VOGONS

First post, by dustwalker

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

hi

i'm pretty new to dosbox as i never had a need for a dos-emulator so far. now with my new system ...

amd 64 3000+
2048 MB
nForce4 SLI
ATI X800 XL 256 MB

windows XP 64 edition
(dosbox v. 0.63)
(fallout wiht latest available patch - as im at work right now i can't tell the exact version number)

... i do have the problem that i'm not able to run any 16bit software out of the box. so i tried quite some tricks to work around this.

1. running in compatibility mode is no option because even in this mode the software MUST be 32bit. installation routine is 32bit and works fine but there is no way of starting the game - it just breaks off.

2. using vm-ware and windows98se doesn't work because nvidia supplies only xp/2000 drivers for nForce4 boards and therefor i didn't get sound running.

3. vm-ware and xp did work but fallout strangely enough won't show any video-szenes which is pretty annoying. i suspect this is because the vm-ware grafics driver won't go below 800x600 16bit by spezification.

4. virtualpc won't even install - the MS-version of an virtualization software doesn't support the MS-OS by now and won't do so until the next major release which still is quite some time away, so no go there.

so i tried dosbox. fallout installes properly, the sound-setup chooses gus and the test works fine. but when i start the game it is more than sluggish. sound is scrambled and video also is fragmented. the scrambled sound continues even on options screen which clearly is nothing verry load-intensive for the cpu. i tried to address more cycles to dosbox (i went up to almost 100% cpu-load) but it has not the slightest effect. 😢