dosgame multiplayer problem

For Multiplayer: Help and meet other players.

dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby hens » 2008-9-20 @ 10:29

hi
i play jurassic war

now I want not succeeds to play the game online whit a friend

we tried this already

viewtopic.php?t=19256

viewtopic.php?t=19248

http://eldertomes.wikiscrolls.org/mp.html

when i set in conf serial1=nullmodem server:<myip

then I come in multiplayer room of the game always as sub never as host
see screen ImageImage

on someone else manner do not succeeds it on in the multiplayer room from the game to come

when i tried to connect whit a friend it always falied

what screens of institutions of the game

http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/6734/54996114yb8.png
http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/8115/82221893ht9.png
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/525/27312460fy9.png
User avatar
hens
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 09:57

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-20 @ 11:38

yeah :neutral:

WWe tried the following things :

1:

I was the host so i changed the config file into this :

serial1=nullmodem port:5000
I have forwarded the port 5000 in my router.

My friend changed it into this : serial1=nullmodem server:'IP' port:5000
I think the IP would be my IP ? That's what we did.

Then i started the game with DOS. But my friend couldn't connect. When he makes the server (serial1=nullmodem port:5000) i can't connect to him. Well....why not ? What is wrong ?

2:

Host: typed in dos IPXNET STARTSERVER
My friend : typed IPXNET CONNECT 'IP''
Note : when we tried this we changed the ipx=false into ipx=true in the config file- dos map.

We have the baud rate the same.

We tried for months now, because we played this game when we were very little, so it's very important for us. And it's my most beloved game ever.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-9-20 @ 11:43

What does the DOSBox status window say?
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-20 @ 11:50

It says that its active but its not working :angry:
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby MiniMax » 2008-9-20 @ 12:58

When faced with such problems, I always turn to netcat, a small, powerful utility for creating/testing/troubleshooting TCP and UDP connections.

It is available Windows, but since it is operated from the command-line, not many Windows users knows about it, so the guides you will find will probably be geared towards Unix/Linux users:

http://www.linuxforums.org/network/havi ... tcat..html

Start by downloading and installing netcat. OBS: Beware that your anti-virus program may well flag it as malware / hacking tool and take steps to block/delete it!!

Then test it locally:

Start 2 CMD windows on PC #1.
In CMD #1 start netcat so it listens on TCP port 5000:

netcat -l -p 5000

In CMD #2 start netcat and make it connect to port 5000 locally:

netcat 127.0.0.1 5000

Now start typing! Press CTRL-C to stop.

Now that you know how to make netcat listen on TCP 5000, start it again, and start CMD + netcat on PC #2, and have it connect to port 5000 on PC #1:

netcat nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn 5000

nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn is of course the IP address of the other PC, or the external IP address of the router that PC #1 uses to connect to the Internet. Easiest way to find that is to go to http://whatismyipaddress.com/.

If all this remote netcat'ing works, then you know that you got your router and IP-addresses set up correctly. After that you can start figuring out why the multi-player game does not work in DOSBox.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-9-20 @ 13:08

> always as sub never as host

Copy protection?
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-20 @ 16:46

I tried things, i thought about Hamachi and all...now i hear this. I really hope it will help me, but i read this about that program :

'Beware that using a copy of netcat that you aren’t sure how the source was compiled is very dangerous. If possible review the source code and compile it yourself. '

But if its the only option ^^ .. Thanks for helping me out. And by the way, i don't think it's copy protection because this game lost its protection, i guess. Because its so old
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby DosFreak » 2008-9-20 @ 17:06

I wonder if we could block .bmp's as attachments.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 10444
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-21 @ 02:08

We can connect via Hamachi. But now we have a new problem. Connect fail - Check your Com PORT.. We both have com port1 baudrate 9600

huh ? What's up ?
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby hens » 2008-9-21 @ 11:09

yea we connect whit hamachi in dosbox
when we start the game and select nullmodem in game
it say : Connect fail - Check your Com PORT :disapproving:
User avatar
hens
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 09:57

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-21 @ 20:02

So, the only problem now is Connect fail - Check your Com PORT. Can't be that hard ? Please anyone ? Your help is much appreciated!! We really really want to play this game together.
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby MiniMax » 2008-9-22 @ 06:31

1) You are using a game I don't have (and no, I don't want a copy unless you convince me that it is legal to share the game).

2) You seemingly ignored my idea of using netcat to verify that you got the IP connection and firewall'ing configured correctly.

3) You introduced yet another program (Hamachi) that I don't have, don't know, and is not interested in having, since I believe it is totally unnecessary when using DOSBox.

So, all in all, how do you think you are doing so far?
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-9-22 @ 09:31

... What does the DOSBox status window say EXACTLY on both sides?

And there is no need for Hamachi.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-9-22 @ 11:16

Use fixed cycles, seems to work for me then (in my own build, haven't checked 0.72).
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-22 @ 12:58

h-a-l-9000 wrote:Use fixed cycles, seems to work for me then (in my own build, haven't checked 0.72).

Can you explain how to use fixed cycles PLEASE :happy:
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-22 @ 12:58

h-a-l-9000 wrote:... What does the DOSBox status window say EXACTLY on both sides?

And there is no need for Hamachi.

I will answer this question soon.
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-22 @ 13:04

MiniMax wrote:1) You are using a game I don't have (and no, I don't want a copy unless you convince me that it is legal to share the game).

2) You seemingly ignored my idea of using netcat to verify that you got the IP connection and firewall'ing configured correctly.

3) You introduced yet another program (Hamachi) that I don't have, don't know, and is not interested in having, since I believe it is totally unnecessary when using DOSBox.

So, all in all, how do you think you are doing so far?


1) I don't think it's legal so i won't convince you :pppt: BUT maybe it is. I WILL check it anywaysss..

2) I can't find the download - and it scared me, the virus thing. I hope my virus scanner (AVG) won't find the virus otherwise im not sure il use the program - but its a good idea to test it, i know, i dont mean i dont want it.

3) Atleast we connect with Hamachi what we didnt before !! Its handy when we dont need Hamachi because i rather use DOSBOX then 10 programs :happyhappy:

So, all in all, how do you think you are doing so far?

Well i dont like the question but i think we're doing good. Because we tried to play this game for more then 1 year and almost 3 months and we never came this far. And i know what you think right now but hey thats me.

We are the type of guys that never gives up.
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-9-22 @ 14:45

like cycles=40000 in dosbox.conf or higher if your computer permits it
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby MiniMax » 2008-9-22 @ 15:14

arnoldNL wrote:2) I can't find the download - and it scared me, the virus thing. I hope my virus scanner (AVG) won't find the virus otherwise im not sure il use the program - but its a good idea to test it, i know, i dont mean i dont want it.

You already downloaded and installed DOSBox, even though you had no guarantee that it would not instantly wipe your harddrive. Same with this Hamachi thing, and possibly 100's of other programs freeware programs that you have installed over time. netcat can be used to tunnel information to and from your PC, just like any other VPN tool (like Hamachi). And it can do other things as well, like launching external programs when incoming traffic is detected. It is tool - a powerful tool - but nothing more.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netcat
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: dosgame multiplayer problem

Postby arnoldNL » 2008-9-22 @ 17:01

MiniMax wrote:
arnoldNL wrote:2) I can't find the download - and it scared me, the virus thing. I hope my virus scanner (AVG) won't find the virus otherwise im not sure il use the program - but its a good idea to test it, i know, i dont mean i dont want it.

You already downloaded and installed DOSBox, even though you had no guarantee that it would not instantly wipe your harddrive. Same with this Hamachi thing, and possibly 100's of other programs freeware programs that you have installed over time. netcat can be used to tunnel information to and from your PC, just like any other VPN tool (like Hamachi). And it can do other things as well, like launching external programs when incoming traffic is detected. It is tool - a powerful tool - but nothing more.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netcat


Yes but the programs i install are without viruses. I just dont trust programs who are potentially harmful programs <--- Do you understand me ?
Greetz ARnold..
User avatar
arnoldNL
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-9-20 @ 11:17

Next

Return to DOSBox Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest