Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby qv90 » 2008-3-02 @ 09:38

Hi mchanna,

I copied your questions to my forum and answered them here.
User avatar
qv90
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-7-01 @ 10:22

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby fherman » 2008-4-09 @ 15:49

I have tried applying the printer patch, but get errors. I've tried messing with the source configuration, but no joy.

I understand that their might be patched versions of DoxBox that will run on a Fedora Linux system. Mine is an x86_64 AMD box.

While I understand that the program was developed for dos games, there are legacy non-game dos programs that still need support. In my case, I have an accounting package that I still use. I had used dosemu with my old x86 box, but dosemu crashes on the x86_64 box which I now need to use. DosBox runs the app fine except that the program can't print to LPT1.

I would be very grateful if I could obtain a version of DosBox that will print and will run on my new system. I'm sure their are other potential users for DosBox that would want to use the program if it supported printing.

TIA
User avatar
fherman
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-4-09 @ 02:08

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby dvwjr » 2008-4-09 @ 17:13

fherman wrote:.
I would be very grateful if I could obtain a version of DosBox that will print and will run on my new system. I'm sure their are other potential users for DosBox that would want to use the program if it supported printing.


True, but it's not going to happen, except with individual builds of Dosbox. So investigate the forums to find out who has a 'printing' version and hope for the best. Too many show up here and state they realize that Dosbox is aimed at Dos games, however in their opinion, it would really expand the Dosbox user-base if Dosbox became a Dos replacement for their particular commercial applications.

Do you sense a disconnect?

Dosbox will propably never become a replacement for a 'true Dos' that is MS-DOS or FreeDOS in a VM environment, or the Windows provided NTVDM, or other Linux based DOS emulators...


Best of luck,

dvwjr
dvwjr
Member
 
Posts: 359
Joined: 2002-11-23 @ 23:32

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby Kippesoep » 2008-4-09 @ 18:01

mistype.. deleted by editing, as I can't seem to delete the post.
User avatar
Kippesoep
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: 2005-5-04 @ 22:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby qv90 » 2008-4-10 @ 11:19

Hi fherman,
I created my branch to be able to use a old app called "FrameWork IV". This prog does NOT access printer port through I/O calls. FW4 uses an DOS interrupt designed for print access. This is catched and redirected to host system printing services.

On my HP you can download full source code (including all required modifications) as well as an .EXE for Win XP. Check it out.

Regards
Jam
Live long and prosper!
http://syncgw.com
User avatar
qv90
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-7-01 @ 10:22

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby mg55 » 2008-4-11 @ 13:49

Just thought I'd mention that Infocom's games could send a transcript of your game to your printer via the 'script' command. It was handy for going back and reviewing everthing you did as it could be easy to miss subtle clues sometimes.

So there are a few legitimate gaming uses of the printer port.
mg55
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2008-3-03 @ 15:35

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby qv90 » 2008-4-11 @ 15:23

Si si,
I know that and took already a look at a solution to provide "port access" in Jaballa Edition... It isn't as easy as it seems...

Currently I've no plan to implement that functionality.
Jam
Live long and prosper!
http://syncgw.com
User avatar
qv90
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-7-01 @ 10:22

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby bernard_belgique » 2009-9-21 @ 09:14

Hello, with this version basic dos IF command like, for example,

IF NOT EXIST test.inf GOTO GETUSER

does not work.

Although it works on dosbox version 0.73

Any idea on how I could make it work?

Thanks in advance
Bernard
bernard_belgique
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-9-21 @ 09:08

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby qv90 » 2009-9-21 @ 14:28

Hi Bernard,

I already took a short look at the new DosBox version and noticed the need for modifications to my patches. As soon as I can find some spare time, I'll provide updated patches (as well as a new compiled version).

Additionally I'm working on some modifications which will enable more applications to use "my" printer interface.
Jam
Live long and prosper!
http://syncgw.com
User avatar
qv90
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-7-01 @ 10:22

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby bernard_belgique » 2009-9-21 @ 14:47

Thank you, that would be great! :blush:
bernard_belgique
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-9-21 @ 09:08

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby Sagittarius » 2010-1-29 @ 12:07

Sorry if already asked, but I have not found the Jaballa edition sources for GNU/Linux.

Therfore, I've compiled the DOSBOS megabuild edition with success on GNU/Linux.
The Jaballa seems more apropriate for me because it can pipe a command from the LPT output.

Because many DOS softwares use ESC/P codes for printing, my goal is to use the excellent epsonps utility (source here) which produces ultimate ps files (with condensed, double-sided, bold... fonts) from the file captured from LPT.

Then, with a simple : gs -sDEVICE=pdfwrite -sOutputFile=final.pdf -sPAPERSIZE=a4 -dBATCH -dNOPAUSE outfilefromepsonps.ps, DOS can produces very high quality PDF.

Do you please have a link for the GNU/Linux Jaballa edition ?
Sagittarius
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-1-28 @ 22:55

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby albinolynx » 2011-4-27 @ 09:19

Hi,

i used jaballa 1.84 (dosbox 0.72 based) version. My printer connected lpt port - works fine under dosbox.
My little probleme is: after printing print dosbox manual, dosbox.conf file, etc.
Evirything was in dosbox dir. Dosbox.conf lpt:

copy d:\dosbox LPT1 >Nul

Why print everything from dosbox folder?
albinolynx
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-4-27 @ 09:00

Re: Access to device names LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4 in DosBox

Postby qv90 » 2012-11-08 @ 18:17

Hi guys,

we've created a new edition based on Dosbox 0.74. You can find a forum and details here.
Jam
Live long and prosper!
http://syncgw.com
User avatar
qv90
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-7-01 @ 10:22

Previous

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests