VOGONS

First post, by CaptainTER06

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello 😀
I'm new here, I don't really know if this is the right place to ask, but I've got a HP Pavilion 6357 from 1998, but the machine won't do its POST and boot. I know the machine was working before, but one random day, it decided to stop working.
I don't have much info on this computer, but this is what I can give (specs):

Motherboard: https://theretroweb.com/motherboards/s/asus-p2l98-xv-hp-oem
RAM: 32MB SDRAM
CPU: Intel Celeron 333MHz Slot
GPU: ATI Mach64 4MB PCI
PSU: I don't know much about it, but I know for sure that it works.
No expansion card is attached to this computer currently.

I also want to say that before it stopped working, I had to shut down the machine using the Power button because of Windows 98/Me freezing. Someone on a Discord server suggested that it could be a corrupted BIOS, but as I'm not an expert in that domain, I don't know if that's the case.
Thanks for reading all that 😀

Reply 1 of 16, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
CaptainTER06 wrote on 2024-04-18, 08:52:
Hello :) I'm new here, I don't really know if this is the right place to ask, but I've got a HP Pavilion 6357 from 1998, but the […]
Show full quote

Hello 😀
I'm new here, I don't really know if this is the right place to ask, but I've got a HP Pavilion 6357 from 1998, but the machine won't do its POST and boot. I know the machine was working before, but one random day, it decided to stop working.
I don't have much info on this computer, but this is what I can give (specs):

Motherboard: https://theretroweb.com/motherboards/s/asus-p2l98-xv-hp-oem
RAM: 32MB SDRAM
CPU: Intel Celeron 333MHz Slot
GPU: ATI Mach64 4MB PCI
PSU: I don't know much about it, but I know for sure that it works.
No expansion card is attached to this computer currently.