[SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-6-29 @ 19:12

It should work flawlessly with msys, as it is using the usual Makefile.am mechanism and works fine here. You may have to rerun automake (or rather, autogen.sh) and configure, I found that mingw/msys sometimes fail to notice changed files.

To debug the problem, check that Makefile.in/Makefile contain the rules from Makefile.am.
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby gulikoza » 2005-6-29 @ 21:14

There's something weird...the .h file are really not created (I ran autogen on my linux box) during compilation. I copied them over from the previous release to make it compile...but then the headers were created during make install! There's also the problem of detecting HOSTCC in mingw since it wants to use cc which does not exist...
great work on dosbox patch...this just might be it with a few tweaks :happyhappy:
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-6-30 @ 09:01

Funny thing, really. If I "make clean", the headers are removed. A "make" then regenerates the files properly. Perhaps it's because of HOSTCC=cc?

That's a problem in itself, as I can't reliably detect it. Autoconf/automake don't provide a way to do this, and I simply lack test machines to write a good cross-platform version. Set HOSTCC=gcc in Makefile.am, that's probably as portable as any autodetect I could come up with right now.

gulikoza, any suggestions regarding the dosbox patch? Or even better, any coding from your part? ;)
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby gulikoza » 2005-6-30 @ 09:21

No the HOSTCC=cc failed later at make install because asciidump could not be compiled. Yup...really something weird, because I tried forcing header generation by typing make SDL_ohqvideo.o and it complained no rule to make SDL_ohqvideo.o :confused: :confused:

Well...your dosbox patch was quite broken :P I had to copy/paste the code, it wouldn't apply. I also added few tweaks to better size the window. I'm not sure how fast putenv is, but I guess it shouldn't matter since mode changes are infrequent. Also...there's a problem when fullfixed=true, dosbox seems to calculate display size differently so I added a check for that too. I made a modification to Openglhq as well...I added a check in RenderFrame to see if there is any scaling done, if not, the fragment programs are skipped (I'm not sure how correct my modification is, so if you like this feature you could probably make it better :wink:).

I now have an updated build on my page, it works nicely :). I also found an interesting thing...triple buffering will work if fulldouble is NOT set. When I set fulldouble and force triple in the control panel, dosbox will crash as it did before...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-6-30 @ 10:12

I've just uploaded a fixed version. I found out that the dependency rule I used with dosbox doesn't work when libtool is used. Automake provides a predefined variable for that.

I've also simply set HOST_CC=gcc. I doubt that there are any unixish systems out there that can run this (having a decent video driver is probably the most important part) and miss gcc.

The patch was broken? Huh? It's against yesterday's CVS. I'll take your patch and integrate it into the next release.

By the way, if you read the README (you do read it, as experienced as you are, hm? ;) ), you'd already know about the fulldouble thing. Update your catalyst, then it won't even crash (just hang).
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby gulikoza » 2005-6-30 @ 11:15

The diff is missing line information so patch sees it as a garbage only...but that doesn't matter now anyway.

hehe...I read the first readme and only fast forwarded through this one. Perhaps you should supply a diff for readme as well :lol:
So...I've read it again and it only mentions fullscreen. Here I'm talking about window. Set fulldouble in dosbox to true, it will crash before even showing prompt and I'm using latest cats...I'm also somewhat confused as to what this option is really supposed to do.
Readme wrote: - ATI's Triple-Buffering feature interferes with some apps; if you see lockups or similar, try setting SDL_OPENGLHQ_DOUBLEBUF as shown below

dosbox.diff wrote:if (sdl.desktop.doublebuf) putenv("SDL_OPENGLHQ_DOUBLEBUF=1");

But it is in this exact case that dosbox crashes. If I set fulldouble to false, triple buffering works...
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-6-30 @ 12:05

I've uploaded a new version, unfortunately also called -30. If you downloaded earlier than 13:58 CEST, you got the old one.

I integrated your patch, but I modified it a bit so that aspect=true works correctly in fullfixed (something I really missed ;) ). Nice work - it made the task a lot easier.

I haven't seen any problems with triple-buffering in windowed modes. The only observation I made is that it crashes when not double buffering in windows, but double buffering in fullscreen (which is what that putenv is supposed to work around).

I hate Triple-Buffering.
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby Bjarni » 2005-7-01 @ 15:32

I tried to compile this patch on MacOS X, but once I got to linking, I got:
Code: Select all
ld: Undefined symbols:
_OPENGLHQ_bootstrap
/usr/bin/libtool: internal link edit command failed

I looked into the diff file, but I can't really see a reason why it should fail here and work elsewhere. I'm using the newest diff and newest SDL. I did change one line in the SDL code to get it to compile, but I don't think it is related to this issue. Somebody forgot to rename SDL_OPENGLBLIT to SDL_OPENGLBLIT_OBSOLITE for quartz. With this line modified, the unpatched SDL compiles fine.

Do you have an idea to how to fix this or at least an idea that I could use to investigate this?
Bjarni
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005-7-01 @ 15:24

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-7-04 @ 09:27

Coolness! Finally a MacOS X version.

What compiler ships with OSX? I assume it's some gcc version, but which exactly? (gcc --version)

Can you redirect compilation output to a file and attach it here? I'd imagine something like
Code: Select all
{ make distclean; ./autogen.sh; ./configure; make; } &> compile.log
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby Bjarni » 2005-7-05 @ 08:27

Code: Select all
$ gcc --version
powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.0 (GCC) 4.0.0 20041026 (Apple Computer, Inc. build 4061)

This is the one I use, but several people still uses 3.3 and maybe even 3.1

I worked on a new clean checkout since the SDL guys fixed the issue I found (and pretty fast after I mailed them, I might add). I think it's better to try this on a source, which got no manual modifications at all.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bjarni
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005-7-01 @ 15:24

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-7-05 @ 15:15

Okay, found it, yet another configure.in bug. I'm uploading a new SDL diff right now, find it standalone in the archive dir (I will not create a new package for such a small issue, but it will be included when a new version is released)
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-7-05 @ 21:30

Well, I have now announced the SDL patch on a few mailing lists/forums (exult, nuvie, scummvm, sdl), so probably some people from those projects find their way here by virtue of a direct link on the OpenGL-HQ homepage.

A welcome to you, and I can't stress this enough: be sure to read all of the README. The fine dosbox folks around here have tested this thoroughly, and if you encounter a problem (there are some, I'm afraid), they probably already found them.
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby Bjarni » 2005-7-05 @ 21:59

ok, I got the patched SDL compiled and now I want to make DosBox use it without actually installing it (I don't want to install experimental libs in my system)
I started by editing the makefile to statically link to the new lib files, but then I noticed that I need to do that with a whole lot of subdir makefiles too. Do anybody have an idea on how to do this an easy way. It feels kind of lame to alter all of them manually.
Bjarni
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005-7-01 @ 15:24

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-7-06 @ 15:40

In subdir src/.libs/ there should be a dynamic library (however that looks on your system). I have no idea how OSX handles all this, but how about this: backup your current SDL library, copy the one from src/.libs to where the old one was, run dosbox (or anything else).
If you insist on static linking, in src/.libs there should also be a full static library without the need to meddle with subdirs.
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby Qbix » 2005-7-06 @ 15:42

or use the LD_PRELOAD variable before starting dosbox
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10681
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby gulikoza » 2005-7-13 @ 11:01

This issue was already reported in the D3D thread but I'll repost it here. There's a problem with the mouse cursor when alt-tabbing. Sometimes the cursor will be stuck in a portion of the screen. After moving the mouse a few times it will move freely again (this is the problem I observed Kaminari, if your's is different feel free to add something :)). The problem is it seems that openglhq mode does not update the mouse position when it reaquires focus. All other modes seem to put the game cursor where the user clicked (and where the real hidden cursor is supposed to be), but openglhq will leave it where it was and when the real cursor hits border, the game cursor will stop in the middle of the screen.
The other problem I have is when display modes switches in fullscreen my crt makes a lot of noise. Not that it doesn't work but I don't like it :). It seems the resolution is quickly changed more than 1 time. Again I'm not sure if this is really bad for the monitor but I'd rather not find out...
Other than that when I changed my 9600xt for 9800pro I got a rather nice boost with openglhq as well...I really like it now :)
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby pxmm » 2005-7-13 @ 15:19

Does the version of SDL used to make the Opengl-HQ differ from the one supplied with ScummVM since it seems to cause some odd problems when I use it, even if I disable the Opengl-HQ output.

The problems include skipping dialogue in Lucasarts games such as Full Throttle and The Dig and also Broken Sword freezes everything on the screen whenever the mouse is moved and then resumes after the mouse is made still.

These problems disappear if I swap in the SDL.dll from the 0.7.1 or current (12/07/05) CVS.

I have an Athlon XP 3200+ with a radeon 9800 pro and other than these problems the games run and look brillant.

Would this problem require me to integrate the Opengl-HQ patch and build my own SDL.dll from the CVS?
User avatar
pxmm
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2005-7-13 @ 15:16

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-7-13 @ 15:53

Yes, it's based on the 1.3 branch of SDL, which is experimental. You can't use the current 1.2 release for OpemGL-HQ. I know this particular mouse problem and can't help it, unfortunately - scummvm issues lots and lots of updates, much more than 70fps, while moving the mouse, OHQ simply can't keep up. Maybe I'll add an option to work around that problem, but I'm not sure yet if my current idea works.
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby gulikoza » 2005-8-18 @ 22:57

`Moe` did you have the chance to look at the issues I reported (have you even noticed my post as there was no feedback? :wink:). I'm playing Ultima Underworld again and that mouse behaviour bothers me a little...
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: [SDL patch version] Hq2x / Hardware OpenGL-HQ scaling

Postby `Moe` » 2005-9-05 @ 15:44

No, I didn't look at it yet. It's quite difficult to diagnose, as I don't usually run XP, and it's different on Linux. Feel free to fiddle around with it yourself, mouse event filtering is done in just 2 functions, maybe I missed something.
User avatar
`Moe`
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2004-4-29 @ 01:06
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest