Drilling Billy - Can't Start Up (newbie) [RESOVED]

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Drilling Billy - Can't Start Up (newbie) [RESOVED]

Postby Madmartigan » 2018-11-16 @ 17:01

I'm completely new to DOSBOX, just trying to help a friend play this old game. We're running Linux Mint 19 and I downloaded the Linux version of Drilling Billy from the official site.

When I run the .EXE, I get an error that the CD-ROM drive isn't detected. Our computer doesn't even had an optical drive, so I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do. I really appreciate any help!
Last edited by Madmartigan on 2018-11-18 @ 17:17, edited 1 time in total.
Madmartigan
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 16:51

Re: Drilling Billy - Can't Start Up (newbie)

Postby keenmaster486 » 2018-11-16 @ 17:10

First of all, if you downloaded the Linux version of the game, you don't need DOSBox.


But if you're using the DOS version of the game, it probably wants to see its original CD in the drive when there isn't one.

If the files you have comprise the entirety of what came with the game, a solution might be to simply mount the folder as the D: drive with the cdrom option, like so:

Code: Select all
mount d /thefolderthegameisin -t cdrom


This sets the D: drive as a CD-ROM and programs will see it as such. You could try launching the game from there.
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.
Very silly indeed: https://audaxeundum.wordpress.com
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

Re: Drilling Billy - Can't Start Up (newbie)

Postby Madmartigan » 2018-11-17 @ 03:53

Hey, thanks a bunch for the advice! And you are right, it's the DOS version, I was just following the Linux instructions.

Well, that got me a bit further! When I mounted the directory it said this: Mounted subdirectory: limited support Not sure if that's of any consequence.

I ran the EXE and it loaded up the main menu screen! I was able to move the selection around the screen, open the options menu, etc. I chose to start a game and it dumped me back on the DOS prompt with this message:

cd must be in drive d while playing


So close! Any other ideas that might help? Thanks so much.
Madmartigan
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 16:51

Re: Drilling Billy - Can't Start Up (newbie)

Postby zirkoni » 2018-11-17 @ 06:05

There should be a CD-image in the download (CLONE.CUE/CLONE.IMG). Mount that with imgmount in DOSBox:
Code: Select all
mount c /somePath/
imgmount d /pathToFile/CLONE.CUE -t cdrom


You can even re-install the game from the CD-image if you want.
User avatar
zirkoni
Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: 2014-7-17 @ 08:54

Re: Drilling Billy - Can't Start Up (newbie)

Postby Madmartigan » 2018-11-18 @ 17:17

Ah, I see! You have to create a virtual C: AND D: drive. Game's up and running now.

Well, I learned quite a bit here! Thanks again for your time.
Madmartigan
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 16:51


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests