How to configure sound in Monkey Island 1&2?

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

How to configure sound in Monkey Island 1&2?

Postby doaks80 » 2018-12-27 @ 23:42

No setup or install script (or config file) to select sound device...is there a way? Original non-CD VGA versions in DOSBOX currently.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: How to configure sound in Monkey Island 1&2?

Postby lightmaster » 2018-12-27 @ 23:46

Gog or Steam version?
Image
User avatar
lightmaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 645
Joined: 2005-10-01 @ 12:09
Location: Sol III

Re: How to configure sound in Monkey Island 1&2?

Postby doaks80 » 2018-12-27 @ 23:51

lightmaster wrote:Gog or Steam version?


Floppy versions.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: How to configure sound in Monkey Island 1&2?

Postby CrossBow777 » 2018-12-28 @ 00:05

The original floppy games basically defaulted to adlib sound or PC speaker if adlib couldn't be found. To force to something else like roland, required a patch file for the original monkey Island 1 but once in place, you would initiate roland sound by using the -r switch after the executable.

So..

monkey -r -v

I believe should load up monkey island 1 with VGA graphics (Assuming you have the VGA version) and roland sound for MT-32.

Monkey island 2 is similar if I've not mistaken?
User avatar
CrossBow777
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: 2018-2-06 @ 03:30
Location: Ivory Tower, Fantasia - Tulsa, OK

Re: How to configure sound in Monkey Island 1&2?

Postby doaks80 » 2018-12-28 @ 00:34

CrossBow777 wrote:The original floppy games basically defaulted to adlib sound or PC speaker if adlib couldn't be found. To force to something else like roland, required a patch file for the original monkey Island 1 but once in place, you would initiate roland sound by using the -r switch after the executable.

So..

monkey -r -v

I believe should load up monkey island 1 with VGA graphics (Assuming you have the VGA version) and roland sound for MT-32.

Monkey island 2 is similar if I've not mistaken?


Thanks brother...just tried it out on my external CM-32L and it sounds great. Although the command in just "monkey r v" without the "-" :)
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests