VOGONS


Reply 681 of 693, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I noticed SIV did not have support for S3 Savage3D (86C390+86C391) GPUs so I added it for SIV 5.53 Beta-02.

If you have an S3 Savage3D please post Menu->Machine->GPU Info so I can check the correct clock speeds are reported.

Reply 682 of 693, by grey_beard

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Just a quick question from my side:

Is there a section for IrDA somewhere in SIV as it's quite common on old machines?

I would have expected to find it somewhere in the Network section but couldn't find anything. Would be interested in what speeds etc. are supported on my hardware.

Reply 683 of 693, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
grey_beard wrote on 2020-11-20, 20:58:

Is there a section for IrDA somewhere in SIV

Thank you for your post. SIV checks for GUID_DEVINTERFACE_IRPORT devices and it it finds any then there should be Menu->System->ACPI + PnP->IR Ports, is it there please?

For 5.54 Beta-02 I will change the name to ->IRDA Ports and will add Menu->Network->IRDA Ports.

Have you found Menu->Help->View Menus?

Reply 684 of 693, by grey_beard

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-11-20, 21:33:

Thank you for your post. SIV checks for GUID_DEVINTERFACE_IRPORT devices and it it finds any then there should be Menu->System->ACPI + PnP->IR Ports, is it there please?

Unfortunately "IR Ports" doesn't show up in that menu, although the port itself is working fine and shows up in the windows device manager. Just used it a few weeks ago to sync an old Palm device.

I'm running SIV on Windows 10 N (32-Bits) on an old Thinkpad X60s.

Reply 685 of 693, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
grey_beard wrote on 2020-11-21, 12:57:

Unfortunately "IR Ports" doesn't show up in that menu, although the port itself is working fine and shows up in the windows device manager. Just used it a few weeks ago to sync an old Palm device.

I'm running SIV on Windows 10 N (32-Bits) on an old Thinkpad X60s.

I would expect it to show up on W10 and should be on Menu->System->Interfaces as below.

To really know why it's not I would need you to do Menu->File->Save Local and post the two files that are generated.

Attachments

  • Winbond CIR Transceiver.png
    Filename
    Winbond CIR Transceiver.png
    File size
    93.73 KiB
    Views
    77 views
    File comment
    Winbond CIR Transceiver
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 686 of 693, by grey_beard

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Nope, the port doesn't show up in the interfaces menu, instead it shows up in the list of "ACPI Devices" as to be seen in the screenshot attached. It's the "IBM ThinkPad Fast Infrared Port" right at the bottom.

The report you were asking for is also attached.

Attachments

  • Filename
    SIVReports.zip
    File size
    317.37 KiB
    Downloads
    2 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • ACPI Devices.png
    Filename
    ACPI Devices.png
    File size
    19.67 KiB
    Views
    72 views
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 687 of 693, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
grey_beard wrote on 2020-11-21, 14:00:

Nope, the port doesn't show up in the interfaces menu

I know why and don't think there is much I can do about this. It's using the National 6.0.6001.18000 driver which looks like it fails to expose the GUID_DEVINTERFACE_IRPORT interface. Looking at Menu->System->DOS Devices I found:

ACPI#IBM0071#4&224b442a&0#{ad498944-762f-11d0-8dcb-00c04fc3358c} \Device\00000028
ACPI#IBM0071#4&224b442a&0#{cac88484-7515-4c03-82e6-71a87abac361} \Device\00000028

{cac88484-7515-4c03-82e6-71a87abac361} is GUID_DEVINTERFACE_NET and {ad498944-762f-11d0-8dcb-00c04fc3358c} is GUID_NDIS_LAN_CLASS neither of which identify the device as IRDA 🙁 On systems where SIV finds IRDA devices there is such as:

ACPI#WEC1022#1#{064f8c82-77b2-445e-b85d-c4e20f942fe1} \Device\00000022

{064f8c82-77b2-445e-b85d-c4e20f942fe1} is GUID_DEVINTERFACE_IRPORT .

On the plus side I was pleased to see SIV automatically detected five ACPI motherboard temperature sensors 😀

I have now released SIV 5.54 Beta-02 which should list your IRDA device as a Net device on Menu->System->Interfaces, does it please?

Last edited by red-ray on 2020-11-22, 16:18. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 688 of 693, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

From SIV 5.54 Beta-02 SIV should report all three fans on EVGA RTX 3080 + 3090 + all FTW3 GPUs, but I have only tested this on my EVGA RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra. If you have an EVGA RTX 3080, 3090 or FTW3 GPU please will you check if SIV reports all three fans and post the Menu->Machine->GPU Info panel. If only two fans are reported also post Menu->Machine->GPU I2C which should enable to to add the third fan.

file.php?id=96777

Note that currently SIV is only able to report all three fans for EVGA GPUs.

Attachments

  • EVGA [GPU I2C] panel.png
    Filename
    EVGA [GPU I2C] panel.png
    File size
    43.34 KiB
    Views
    53 views
    File comment
    EVGA [GPU I2C] panel
    File license
    Public domain
  • EVGA Fan 3 reporting.png
    Filename
    EVGA Fan 3 reporting.png
    File size
    95 KiB
    Views
    53 views
    File comment
    SIV reporting 3 fans on an EVGA RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 689 of 693, by grey_beard

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-11-21, 14:53:

I have now released SIV 5.54 Beta-02 which should list your IRDA device as a Net device on Menu->System->Interfaces, does it please?

Yes it shows up between the "Net" devices as "Infrared-5".

Attachments

  • Infrared-5.png
    Filename
    Infrared-5.png
    File size
    58 KiB
    Views
    35 views
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 690 of 693, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
grey_beard wrote on 2020-11-22, 20:34:

Yes it shows up between the "Net" devices as "Infrared-5".

Ah, I had not spotted the class was Infrared. I could use that to detect it, but given it's not GUID_DEVINTERFACE_IRPORT I expect it won't support IOCTL_IR_GET_DEV_CAPS so even if I used the class being Infrared then the IOCTL_IR_GET_DEV_CAPS would probably fail anyway.

I have built the attached SIV322X 5.54 IRDA-03 test SIV, would you like to try it and report what gets reported?

IOCTL_IR_GET_DEV_CAPS definition
// Module Name:
//
// irclass_ioctl.h
//
// Abstract:
//
// This module contains the IOCTL definitions for the WDF IRCLASS class driver
//
#define FILE_DEVICE_IRCLASS 0x0F60


#define IOCTL_IR_GET_DEV_CAPS CTL_CODE(FILE_DEVICE_IRCLASS, \
1, \
METHOD_BUFFERED, \
FILE_READ_ACCESS)
Last edited by red-ray on 2020-11-23, 16:01. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 691 of 693, by grey_beard

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2020-11-22, 20:56:

I have built the attached SIV322X 5.54 IRDA-03 test SIV, would you like to try it and report what gets reported?

It reports "Unzulässige Funktion" which I would translate into "illegal operation".

Attachments

  • Filename
    IRDA.PNG
    File size
    8.82 KiB
    Downloads
    No downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 692 of 693, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
grey_beard wrote on Yesterday, 15:47:

It reports "Unzulässige Funktion" which I would translate into "illegal operation".

file.php?id=96867

Thank you for checking it out, this is what I was expecting and in the header file Status 1 is as below.

I feel I should leave the code there so the IRDA port is at least listed on Menu->Network->IRDA Ports, what do you think please?

// MessageId: ERROR_INVALID_FUNCTION
//
// MessageText:
//
// Incorrect function.
//
#define ERROR_INVALID_FUNCTION 1L // dderror