[FINISHED] Amiga500 on steroids

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby appiah4 » 2019-2-26 @ 16:25

What exactly is updated in Workbench 3.1.4?
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|U5SX-33|8M|GD5428|CT2290|S2
1995:P5I430VX|P133|32M|S3T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|P3-1200|384M|GF4Ti4200|MX300
2004:K8VD|3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby brostenen » 2019-2-26 @ 16:36

appiah4 wrote:What exactly is updated in Workbench 3.1.4?


Lots of stuff.... More explained here.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5336
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby retardware » 2019-2-26 @ 17:10

Hamby wrote:If only an LCD and battery could be connected... portable A500 on steroids.

What output format does the Amiga give?
Not composite?
Because, there are LCDs that take composite...

Regarding the "scandoubler", this is imho one of the main reasons why the Amiga was practically not present in the business market.
Back in the 1980s my eyes always hurt when somebody showed me his Amiga.
One of the reasons why back then I named it just "Commonsore"... :)
Never understood why Commodore did not care for basic ergonomic things...
retardware
Oldbie
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 02:00

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby Scali » 2019-2-26 @ 17:18

retardware wrote:What output format does the Amiga give?
Not composite?
Because, there are LCDs that take composite...


An Amiga 500 generates analog RGB and monochrome composite.
With the A520 modulator, you get colour composite and RF as well.
Later models like the A600 and A1200 have the modulator built-in, so colour composite and RF are standard.
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 4118
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby retardware » 2019-2-26 @ 17:25

Scali wrote:An Amiga 500 generates analog RGB and monochrome composite.

Sounds like it should be doable to make a VGA adapter.
When looking at that multitude of expansions the Amiga fans developed to overcome the shortcomings of the system and attempt to make it usable, I think there must exist such adapters also...
retardware
Oldbie
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 02:00

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby appiah4 » 2019-2-26 @ 17:43

retardware wrote:
Scali wrote:An Amiga 500 generates analog RGB and monochrome composite.

Sounds like it should be doable to make a VGA adapter.
When looking at that multitude of expansions the Amiga fans developed to overcome the shortcomings of the system and attempt to make it usable, I think there must exist such adapters also...


The rgb signal is 15khz so you need a scandoubler.
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|U5SX-33|8M|GD5428|CT2290|S2
1995:P5I430VX|P133|32M|S3T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|P3-1200|384M|GF4Ti4200|MX300
2004:K8VD|3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby brostenen » 2019-2-26 @ 18:09

The Amiga outputs 15khz RGB. Yes. The reason is that it can do native television editing and was build with multimedia in mind. Later chipsets had options for higher frequency and resolutions. You can set the A1200 to an resolution that are 1280x600 if you want. A lot of old CRT vga monitors can handle 15khz input, yet not that many LCD's can do it. One is a NEC and another is a Dell 2001-something. I chose the scandoubler route, as it still provides a great picture for the money if I want to use a modern LCD screen. My 500 on steroids, uses a scandoubler that are afordable, yet it need a monitor that can sync to 50hz refresh rate. Only my Sony LCD can do it, yet I get perfect colour reproduction and ultra smooth vertical and horisontal scrolling.

I did try tons of external converter boxes, that promises all and everything. Yet they are crap, even those at half the price of the scandoublers that I use. Get a scandoubler at some 85 to 99 euro, or keep to an old Commodore or Philips CRT monitors that were build for the Amiga. Only problem is that they cost nearly double of a scandoubler and we all know how long old late 80's or early 90's CRT keep failing these days.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5336
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby brostenen » 2019-2-26 @ 23:40

Amiga 500 on steroids, now with boot selector..... :-P

Boot-Selector.jpg
If I have an external Gotek drive and run Kickstart 1.3 then this is a perfect upgrade.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5336
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby brostenen » 2019-3-14 @ 20:32

Finally finished with upgrading my Amiga500 Turbo edition. All hardware and ekspansion that I wanted for the machine, have been installed. I need to take some final pictures of the beast, yet it is all done the way it was intended in the first place. This only took a little over one year to do.

https://to9xct.blogspot.com/2018/12/amiga-500-turbo.html
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5336
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: Amiga500 on steroids

Postby brostenen » 2019-3-14 @ 22:18

Baoran wrote:Amiga isn't a PC :P


Just slam one of these into an Amiga500, and you have an IBM-PC compatible Amiga500..... To an extend that is. :-D

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Commodore-Amiga-500-KCS-Power-PC-Board-1Mb-ram-Bridgeboard/233143871845?hash=item3648752965:g:ZdEAAOSwpZNccYsi

Is that not neat or what?? :lol:
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5336
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BLEXBot [Bot] and 9 guests