VOGONS

Mechwarrior 2

Topic actions

First post, by Apreche

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi, I've got the DOS version of mechwarrior 2, and I've been dying to play it for 5 years. I haven't been able to except for once on an actual DOS machine. Since I don't have an actualy DOS pc lying around I think DOSbox is my only hope. The other DOS emulators just don't cut it.

So here's my problem.

I got the cdrom mounted using this command
mount d h:\ -t cdrom -usecd 0
I've tried every combination involving -aspi and -ioctl also.
I have managed to install mechwarrior 2 just fine. But when I try to run mech2.exe it says
"Error: Mechwarrior2 CD-Rom not found".
It is mounted properly and MSCDEX is working.
Is there any way to make this work? What is the secret? I'm dying to play!

Reply 2 of 4, by Apreche

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

the label trick didn't work at all. I have this as my mount statement

mount d h:\ -t cdrom -usecd 0 -label "MECH2_16B"

I've tried all combinations of ioctl and aspi. I've also tried with and without quotes around MECH2_16B. Every time it says

Drive D mounted as CDRom.

Shouldn't it say

Drive D mounted as MECH2_16b ???

Despite that, it still can't find the disc. I'm going to try a no CD crack, if I can find one.

Reply 3 of 4, by Apreche

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

OK, I tried the CD Crack available at this URL.
http://www.geocities.com/TimesSquare/5122/crack.htm

The hex it wanted me to edit was only in the mech2.exe and not n mw2.exe.