IPXNet problems...

For Multiplayer: Help and meet other players.

IPXNet problems...

Postby RetroWolf92 » 2015-11-07 @ 23:14

Over the past 5 or so years (yup, since .74 came out) I've spent a lot of time trying to get DOSBox's multiplayer working. Recently, I got a new router. I have the proper port(s) forwarded, and for some reason, DOSBox instead of using my computer's IP, uses 127.0.0.1 instead. I've been trying to find a remedy to this problem, but have turned up nothing. Why is this happening? Is there a setting I missed?
RetroWolf92
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2015-11-07 @ 22:38

Re: IPXNet problems...

Postby dagrimreefah » 2015-11-20 @ 14:23

Have you set ipx=true in dosbox.conf? (I know, simple question. But the most straightforward remedies must be considered first)

You may also have to download some IPX stuff for your OS. What OS are you using btw?
dagrimreefah
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-9-07 @ 04:02


Re: IPXNet problems...

Postby RetroWolf92 » 2015-11-28 @ 04:49

dagrimreefah wrote:Have you set ipx=true in dosbox.conf? (I know, simple question. But the most straightforward remedies must be considered first)

You may also have to download some IPX stuff for your OS. What OS are you using btw?


I'd have to be dumb to not have that active.
RetroWolf92
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2015-11-07 @ 22:38

Re: IPXNet problems...

Postby ripa » 2015-11-28 @ 10:41

You may also have to download some IPX stuff for your OS.

No, you don't. Dosbox uses plain UDP/IP via SDL_net library.

Question about host OS still applies...
ripa
Oldbie
 
Posts: 550
Joined: 2005-4-18 @ 00:53
Location: Finland

Re: IPXNet problems...

Postby dagrimreefah » 2015-11-29 @ 14:23

RetroWolf92 wrote:
I'd have to be dumb to not have that active.

Hence "most straightforward remedies must be considered first". Don't take offense, dude. Its just tech-support-101 to consider the most simple problems first. Jeez...
dagrimreefah
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-9-07 @ 04:02

Re: IPXNet problems...

Postby RetroWolf92 » 2015-12-05 @ 23:25

To anyone still replying here. I figured it out. 127.0.0.1 is localhost. So when I open the server it appears as localhost because it's on my pc. But if I want to connect to my DOSBox from another PC, I'd enter my computer's actual IP.

So with that out of the way, anybody wanna play some IPX DOS multiplayer?
RetroWolf92
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2015-11-07 @ 22:38


Return to DOSBox Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest