Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-10-11 @ 17:13

According to the manual my board supports IDE LBA and IDE 32-bit mode. I'm assuming that would give me at least 2gb with LBA enabled as long as the controller I use doesnt have a separate bios, so my Caviar 1.8gb should work, correct?

The bios (according to the documentation i have) is dated 7/1995, so this boards bios is quite "new" for a 486 VESA board as far as I know. I would expect support for larger than 500mb drives by then, but who knows :cool:
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby jade_angel » 2017-10-11 @ 17:27

Yeah, that should do the trick. That's newer than my JX30GC, which does have LBA support. (It has an integrated VLB disk controller, however.)
Wintendo: Core i3-6100 | GTX 960
Linux Box: Core i5-4760K | GTX 550 Ti
98/2000 Box (Broken): K6-III+/500 | G400 MAX
PCI DOS Box: 5x86/133 | S3 Trio64/V2 PCI
VLB DOS box: 486DX4/100 | Cirrus GD5428 2MB
User avatar
jade_angel
Member
 
Posts: 342
Joined: 2017-1-03 @ 00:10
Location: Virginia

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-10-11 @ 22:36

28 bit LBA could be limited to 8.4G, 32G, or 137G depending on the BIOS implementation.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4096
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-10-12 @ 16:13

Awesome, I should be able to run my old drives then. I also noticed I have a 4 gig compact flash sitting in a camera i never use because the flash bulb died.. Maybe I'll order an ide to flash adapter

137 gigs would be hilarious for a dos lol. Does win95 support fat32? Just curious, this machine is for dos + windows 3
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby jade_angel » 2017-10-12 @ 16:30

Win95 doesn't, but Win98 does (and Win98 will run on a 486, but make sure you have enough RAM, 32MB+). There are a few DOS variations that do too, but all of them have various caveats and limitations. (Also, you get FAT32, you don't get LFN support, mostly.)

You *can*, however, have the first 8GB diced up into partitions for DOS and have the rest allocated to OS/2, Windows NT or something else that groks big disks.
Wintendo: Core i3-6100 | GTX 960
Linux Box: Core i5-4760K | GTX 550 Ti
98/2000 Box (Broken): K6-III+/500 | G400 MAX
PCI DOS Box: 5x86/133 | S3 Trio64/V2 PCI
VLB DOS box: 486DX4/100 | Cirrus GD5428 2MB
User avatar
jade_angel
Member
 
Posts: 342
Joined: 2017-1-03 @ 00:10
Location: Virginia

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby chinny22 » 2017-10-12 @ 16:45

If you get a CF adaptor that mounts on a I/O bracket you can swap CF cards like console a cartridge if disk space gets to be an issue.
That's how I do it. C:\ small noisy drive for retro boot sound goodness.
D:\ CF card for games when I'm not actually interesting in hearing the drive
User avatar
chinny22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby KCompRoom2000 » 2017-10-13 @ 05:15

BeginnerGuy wrote:Does win95 support fat32? Just curious, this machine is for dos + windows 3

jade_angel wrote:Win95 doesn't, but Win98 does (and Win98 will run on a 486, but make sure you have enough RAM, 32MB+).

Actually, Windows 95 OSR2.x has built-in FAT32 support. I can confirm this because my OSR2.1 CD formats hard disks larger than 2GB as FAT32 which allowed me to make full use of my 6.4GB and 13GB hard drives without any empty partition space.
Win3.x:SL-54U5|P233MMX|64MB|Virge325|CT4170
Win95:P2B-VE|C433|192MB|Rage Pro|CT4500
Win98-2K:GX150MT|P3-1000|512MB|Radeon7200|CT4670
WinXP:A8V|A64 3200+|2GB|RadeonX800
User avatar
KCompRoom2000
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 22:38
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-10-13 @ 06:15

jade_angel wrote:Win95 doesn't, but Win98 does (and Win98 will run on a 486, but make sure you have enough RAM, 32MB+). There are a few DOS variations that do too, but all of them have various caveats and limitations. (Also, you get FAT32, you don't get LFN support, mostly.)

You *can*, however, have the first 8GB diced up into partitions for DOS and have the rest allocated to OS/2, Windows NT or something else that groks big disks.


That could be fun, though I really have no need to push this system that far since I already have a Slot 1 rig and probably soon S7. Could be interesting to fool around with OS/2 or NT though, that's something I haven't thought about. No matter what though, this computer will only be running one drive as the case I bought is super small, the only space for a hard drive is in the floppy cage unless I get a 5.25 drive bay, but I want a 5.25 floppy too. So I like the idea of one larger drive split up into a couple of 2GB partitions.. Not that I really need that much space :blush:
Last edited by BeginnerGuy on 2017-10-13 @ 06:36, edited 2 times in total.
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-10-13 @ 06:16

chinny22 wrote:If you get a CF adaptor that mounts on a I/O bracket you can swap CF cards like console a cartridge if disk space gets to be an issue.
That's how I do it. C:\ small noisy drive for retro boot sound goodness.
D:\ CF card for games when I'm not actually interesting in hearing the drive



Is there one like that you can recommend that should work? I've read it's a bit of a gamble with IDE to CF cards, and then another gamble depending on which CF card you use. Hopefully I can buy a combo that works. This idea really stands out to me now that I've seen how tiny the case I'm using is, any space saving will be very nice.

Untitled.png


Here's a quick look at my new case.. It didn't come cheap, but I think that dual bay PCMCIA drive may be worth a decent amount of money if I resell it. The SCSI bay up top doesn't have the caddy in it sadly.

I'm flat broke right now, so it's going to be a bit until I can get anything else (I still need a HDD controller, GPU, and mouse). I'm going to strip out whatever is in this case now and retrobrite it with some salon hair products in the mean time :cool: ...

Oh and any turbo wizards want to take a crack at this for me?? :
photo.jpg


Looks like two columns of 11 jumpers, the left row is labeled D-N and the right is labeled 4-14. There are also two more sets of 3 jumpers down the bottom. I've never seen a setup like this before, I can't think of how it works off hand. So far all I know is that turbo off seems to be set to 08, not sure about on.
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby chinny22 » 2017-10-13 @ 16:26

That case looks like the ones we had in high school, and have shown up here a few times as well.
You can just mess round with the jumpers with the PC turned on. It wont hurt anything.

I don't think My CF adaptor is anything special, It does have a jumper for primary or slave, it was listed as
"40-pin IDE Connector (male) CF to IDE Compact Flash Card Adapter Bootable" but typical Chinese seller isn't on ebay anymore, I got mine 2 years ago
CF cards I got were Sandisk 4GB Ultra, but if your using a real HDD for C:\ then the whole bootable thing isn't an issue anymore anyway!
One thing is AutoDetect doesn't work on my 486, I do have to manually set the parameters in BIOS
User avatar
chinny22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: Help me pick parts for Socket 3 486 rig (HDD controller, graphics)

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2017-10-14 @ 00:20

I'll mess around with the turbo and see what happens.

I've narrowed down that PCMCIA drive to a Sun Microsystems Swapbox PNP dual PCMCIA reader. I tested it out in windows 98 and it auto detected and installed itself once I plugged the SCSI cables into the drive, but it doesn't seem to want to read the one card that I have which is a Trendnet TEW-421PC (wireless G adapter). The Trendnet card works in my Thinkpad with Win98SE but I'm just seeing "slot empty" on this. My luck streak continues :blah:, or maybe this card just doesn't work with it? It says this drive takes Type II and III PCMCIA. I know nothing about these though.

Edit: Got the segmented display set up to 08 / 66.. Was disturbingly easy compared to my old one. Right column controls turbo off segments, left column turbo on. Off to the side are 2 banks of 3 jumpers each which control the top 3 segments for on and off. Ahh.
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Maxx1234, RaYaNt3 and 11 guests