DOSBox-X branch

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby bruenor41 » 2019-9-20 @ 17:08

I think it is related to changes in svn 4130
bruenor41
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2013-4-22 @ 08:58

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2019-9-20 @ 22:19

You're mounting the image as if it has a FAT filesystem, but it has none, which is why it is rejected by the added sanity checks. If you specify drive 2 instead of C and add the "-fs none" switch then mounting should work fine for your purpose. Not the first time someone has gotten hung up by this, so perhaps the error message could be improved to suggest specifying no filesystem when mounting.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4406
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby peakymonster » 2019-9-21 @ 17:20

Hi there new here with a quick question .. i usually use dosbox on my crt monitor and it switches resolutions correctly ie 70hz dos mode
was playing with dosbox-x but i cant seem to get it to play ball with my crt all i can get is 60hz scaled and it looks terrible on a crt i have tried every setting no matter what i get fluffy looking screen in 60hz .... anyone running on a crt without issues ? thanks
peakymonster
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-9-21 @ 17:07

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby _Rob » 2019-9-22 @ 13:47

ripsaw8080 wrote:You're mounting the image as if it has a FAT filesystem, but it has none, which is why it is rejected by the added sanity checks. If you specify drive 2 instead of C and add the "-fs none" switch then mounting should work fine for your purpose. Not the first time someone has gotten hung up by this, so perhaps the error message could be improved to suggest specifying no filesystem when mounting.


Ok, so 2 issues.

1st. this breaks the workflow of going from a blank drive, to partitioned to formatted.
2nd. why is it OK to have a blank drive with no filesystem, but not a partitioned drive with no filesystem?

Perhaps instead of rejecting such a case, it should just give a message saying that no filesystem, or no supported filesystem was found, and may still need to be created. And attach the device anyway.

But thanks for the suggestion, I will change my config to specify drive 2 instead of C as suggested.
_Rob
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2019-2-03 @ 10:46

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2019-9-22 @ 15:49

_Rob wrote:why is it OK to have a blank drive with no filesystem, but not a partitioned drive with no filesystem?

I'm not sure. I believe you must include the "-fs none" switch for a blank image as well, at least in official source where the added sanity checks were adopted from. In any case, it will always be problematic if DOSBox is using the FAT drive backend on an image that does not have a FAT filesystem.

I guess you would like the FAT or no FAT choice to be automatic, and perhaps it could be, but image mounting currently assumes FAT when a drive letter and no -fs switch is specified.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4406
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby bfcastello » 2019-9-23 @ 01:20

I am still scratching my head... DOSBox-X (or any other DOSBox patched with NE2000) only gets to the internet when I use my ethernet connection. It fails with wifi. I know someone has told me before the reason why, but it just doesn't look right to me. Could someone explain in simple terms why it doesn't work with wifi? Because, there is a scenario where this doesn't look right to me:

When I use DOSBox-X in a VM. The guest linux has only ethernet, and the host macOS has only wifi. DOSBox-X compiled and running from the guest machine can connect to the internet despite of this configuration. Strange....
"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.
User avatar
bfcastello
Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: 2017-9-07 @ 02:39
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and Catalonia, Spain

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby hail-to-the-ryzen » 2019-9-28 @ 01:32

Patch was applied to only one of the two key sets:

Code: Select all
void KEYBOARD_AddKey2
    case KBD_printscreen:
        extend=true;
        if (pressed) { ret=0x12; ret2=0x7c; }
        else         { ret=0x7c; ret2=0x12; }


Code: Select all
void KEYBOARD_AddKey1
    case KBD_printscreen:
        KEYBOARD_AddBuffer(0xe0);
        KEYBOARD_AddBuffer(42 | (pressed ? 0 : 0x80));
        KEYBOARD_AddBuffer(0xe0);
        KEYBOARD_AddBuffer(55 | (pressed ? 0 : 0x80));
hail-to-the-ryzen
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: 2017-3-09 @ 01:34

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby DosFreak » 2019-9-28 @ 01:36

bfcastello wrote:I am still scratching my head... DOSBox-X (or any other DOSBox patched with NE2000) only gets to the internet when I use my ethernet connection. It fails with wifi. I know someone has told me before the reason why, but it just doesn't look right to me. Could someone explain in simple terms why it doesn't work with wifi? Because, there is a scenario where this doesn't look right to me:

When I use DOSBox-X in a VM. The guest linux has only ethernet, and the host macOS has only wifi. DOSBox-X compiled and running from the guest machine can connect to the internet despite of this configuration. Strange....


Winpcap doesn't support wireless. npcap does. I don't know if the NE2000 patch has been updated with npcap support. When using DOSBox in a VM then it's not using wireless inside the guest it's using wired.

According to the website npcap only works on Windows 7+. Not sure how true that is would need to do some tests but considering NDIS 6 started with Vista then possibly Vista would be the minimum for npcap.

Winpcap works on 9x-8.1

Mabye the patch can be updated to support both assuming the NE2000 patch doesn't work with npcap.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 10438
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby bfcastello » 2019-9-28 @ 02:51

Thank you for the explanation! So, no “love” for macOS in this NE2000 patch? Well...
"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.
User avatar
bfcastello
Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: 2017-9-07 @ 02:39
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and Catalonia, Spain

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby TheGreatCodeholio » 2019-10-02 @ 01:24

peakymonster wrote:Hi there new here with a quick question .. i usually use dosbox on my crt monitor and it switches resolutions correctly ie 70hz dos mode
was playing with dosbox-x but i cant seem to get it to play ball with my crt all i can get is 60hz scaled and it looks terrible on a crt i have tried every setting no matter what i get fluffy looking screen in 60hz .... anyone running on a crt without issues ? thanks


Video modesetting in fullscreen is disabled in DOSBox-X.
DOSBox-X project: more emulation better accuracy.
DOSLIB and DOSLIB2: Learn how to tinker and hack hardware and software from DOS.
User avatar
TheGreatCodeholio
Oldbie
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 2011-8-18 @ 20:15
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby pantercat » 2019-10-16 @ 08:51

Hi, I think I come across some bug in the dosbox-x debugger.

I want to write CF opcode (IRET instruction) in some memory address, so I put in the debugger window:

Code: Select all
SM xxxx:yyyy CF

However, the byte in memory address xxxx:yyyy changes to 00 instead of CF

No problem with other opcodes so far.

I'm using dosbox-x 0.82.22 && Debian testing.

Thank you and keep up the good work.
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby TheGreatCodeholio » 2019-10-16 @ 15:10

pantercat wrote:Hi, I think I come across some bug in the dosbox-x debugger.

I want to write CF opcode (IRET instruction) in some memory address, so I put in the debugger window:

Code: Select all
SM xxxx:yyyy CF

However, the byte in memory address xxxx:yyyy changes to 00 instead of CF

No problem with other opcodes so far.

I'm using dosbox-x 0.82.22 && Debian testing.

Thank you and keep up the good work.


You may be using a binary release made before the bug with SM and xxxx:yyyy memory addresses was fixed. It seems to work here with the latest commit.
DOSBox-X project: more emulation better accuracy.
DOSLIB and DOSLIB2: Learn how to tinker and hack hardware and software from DOS.
User avatar
TheGreatCodeholio
Oldbie
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 2011-8-18 @ 20:15
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby pantercat » 2019-10-16 @ 15:57

Hi, window title says "dosbox-x 0.82.22" so I'm pretty sure it's the latest version.

Anyway I've downloaded again https://github.com/joncampbell123/dosbo ... .22.tar.gz and I've compiled it from a clean directory and problem remains.

I just realized that the byte dosbox-x overwrites seems to depend on the memory address. For example

Code: Select all
sm 1000:772C CF -> byte becomes 00 instead of CF
sm 03C0:01D0 CF -> byte becomes 01 instead of CF

If you need some other tests just let me know. Thank you! :)
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby TheGreatCodeholio » 2019-10-16 @ 16:00

pantercat wrote:Hi, window title says "dosbox-x 0.82.22" so I'm pretty sure it's the latest version.

Anyway I've downloaded again https://github.com/joncampbell123/dosbo ... .22.tar.gz and I've compiled it from a clean directory and problem remains.

I just realized that the byte dosbox-x overwrites seems to depend on the memory address. For example

Code: Select all
sm 1000:772C CF -> byte becomes 00 instead of CF
sm 03C0:01D0 CF -> byte becomes 01 instead of CF

If you need some other tests just let me know. Thank you! :)


I fixed the bug after the binary release, compile the latest commit from master.
DOSBox-X project: more emulation better accuracy.
DOSLIB and DOSLIB2: Learn how to tinker and hack hardware and software from DOS.
User avatar
TheGreatCodeholio
Oldbie
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 2011-8-18 @ 20:15
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby pantercat » 2019-10-16 @ 16:08

Great! No hurries, I can wait for the next official release.
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby TheGreatCodeholio » 2019-10-16 @ 16:10

pantercat wrote:Great! No hurries, I can wait for the next official release.


Clearly if you can compile the source code from the release section, you can also git clone from the project page as well. The latest commit to master has the latest fixes and improvements.

Code: Select all
git clone https://github.com/joncampbell123/dosbox-x.git
DOSBox-X project: more emulation better accuracy.
DOSLIB and DOSLIB2: Learn how to tinker and hack hardware and software from DOS.
User avatar
TheGreatCodeholio
Oldbie
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 2011-8-18 @ 20:15
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: DOSBox-X branch

Postby pantercat » 2019-10-16 @ 16:58

Sure, but I generally prefer to avoid master branch.

I can use DOSBox debugger in the meantime. Every month or so a new release of DOSBox-X is out so no hurries for me.

I'm happy to see this have already been fixed. Thank you!
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Previous

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests