VOGONS

First post, by Lysander

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi, I'm new to DosBox and not terribly computer-literate at the best of times, so please bear with me if this question seems naive.

I've managed to download and unpack Master of Orion 1, the first version, and also managed to get it running with DosBox. When I first configured the game however, using the old archaic menus, I seem to have mismanaged setting up the sound correctly. I must have made a choice from the drop down menu of old sound cards that isn't supported by DosBox, because there is neither sound nor music in the game. I cannot reconfigure the game because you only get to do that one time apparently, when you first run it.

Does anyone know of a way I can go back in to the MOO configure options without re-installing it and starting over? Or alternatively, a way I can configure DosBox so that it just chooses a sound system associated with the game and uses it?

Again, the game is playable, but I remember the sounds and music fondly and I'd love to get those running if possible. If you have a method of making that work, please be as verbose as possible and assume I know very little about what I'm doing.

Thx!

Reply 1 of 8, by Osprey

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

You need to run INSTALL.EXE. It comes with the game and you need to run it in DOSBox. You'll be given an option to Reconfigure Hardware Options. Choose "SoundBlaster Pro (later)" for both. It doesn't matter if you don't have a Sound Blaster in your computer. DOSBox emulates one (i.e. a virtual sound card), essentially translating the game's audio to audio that Windows can play out of your real sound card.