Graphics performance boost

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby neowolf » 2005-12-06 @ 22:13

`Moe` wrote:Smart texture filtering as linked in that post is essentially OpenGL-HQ (see patches forum). Of course, OpenGL-HQ doesn't do any 3D stuff, but as far as DOSBox is concerned, it's equivalent.


Yeah, hardware accelerated HQ filters are *pretty*.. if only my card could run them. :depressed: Maybe my next machine~
User avatar
neowolf
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 2005-8-31 @ 06:59

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Kronuz » 2005-12-06 @ 23:26

Thraka wrote:Has the modem\tcp\ipx emulation stuff been disabled in his build??

Nope, the SDL_net part is there, it should work...
Kronuz
"Time is of the essence"
User avatar
Kronuz
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2005-11-23 @ 19:27

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby `Moe` » 2005-12-07 @ 08:15

neowolf wrote:Yeah, hardware accelerated HQ filters are *pretty*.. if only my card could run them. :depressed: Maybe my next machine~


Actually, I don't think so. I've seen real HQ texture filtering in Doomsday engine, and I don't like it. It's perfect for games from the DOS era, which had the look of drawings, not photorealistic images. For these, there are really nice convolution filters, though those tend to be even heavier on performance than OHQ :)
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Zorbid » 2005-12-07 @ 20:25

A small bug with scaler=none (or an invalid scaler entry) and tvmode=true :

The scanline effect is still applied, but, of course, it darkens one full line out of two...

The performance boost is great btw :). I can play a lot more games on my Duron 700, even with scalers..
User avatar
Zorbid
Member
 
Posts: 436
Joined: 2002-8-30 @ 18:38

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby neowolf » 2005-12-07 @ 21:54

`Moe` wrote:Actually, I don't think so. I've seen real HQ texture filtering in Doomsday engine, and I don't like it. It's perfect for games from the DOS era, which had the look of drawings, not photorealistic images. For these, there are really nice convolution filters, though those tend to be even heavier on performance than OHQ :)


Yeah, but I mostly play cartoony games myself so it's perfect.
User avatar
neowolf
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 2005-8-31 @ 06:59

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby icemann » 2005-12-08 @ 02:01

Being 1 person who uses the Doomsday engine weekly, I`ve got to point out that the graphics in that are absolutely fucking beautiful (mind my french) without any effect on overall game speed. Heres a few screenshots from the Doom64 Total conversion done in the Doomsday engine which best show off how nice the graphics look:

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

Now does that look cartoonish to you?

For larger versions of the screenies, click here:
http://www.doom2.net/~doomdepot/abs-screen.html
Last edited by icemann on 2005-12-08 @ 03:21, edited 1 time in total.
Two stones, two crosses, the rest is just icing. - 7th Guest
User avatar
icemann
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: 2003-8-25 @ 01:31

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby HunterZ » 2005-12-08 @ 02:19

3dfx?
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6072
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby oduverne » 2005-12-08 @ 12:30

Your build doesn't work well at all with Micro Machines 2 Tournament.
It's very slow and parts of the screen are missing
oduverne
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005-11-08 @ 08:01

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Kronuz » 2005-12-08 @ 19:16

oduverne wrote:Your build doesn't work well at all with Micro Machines 2 Tournament.
It's very slow and parts of the screen are missing

@oduverne: I tried Micro Machines 2 Tournament, and I have to tell it works a lot faster with my build than with the official DOSBox 0.63 (being playable with both at 15000 cycles), as for the "parts of the screen missing" I couldn't see what parts were missing, the only issue I noticed is a small flickering of the characters in the menues, but that issue is there in the official build as well and has nothing to do with my patch or my build.
Kronuz
"Time is of the essence"
User avatar
Kronuz
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2005-11-23 @ 19:27

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby oduverne » 2005-12-09 @ 07:32

Kronuz wrote:
oduverne wrote:Your build doesn't work well at all with Micro Machines 2 Tournament.
It's very slow and parts of the screen are missing

@oduverne: I tried Micro Machines 2 Tournament, and I have to tell it works a lot faster with my build than with the official DOSBox 0.63 (being playable with both at 15000 cycles), as for the "parts of the screen missing" I couldn't see what parts were missing, the only issue I noticed is a small flickering of the characters in the menues, but that issue is there in the official build as well and has nothing to do with my patch or my build.


I know now what the problem is, if you put
[render]
aspect=true

It doesn't work well.
I set it to false and it worked great.

Perhaps it's a bug, I hope that it will help you.
oduverne
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005-11-08 @ 08:01

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby XTale » 2005-12-12 @ 16:20

Looks very nice!
I also created a build with your patch applied.
http://www.aep-emu.de - AEP Emulation Page
http://cvscompile.aep-emu.de - DosBox CVS builds
User avatar
XTale
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2004-8-17 @ 19:09
Location: Germany

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Leolo » 2005-12-12 @ 21:20

Hi,

I cannot use Kronuz's patch :(

I've tested the opengl output mode with AEP 2005-12-11 version and it works very well.

But in the AEP 2005-12-12 version it doesn't work. I just get a black screen.

Gulikoza's build suffers from the same problem.

Could you please look into it?

I have a GeForce 6600 GT AGP card with v81.95 drivers.

Thanks.
User avatar
Leolo
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2002-7-02 @ 22:24

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Kronuz » 2005-12-13 @ 01:39

Leolo wrote:I've tested the opengl output mode with AEP 2005-12-11 version and it works very well.
But in the AEP 2005-12-12 version it doesn't work. I just get a black screen.

Leolo, my last build is that of 2005-12-05, what do you mean? what 2005-12-11?? and what 2005-12-12? :P
Kronuz
"Time is of the essence"
User avatar
Kronuz
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2005-11-23 @ 19:27

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Leolo » 2005-12-13 @ 14:38

OK, sorry, I didn't make myself clear.

I went to this page,
http://cvscompile.aep-emu.de/dosbox.htm
downloaded the file dated 2005-12-11 and tested opengl and openglnb outputs. They all work fine.

But then I downloaded the file dated 2005-12-12 and noticed that the opengl and openglnb outputs do not work. They produce a black screen.

I also tested this build:
http://home.amis.net/lkslavi/dosbox/dosboxcvs-051202.zip
And noticed the same problem: opengl and openglnb outputs produce a black screen.

Could it be a problem in the scaler performance patch?

Regards.
User avatar
Leolo
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2002-7-02 @ 22:24

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby `Moe` » 2005-12-13 @ 15:39

No, because AEP builds are plain CVS without any patches.
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Qbix » 2005-12-13 @ 15:43

the 12-12 has the scaler patch included.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10520
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby gulikoza » 2005-12-13 @ 15:50

I think it's partial texture updates and pixel_datarange extension. Ogl works fine here with ati. I'll try to catch Kronuz on irc to see what we can do about it...I think he has a nvidia card, I wonder why he hasn't noticed the problem if this really is the problem.
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Kronuz » 2005-12-13 @ 17:37

gulikoza wrote:I think it's partial texture updates and pixel_datarange extension. Ogl works fine here with ati. I'll try to catch Kronuz on irc to see what we can do about it...I think he has a nvidia card, I wonder why he hasn't noticed the problem if this really is the problem.

It's weird, it seems to work fine here too (nVIDIA GeForce FX5200) ...although for some strange reason it freezes some times (but that happens always, when I'm using OpenGL in any program).
Edit: I tried it on other computer with nVIDIA Geforece MX440, and there seems to be some issues with the partial update; also, I found it froze there too... hmm

Edit: I've created a new patch after detecting a bug in the OpenGL update code. Hopefully this solves the issue.

@Leolo: Okay, here's the binary attached, please try it and tell me if the problem persists. (This build doesn't include the timesync patch as my previous builds, as I've found it doesn't work always... and since it's not part of my patch, I've stripped it out)

Qbix: Attachment removed
Kronuz
"Time is of the essence"
User avatar
Kronuz
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2005-11-23 @ 19:27

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby Leolo » 2005-12-13 @ 23:35

Kronuz wrote:@Leolo: Okay, here's the binary attached, please try it and tell me if the problem persists. (This build doesn't include the timesync patch as my previous builds, as I've found it doesn't work always... and since it's not part of my patch, I've stripped it out)


I've tested it with a few games and it works very well. Thank you very much!

Although I've just noticed something curious with my settings:
fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullfixed=true
fullresolution=640x400
pixelshader=none
aspect=false
scaler=none

When I use opengl or openglnb I can get to full screen easily by pressing ALT+ENTER, and the image fills the entire screen of my monitor.

But when I use openglhq, pressing ALT+ENTER gives me a small image centered in the screen and surrounded by very big black borders.

Is this the expected behaviour?

Regards.
User avatar
Leolo
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2002-7-02 @ 22:24

Re: Graphics performance boost

Postby HunterZ » 2005-12-14 @ 01:21

What happens if you set fullscreen=true to start in full screen?
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6072
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests