Writing a patch in ASM

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Writing a patch in ASM

Postby Akuma » 2019-8-06 @ 10:01

Fella's,

I have a game that requires a patch to run properly, there is a bug and I do not want to touch the original exe.
After some googling I cant find much information on how to write one in ASM.

EDIT: I want to patch the program in memory, its compressed.

How do I go about this? (I am new to this)
Last edited by Akuma on 2019-8-08 @ 07:15, edited 1 time in total.
Akuma

Re: Wrting a patch in ASM

Postby VileRancour » 2019-8-07 @ 16:02

You provide little information on what you're trying to do (or why a copy of the EXE won't do), but I'm inferring that you'd like to patch the game in-memory and then run it?

If so, a good start might be DOS function 4Bh/AL=1 (load but do not execute).
web  /   blog   /   tube
VileRancour
Oldbie

Postby ph4nt0m » 2019-8-07 @ 18:54

If you know the byte sequence to be patched, open the EXE in a hex editor of your choice, do the job and save as a copy.
ph4nt0m

Postby kjliew » 2019-8-07 @ 20:18

Check out Binary diff/patch utilities
http://www.daemonology.net/bsdiff/
kjliew

Re: Writing a patch in ASM

Postby Akuma » 2019-8-08 @ 07:25

VileRancour wrote:You provide little information on what you're trying to do (or why a copy of the EXE won't do), but I'm inferring that you'd like to patch the game in-memory and then run it?

If so, a good start might be DOS function 4Bh/AL=1 (load but do not execute).

My bad, I wasn't too clear about what I wanted, but yes I want to patch the game in-memory.

ph4nt0m wrote:If you know the byte sequence to be patched, open the EXE in a hex editor of your choice, do the job and save as a copy.