Privateer without joystick

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Privateer without joystick

Postby alexxx » 2017-12-11 @ 10:19

I read all of the thread in viewtopic.php?t=22857, but I have a slightly different problem.
I want to play Privateer as I did on my old machine, keyboard and mouse only (I dont have a joystick).
But starting it I was stopped by the joystick calibration procedure.

What I did was to generate a dosbox.conf file by
Code: Select all
config -writeconf dosbox.conf
and edit it setting
Code: Select all
joysticktype=none


This allows me to bypass the calibration phase and see the intro, but now the mouse is not recognized, and that's where I am now.
Somebody knows how to make the mouse active? (apart from click in the window, ctrl+F10 - I already tested that...)
alexxx
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-12-11 @ 10:13

Re: Privateer without joystick

Postby Osprey » 2017-12-11 @ 18:32

If you're using the GOG or CD-ROM version, there's a patched EXE for in-flight music slowdown when not using a joystick. Perhaps that'll help. Try it with joysticktype as none, auto and 2axis.

https://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Wing_Comm ... paceflight

For what it's worth, I just installed and ran the game, both the floppy version and the GOG (CD-ROM) version, and everything seemed fine without any changes (to the .exe or .conf) needed. I got no joystick calibration screen (I don't have a joystick) and the mouse worked.

Just in case this is what you overlooked, you have to enable the mouse in the menu (Alt+O) before you can use it to fly in-mission. It's not totally clear if you meant in-mission or even in the menus, so I'm mentioning it.
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32

Re: Privateer without joystick

Postby alexxx » 2017-12-12 @ 15:44

thank you for your help - I meant no mouse at all, not even in the menus.
Unfortunately the joystick auto or 2axis give me the calibration screen, while none is ok but - as I said - no mouse... I wonder what I'm missing
alexxx
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-12-11 @ 10:13

Re: Privateer without joystick

Postby Osprey » 2017-12-12 @ 20:35

Are you using v0.74 of DOSBox? That's what I used to test the floppy version, but you might try one of the most recent vanilla SVN versions. Don't use SVN Daum.
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32

Re: Privateer without joystick

Postby alexxx » 2017-12-13 @ 08:15

I'm not at home to answer you right now, but I reinstalled retropie last week, and Dosbox from its optional packets manager...
Don't know if it is possible to use the SVN branches, I fear not
alexxx
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-12-11 @ 10:13

Re: Privateer without joystick

Postby Osprey » 2017-12-13 @ 18:49

RetroPIE? This is on Linux, then? I can't help too much more, then, unfortunately.
Osprey
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2017-7-27 @ 21:32


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest