Virtual printer

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: Virtual printer

Postby gulikoza » 2007-12-13 @ 08:20

You still use dos2usb? Have you tried without it?
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1700
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: Virtual printer

Postby urbantaz » 2007-12-13 @ 14:27

Yeah either way it displays all the print job on the screen and disappears
urbantaz
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2007-12-10 @ 03:14

Re: Virtual printer

Postby mjcoder » 2008-8-23 @ 11:29

I just updated the virtual printer patch. It should be usable with dosbox CVS again. You can download it from here: http://s244184881.online.de/downloads/v ... nter.patch

I also created a new patch on SF.net but I cannot upload the patch. It seems that SF.net has a problem that makes it impossible to upload files.
mjcoder
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-8-09 @ 20:08

Re: Virtual printer

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-8-23 @ 15:21

Hehe so serval people are reinventing the wheel :)
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Virtual printer

Postby Rulx » 2008-12-27 @ 18:45

Hi,
I got a printer to work with this build (older version) http://ykhwong.x-y.net/page.htm. I also tried to get virtual printer to work with http://www.si-gamer.net/gulikoza/ but that didn't work -.-

Ok, so when I print, the fonts in the png aren't normal 'arial' or so fonts and the font size is too small compared to when I printed with a real printer at serial port. Does anyone have an idea how to change this? The program, from which I want to print doesn't let me change anything like font size.
Rulx
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-12-25 @ 15:21

Re: Virtual printer

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-12-27 @ 18:58

> but that didn't work

parallel1=printer (it needs to know what kind of device should be connected to which port)

> and the font size is too small
Try renaming one of the other font files to roman.ttf.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Virtual printer

Postby hiiro » 2009-1-01 @ 08:13

not sure if anyone has found this problem but I was trying out the precompiled versions of gulikoza and I got these screenshots.

my dosbox.conf settings are like this
[printer]
printer=true
dpi=360
width=85
height=110
printoutput=png
multipage=true
docpath=.

[parallel]
parallel1=printer

By using the command dir >lpt1: numerous times I tried to see if the png would come out right and what I found is if you look at each page created you will notice that one line is always missing when it starts to print the next page just want to know if this is a setting problem or a coding problem. oh btw I also tried multipage=false same output as well

btw these pictures have been resized so their not the actual size.
http://www.geocities.com/hiiro_74/page1.png
http://www.geocities.com/hiiro_74/page2.png
http://www.geocities.com/hiiro_74/page3.png

edit: fixed this problem on my own, it seems tweaking with the height setting under [printer] will fix the missing line problem if the printoutput is set to png I used the settings below and fixed the missing line. I used DOSBox compiled by http://www.si-gamer.net/gulikoza/

[printer]
printer=true
dpi=360
width=85
height=95
printoutput=png
multipage=false
hiiro
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-1-01 @ 07:57

Re: Virtual printer

Postby Sagittarius » 2010-1-28 @ 23:15

Thank you for what you have done to make printing possible.

Because, many old dos programs uses ESC/P codes for printing, I wanted to notice that I've used (with a much better succes thant the built-in routines) a great utility to transform these ESC/P files from DOS to PS files. It is called epsonps and available as bash-archive with sources here in two parts: 1, 2 and attached in a zip archive.

It compiles under GNU/Linux (gcc) and under pure DOS too with Turbo C++ (exe file attached below).

So with this sheme lpt->file->esc2 to ps (with epsonps) ->pstopdf (Ghostscript: gs -sDEVICE=pdfwrite -sOutputFile=myfile.pdf -sPAPERSIZE=a4 -dBATCH -dNOPAUSE myfile.ps), I can manage to get very nice pdf files from old dos programs. :blush:

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Sagittarius
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-1-28 @ 22:55

Re: Virtual printer

Postby flasher86 » 2010-8-31 @ 19:06

Please help me with this virtual printer

I have no use of it. It doesnt work for me.

When I try to print something to png or to any other output I get either no reaction or error "Unable to load font roman.ttf" in the console.

I downloaded and unpacked this version http://www.si-gamer.net/gulikoza/dosbox ... 090704.zip

I have Windows XP SP3, what may be the cause of this problem? I can send you *.prn file which I am trying to print yet with no success.

I was trying to fix it by my self so I looked into the source of this build and I has been led to this function:

Code: Select all
   if (FT_New_Face(FTlib, fontName, 0, &curFont))
   {
      //LOG(LOG_MISC,LOG_ERROR)("Unable to load font %s", fontName);
      LOG_MSG("Unable to load font %s", fontName);
      curFont = NULL;
   }


There is something wrong with Freetype library. Where is it? I couldnt find this function or any file regarding this.

HELP, I am bagging you.
flasher86
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-8-31 @ 18:59

Re: Virtual printer

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2010-8-31 @ 19:19

Do you have the font files in the dosbox directory?
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Virtual printer

Postby flasher86 » 2010-8-31 @ 19:37

of course, I have roman.ttf in the dosbox binary directory (I copied it from c:\windows\fonts). And I execute dosbox.exe from it's working dir.

When I click print in my Dos app, I got tons of those errors "unable to load font..."
flasher86
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-8-31 @ 18:59

Previous

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests