VOGONS


Antagony!

Topic actions

First post, by Alexsource

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Does anybody remember this game? A mortal kombat clone made by (i think..) amateurish programmers (trinity software).
I tryed to get this game to work, bu t i couldn't, i tryed both the demo and the full version.
First, some technical details:
* Minimun requirements are 386sx 33Mhz 4mb ram
* Readme says it needs a good VGA card on a 386 ->"(a good one means not OAK!)"->extracted from readme.
* Does some funky memeory management. It tend to bitch about disabling emm386 on a real machine. (none of these warnings appear in dosbox!)
* The demo/shareware version has a joystick detection/calibration thingy at the beggining, after a splah acreen with the usual text ("this is shareware..blabla...give it to your friends...blabla..buy if you like it,etc.").

Now,I've tryed all 4 cycles, different memory sizes, enbled both xms and ems, disabled both, leving only xms enabled, leaving only ems enabled.
tryed enabling and disabling sound blaster, speacker and gus emulation and nothing.
For the shareware-> it just stays at the splash screen.
Full version -> display a splah screen which says: "trinity softwaer presents", then fades out to another splash screen with a buda statue on the right and some text with some palete animation effect (or something that looks like it), and stays there. No text changes, no nothing at all.
It's not a great game, but the tournament mode has one interesting faeture, "linked force bars", wich means you gain the energy the oponent loses when you hit him and the other way around.

chronos.jpg motoakira.jpg

Reply 1 of 16, by DosFreak

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

How long did you wait when it appeared to freeze?

I've noticed that with some Dos games if the cycles isn't high enough (25K+ range) then at times when there is a transition between main menu and game that it may appear that the game has froze.

DOSBox Compilation Guides
DosBox Feature Request Thread
PC Game Compatibility List
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Running DRM games offline

Reply 2 of 16, by Alexsource

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

The weird thing is that the palette animation effect on the text keeps rolling...
Anyway, i've left it at 10k cycles for ten minutes and it stayed in the same place.
I tryed loading msdos 5.0 keyb.exe to see if it made any improvements, but it didn't...
I've tried loadfixing the game, so it only has 580kb base ram free (the minimun required by this game), yet nothing...
I've alo tryed reserving way more (128kb), and using 4mbs of emulated ram, and it still freezes.
I was able to play it on a w98box, but without sound, i would like to experience the sound in dosbox.
Anyway, this game is a rarity, it has more of a collection value than anything else, yet it would be nice if dosbox could run it 😀

chronos.jpg motoakira.jpg

Reply 3 of 16, by Alexsource

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Tryed running fhe full version of the game with Ieremou's debug enabled build with the following conf:

[sdl]
# fullscreen -- Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# fulldouble -- Use double buffering in fullscreen.
# fullfixed -- Don't resize the screen when in fullscreen.
# fullresolution -- What resolution to use for fullscreen, use together with fullfixed.
# output -- What to use for output: surface,overlay,opengl,openglnb,ddraw,direct3d.
# hwscale -- Extra scaling of window if the output device supports hardware scaling.
# autolock -- Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitiviy -- Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror -- Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority -- Priority levels for dosbox: lower,normal,higher,highest.
# Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
# mapperfile -- File used to load/save the key/event mappings from.

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullfixed=false
fullresolution=1024x768
output=surface
hwscale=1.00
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt

[dosbox]
# language -- Select another language file.
# memsize -- Amount of memory dosbox has in megabytes.
# machine -- The type of machine tries to emulate:hercules,cga,tandy,vga.
# captures -- Directory where things like wave,midi,screenshot get captured.

language=
machine=vga
captures=capture
memsize=16

[log]
# Message not Found!

logfile=log.txt
vga=true
vgagfx=true
vgamisc=true
int10=true
sblaster=true
dma=true
fpu=true
cpu=true
paging=true
fcb=true
files=true
ioctl=true
exec=true
dosmisc=true
pit=true
keyboard=true
pic=true
mouse=true
bios=true
Show last 160 lines
gui=true
misc=true
io=true

[render]
# frameskip -- How many frames dosbox skips before drawing one.
# aspect -- Do aspect correction.
# scaler -- Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
# Supported are none,normal2x,advmame2x,advmame3x,advinterp2x,interp2x,hq2x,tv2x.
# hq2x_threshold_adaptive -- The adaptive threshold used to detect edges in hq2x
# Possible values are 0-100, can be modified with Ctrl+Alt+F5/F6
# hq2x_threshold -- The static threshold used to detect edges in hq2x
# Possible values are 0-255, can be modified with Ctrl+Alt+F3/F4

frameskip=1
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x
hq2x_threshold_adaptive=75
hq2x_threshold=0

[cpu]
# core -- CPU Core used in emulation: simple,normal,full,dynamic.
# cycles -- Amount of instructions dosbox tries to emulate each millisecond.
# Setting this higher than your machine can handle is bad! (unless timesynched is set)
# cycleup -- Amount of cycles to increase/decrease with keycombo.
# cycledown Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.
# timesynched -- Do not emulate more cycles than possible.
# showcycles -- Display the number of emulated cycles in the titlebar (uses some CPU).

core=full
cycles=10000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20
timesynched=false
showcycles=false

[mixer]
# nosound -- Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate -- Mixer sample rate, setting any devices higher than this will
# probably lower their sound quality.
# blocksize -- Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering
# but sound will also be more lagged.
# prebuffer -- How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
# mpu401 -- Enable MPU-401 Emulation.
# intelligent -- Operate in Intelligent mode.
# device -- Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# This can be default,alsa,oss,win32,coreaudio,none.
# config -- Special configuration options for the device.

mpu401=true
intelligent=true
device=default
config=

[debug]
# Debugger related options.


[sblaster]
# type -- Type of sblaster to emulate:none,sb1,sb2,sbpro1,sbpro2,sb16.
# base,irq,dma,hdma -- The IO/IRQ/DMA/High DMA address of the soundblaster.
# mixer -- Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the dosbox mixer.
# oplmode -- Type of OPL emulation: auto,cms,opl2,dualopl2,opl3.
# On auto the mode is determined by sblaster type.
# oplrate -- Sample rate of OPL music emulation.

type=sb16
base=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
mixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050

[gus]
# gus -- Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# base,irq1,irq2,dma1,dma2 -- The IO/IRQ/DMA addresses of the
# Gravis Ultrasound. (Same IRQ's and DMA's are OK.)
# rate -- Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# ultradir -- Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
# there should be a MIDI directory that contains
# the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
# with Timidity should work fine.

gus=true
rate=22050
base=240
irq1=5
irq2=5
dma1=3
dma2=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker -- Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate -- Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# tandyrate -- Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# Tandysound emulation is present if machine is set to tandy.
# disney -- Enable Disney Sound Source emulation.

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandyrate=22050
disney=false

[bios]
# Nothing to setup yet!


[dos]
# xms -- Enable XMS support.
# ems -- Enable EMS support.

xms=true
ems=true

[modem]
# modem -- Enable virtual modem emulation.
# comport -- COM Port modem is connected to.
# listenport -- TCP Port the modem listens on for incoming connections.

modem=false
comport=2
listenport=23

[directserial]
# directserial -- Enable serial passthrough support.
# comport -- COM Port inside DOSBox.
# realport -- COM Port on the Host.
# defaultbps -- Default BPS.
# parity -- Parity of the packets. This can be N, E or O.
# bytesize -- Size of each packet. This can be 5 or 8.
# stopbit -- The number of stopbits. This can be 1 or 2.

directserial=false
comport=1
realport=COM1
defaultbps=1200
parity=N
bytesize=8
stopbit=1

[ipx]
# ipx -- Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
mount c c:\oldware
c:
dir /w/p

I've got a log file, wich is attached to this post, if anyone cares to look at it and have any ideas, please reply 😉
One thing i've noticed, is when dosbox loads antagony.exe, a "EXEC:Illegal header" thingy appears...
BTW, I'd configured the game to use no sound.

Attachments

  • Filename
    Antagonylog.txt
    File size
    2.81 KiB
    Downloads
    118 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

chronos.jpg motoakira.jpg

Reply 4 of 16, by exofreeze

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

It looks like this thread never really went anywhere, however I am dealing with the same issue. When I select a sound card, and then run the game with the debug on, it appears to continually try to access the soundcard. That led me to believe there was a sound issue, so I went into setup and disabled the sound. However, this time when I ran it it hung at the same place, the debugger just no longer reported any codes. Attempting to hit a few keys quickly leads to a keyboard buffer full error.

I am using 0.74 with a standard conf. I installed the game from floppies.

Reply 5 of 16, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

I have no problem getting the game to run in 0.74 with default settings. I run SETUP.EXE, choose SB sound, choose autodetect, save settings, then run ANTAGONY.EXE to start the game. No errors or hangs, and I played through one fight. Have you tried fixed and/or limited cycles?

Reply 6 of 16, by peterferrie

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

very strange, because I see the exact same problem in the full version - it loops infinitely at the "design" credit screen, using default settings on 0.74.
debugging shows that irqs 0 and 1 are masked at startup and apparently never unmasked, so no timer or keyboard events fire anymore. otherwise, pressing a key would allow continuing.
the credits are also supposed to disappear after a certain amount of time, but the check can't exit because the timer doesn't update the counter.

Reply 8 of 16, by exofreeze

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

In response to your question ripsaw8080, yes I have tried auto cycles, and fixed cycles ranging from low values (2,000) to higher values (stopped at 40,000).

I'm starting to think you have a magical version of dosbox. I am repeatedly running into games that don't work for me that seem to work perfectly well for you 😒

Thanks for your research into this peterferrie.

In this particular case, it sounds like ripsaw must have a different version than we do...

Reply 9 of 16, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author
exofreeze wrote:

I'm starting to think you have a magical version of dosbox.

When I say 0.74, I am referring to the official release unless otherwise specified. If that's magical then you have the magic, too.

exofreeze wrote:

In this particular case, it sounds like ripsaw must have a different version than we do...

This sounds more plausible than magic versions of DOSBox.

Reply 10 of 16, by peterferrie

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

here's the fix. run the antagfix.com instead of antagony.exe.
for reference, my antagony.exe has SHA1 of 0ecd994a460a2d934f4f9ecdce31e6c4825baaa9

Attachments

  • Filename
    antagfix.zip
    File size
    869 Bytes
    Downloads
    121 downloads
    File comment
    IRQ masking fix
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 11 of 16, by VileR

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

and I thought the magical version wasn't for public release - I guess the jig is up...

Attachments

  • magic.png
    Filename
    magic.png
    File size
    8.93 KiB
    Views
    1204 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 13 of 16, by exofreeze

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Sweeeeet, now that I see how this works, I'm interesting in the handjob version.... 🤣

I compared notes with ripsaw on this and indeed, his version of the game was different than my own. Thanks for the fix on this version peterferrie.

Reply 14 of 16, by MrFlibble

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I learned about Antagony from this thread, and found the demo on this CD (zipped and uploaded it separately here). However I have the same kind of trouble as the topic starter.

I've tried the antgafix utility provided by peterferrie above, but it has no effect in either DOSBox 0.74-3 or the SVN build that I use (r4393): the demo is stuck on the info screen. [I've only been able to get past that to the main menu in DOSBox ECE (build from 3 Dec 2020) but it clearly has glitches in the main menu and ultimately crashes when I try to start a single player match]

The 0.74-3 debugger gives me the same messages about the keyboard buffer being full as if no fix were used. Any help?

DOS Games Archive | Free open source games | RGB Classic Games

Reply 15 of 16, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

It works for me with default settings in a build of current source. Note that the hang at the first screen was fixed in r4384, both for the full game as well as the demo, no workaround program needed. The fix in SVN was picked up by ECE, which is presumably why it doesn't hang. I suggest trying a different SVN build and/or default settings.