MUNT VSTi - How to change patches assigned to channels

Developer's Forum for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of the Munt Project.

MUNT VSTi - How to change patches assigned to channels

Postby Lexrst » 2018-5-04 @ 23:54

I am very new to MUNT and I'm attempting to recreate some music originally composed on an MT-100 using my DAW (Cakewalk) and the MUNT VSTi. I have successfully recorded a drum track using channel 10 and I'd like to record additional tracks on channels 2-9 but I cannot figure out how to change the default sounds loaded on those channels. Is there a way to do that via the GUI or am I going to need to do some sysex work (of which I know nothing)?

Any assistance is appreciated!

-Lexrst

screenshot.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Lexrst
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-5-04 @ 23:26

Re: MUNT VSTi - How to change patches assigned to channels

Postby Falcosoft » 2018-5-06 @ 00:49

Lexrst wrote: Is there a way to do that via the GUI or am I going to need to do some sysex work (of which I know nothing)?


You simply have to send Program Change messages to the channels you wish to change. I do not know if you can do this real-time in Cakewalk but in Cubase you can.
But I'm sure you can set permanent Program Change messages in midi tracks in any DAW (including CakeWalk). Also it's better since this way Program Change messages are saved with your project. SysEx messages are only required if you want to change the default MT-32/GM sound banks. For the predefined 128 MT-32/GM instruments no SysEx messages are required.
BTW there is a better topic discussing Munt VSTi related issues here:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=48207
I only found your post accidentally.

munvsti_pc1.jpg

munvsti_pc2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Falcosoft
Oldbie
 
Posts: 580
Joined: 2016-5-21 @ 13:46
Location: Pécs, Hungary

Re: MUNT VSTi - How to change patches assigned to channels

Postby Lexrst » 2018-5-07 @ 15:11

Gotcha - I will investigate how to send a program change in Cakewalk. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!
Lexrst
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-5-04 @ 23:26

Re: MUNT VSTi - How to change patches assigned to channels

Postby Lexrst » 2018-5-09 @ 01:58

Thanks to your information, I figured out how to insert a program change into Cakewalk. I greatly appreciate your assistance!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Lexrst
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-5-04 @ 23:26


Return to MT-32 Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest