Running a Basic ISO in DOSBOX Help

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Running a Basic ISO in DOSBOX Help

Postby Grit1212 » 2017-10-26 @ 21:23

I am trying to run Redneck Rampage in DOS v.0.74. The command line goes like this:

Z:\>MOUNT C "C:\dosgames\rr"
Drive C is mounted as local directory C:\dosgames\rr

Z:\>C:

C:\>

C:\>boot rednec~1.iso
Opening image file: rednec~1.iso
Booting from drive A...

I have no idea what to do next. Thank you for reading.
Grit1212
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-10-26 @ 21:19

Re: Running a Basic ISO in DOSBOX Help

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2017-10-26 @ 21:27

Please follow the 60 seconds guide in the DOSBox Guides area of the forum.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4161
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: Running a Basic ISO in DOSBOX Help

Postby Osprey » 2017-10-27 @ 17:39

It says "Booting from drive A...", so I assume that it mounted the ISO as the A drive; therefore, you would want to change to the A drive in the same way as you changed to the C drive, then do a "dir" to list the contents and see which executables you can run. I'm guessing because I've never used the BOOT command. I always use IMGMOUNT to mount ISOs.
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32

Re: Running a Basic ISO in DOSBOX Help

Postby leileilol » 2017-10-27 @ 22:09

Boot is meant for floppy games and hard disk images. Redneck Rampage is not a bootable floppy or a hard drive. There's never been a bootable CD game for the DOS PC.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9043
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Running a Basic ISO in DOSBOX Help

Postby Osprey » 2017-10-28 @ 19:30

leileilol wrote:Boot is meant for floppy games and hard disk images. Redneck Rampage is not a bootable floppy or a hard drive. There's never been a bootable CD game for the DOS PC.

I should've figured that that's what it was for, but it seemed to work for him. I guess that it really didn't and that it was hanging because it wasn't finding any boot files in the ISO. No wonder he didn't know what to do next. Anyways, yeah, you want to use IMGMOUNT, instead, Grit.
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests