DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

For Multiplayer: Help and meet other players.

DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-17 @ 09:03

Hi all!

Is it possible to play lan with one pc what have dosbox and one what use games without dosbox?
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-18 @ 16:21

Not possible?:(
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby Vince.Bloodworks » 2013-7-18 @ 17:19

Hey Philip00,
it is possible! You can play lan with one PC using DOSBox and the other without using DOSBox.
You need the DOSBox MegaBuild.
Follow this link for the MegaBuild: http://home.arcor.de/h-a-l-9000/
And you'll also need winpcap: http://www.winpcap.org/

Hope that'll help you! :happy:
Vince
User avatar
Vince.Bloodworks
Newbie
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 2010-2-17 @ 18:36
Location: Germany

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-18 @ 20:15

Vince.Bloodworks wrote:Hey Philip00,
it is possible! You can play lan with one PC using DOSBox and the other without using DOSBox.
You need the DOSBox MegaBuild.
Follow this link for the MegaBuild: http://home.arcor.de/h-a-l-9000/
And you'll also need winpcap: http://www.winpcap.org/

Hope that'll help you! :happy:
Vince


Ahh man thanks for quick answer. I have one pc win xp with dosbox and other win98 without dosbox. I connect them via corsslink cable and make setups. I also have megabuild V6.
I have some question:
-I have to install wincap for both system?
-What i do wrong, because i want to play gp2 lan(i did it with 2 winxp with 2 dosbox already) but now they don't finde ach other. I think the problem is in win98 computer. When i start i have message can't find ipx driver(i start via ms dos commander). What i have to do to connnect to my winxp dosbox computer?
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby leileilol » 2013-7-18 @ 21:16

You only need to install WinPcap on your XP system.

Don't forget to have the IPX protocol installed on the Win98 computer, preferably with NetBIOS enabled. You don't have to install IPX on XP. The NE2000 DOS drivers through the IPX Passthrough DOSBox Megabuild will take care of that stuff (per instructions).

On the Win9x machine try removing the IPX protocol and adding it again to restart the driver install process.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9369
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-18 @ 22:51

leileilol wrote:You only need to install WinPcap on your XP system.

Don't forget to have the IPX protocol installed on the Win98 computer, preferably with NetBIOS enabled. You don't have to install IPX on XP. The NE2000 DOS drivers through the IPX Passthrough DOSBox Megabuild will take care of that stuff (per instructions).

On the Win9x machine try removing the IPX protocol and adding it again to restart the driver install process.


Thanks for answer man, i just have 2 question for you(maybe im noobXD)

1. in win98 machine how i remove ipx protol? in network properties?
2. How can i enable netbios?
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby leileilol » 2013-7-19 @ 00:29

1. Network Neightborhood properties
2. IPX properties should have a checkbox for it
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9369
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-19 @ 08:55

leileilol wrote:1. Network Neightborhood properties
2. IPX properties should have a checkbox for it


Thnaks man i try it and i write here the result:))
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-19 @ 12:48

Philip00 wrote:
leileilol wrote:1. Network Neightborhood properties
2. IPX properties should have a checkbox for it


Thnaks man i try it and i write here the result:))


NEWS: with your help develop:) the Win98 machine in game also try to find machine, good:)
But somewhat they don't find each other, maybe i do something wrong in win 98 -win xp lan?( cinnect via cross cabel, tcp/ip winxp: (192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0) Win98(192.168.0.2 255.255.255.0) i install file and print share

What is the orpblem

EDIT: now the 2 machine find each other i can share files etc... . Now only when i want to play via dosbocx in winxp machine don't find each other. Maybe i do something wrong? when i start dosbox i type ipxnet startserver. What else have to do to find each other?
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby leileilol » 2013-7-19 @ 14:38

For IPX passthrough, you do not use IPXNET, but LSL / NE2000./ IPXODI. hal-9000's site should have downloads for that
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9369
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Dsobox lan with non dosbox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-19 @ 14:57

leileilol wrote:For IPX passthrough, you do not use IPXNET, but LSL / NE2000./ IPXODI. hal-9000's site should have downloads for that


All or just one of these?

EDIT: i try to use all but when i want to use NE2000 always said: The board cannot be found

now what? :(
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Dominus » 2013-7-19 @ 18:17

I just fixed the subject line (Dsobox vs DOSBox)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-19 @ 19:18

Dominus wrote:I just fixed the subject line (Dsobox vs DOSBox)


Thamks but you can't help me?
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Dominus » 2013-7-19 @ 20:07

No, sorry. never tried multiplayer games back then nor with DOSBox.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Vince.Bloodworks » 2013-7-20 @ 10:54

Hey Philip00,

that worked for me(DOSBox MegaBuild and winpcap were installed):

DOSBox(Win XP):
Start your DOSBox. Run the NE2000 DOS drivers in this order
- LSL.COM
- NE2000.COM
- IPXODI.COM

and that's all about that. Winpcap has to be active but when you installed it properly, I think it should run at startup of XP :happy: ..

Windows 98:
Make sure the IPX protocol is installed. If not, just install the Microsoft standard IPX/SPX protocol.
And that's all!

I hope I didn't forget anything by now :lol:
If I do so just visit http://home.arcor.de/h-a-l-9000/ again and refer to the section
NE2000 passthrough patch for DOSBox
. There should be anything you have to know about IPX passthrough.

Vince :happy:

PS: I'm sorry for my bad english if it's that bad :lol:
User avatar
Vince.Bloodworks
Newbie
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 2010-2-17 @ 18:36
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-23 @ 10:31

Vince.Bloodworks wrote:Hey Philip00,

that worked for me(DOSBox MegaBuild and winpcap were installed):

DOSBox(Win XP):
Start your DOSBox. Run the NE2000 DOS drivers in this order
- LSL.COM
- NE2000.COM
- IPXODI.COM

and that's all about that. Winpcap has to be active but when you installed it properly, I think it should run at startup of XP :happy: ..

Windows 98:
Make sure the IPX protocol is installed. If not, just install the Microsoft standard IPX/SPX protocol.
And that's all!

I hope I didn't forget anything by now :lol:
If I do so just visit http://home.arcor.de/h-a-l-9000/ again and refer to the section
NE2000 passthrough patch for DOSBox
. There should be anything you have to know about IPX passthrough.

Vince :happy:

PS: I'm sorry for my bad english if it's that bad :lol:


Vince your english i can understand without problem:)

So i have to download NE2000 passthrough patch for DOSBox.diff but the download page not working:(
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Dominus » 2013-7-23 @ 10:36

No, you need the megabuild of dosbox and you have to install something from that page to get the ne2000 thing working

Dit: you need to install winpcap http://www.winpcap.org to make it work and you need the megabuild or yhkwongs build probably
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-23 @ 18:16

I alredy installed winpcap and dosbox megabuild v6, but NE2000 not recognize my ethernet card:(
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Vince.Bloodworks » 2013-7-24 @ 09:38

Hey Philip00,

what does your configuration file says?
Check the following section and make sure you set all the correct values:
[ne2000]
# ne2000: Enable Ethernet passthrough. Requires [Win]Pcap.
# nicbase: The base address of the NE2000 board.
# nicirq: The interrupt it uses. Note serial2 uses IRQ3 as default.
# macaddr: The physical address the emulator will use on your network.
# If you have multiple DOSBoxes running on your network,
# this has to be changed for each. AC:DE:48 is an address range reserved for
# private use, so modify the last three number blocks.
# I.e. AC:DE:48:88:99:AB.
# realnic: Specifies which of your network interfaces is used.
# Write 'list' here to see the list of devices in the
# Status Window. Then make your choice and put either the
# interface number (2 or something) or a part of your adapters
# name, e.g. VIA here.

ne2000=true
nicbase=300
nicirq=3
macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:01
realnic=1

(e.g. that's the section out of my configuration file)
User avatar
Vince.Bloodworks
Newbie
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 2010-2-17 @ 18:36
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox lan with non DOSBox pc

Postby Philip00 » 2013-7-26 @ 22:21

Vince.Bloodworks wrote:Hey Philip00,

what does your configuration file says?
Check the following section and make sure you set all the correct values:
[ne2000]
# ne2000: Enable Ethernet passthrough. Requires [Win]Pcap.
# nicbase: The base address of the NE2000 board.
# nicirq: The interrupt it uses. Note serial2 uses IRQ3 as default.
# macaddr: The physical address the emulator will use on your network.
# If you have multiple DOSBoxes running on your network,
# this has to be changed for each. AC:DE:48 is an address range reserved for
# private use, so modify the last three number blocks.
# I.e. AC:DE:48:88:99:AB.
# realnic: Specifies which of your network interfaces is used.
# Write 'list' here to see the list of devices in the
# Status Window. Then make your choice and put either the
# interface number (2 or something) or a part of your adapters
# name, e.g. VIA here.

ne2000=true
nicbase=300
nicirq=3
macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:01
realnic=1

(e.g. that's the section out of my configuration file)


Man!! you are a god!! THANK YOU! now works!!
MILLION THANKS! im happy perspn now:)
Philip00
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 15:20

Next

Return to DOSBox Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests