everyone else with the same specific requirement

Offsets for 1993 MANIAC.EXE (non-enhanced & bundled with DOTT) are 751 & 752 (hex). Change BB FF to EB 19 and you're done.
And set tandy=on (true does nothing) in your .conf.

Ty ripsaw for EB 19!
User avatar
Nilex
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 07:08
Location: Croatia

Previous

Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests