Bought these (retro) hardware today

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Munx » 2017-11-11 @ 13:15

Took a few overtime hours today and was driving past the market on my way back home. Since it was after 1pm most sellers had already left and the few remaining were packing up so I was on the fence weather I should even bother stopping to look around.

Ooh boy I'm glad I did :happy:

Gigabyte GA-5486al with a 133MHz AMD 5x86! The last 486 I had went to a recycler sometime in the early 2000s so I'm really hoping I can get this working.
P_20171111_140200.jpg


As well as a 3Dlabs Permedia 2.
P_20171111_140322.jpg



The motherboard had some nasty battery leakage and was admitted to the ER for emergency de-soldering and is now in vinegar treatment.
P_20171111_140220.jpg
My builds!
The FireStarter 2.0 - The wooden K5
The Underdog - The budget K6
The budget Thunderbird - The powerhungry K7
User avatar
Munx
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2015-3-21 @ 19:36
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Cga.8086 » 2017-11-11 @ 13:21

i was searching the usual places online looking for fpm memory
and then i saw this lot of cache and simm memory


then opened my eyes

opened my eyes again

bought 7 cache sticks for 10dollars. (2 of those where m919 coast modules)

Image
Cga.8086
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2017-4-16 @ 22:38

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby kanecvr » 2017-11-11 @ 13:25

OldCat wrote:I don't like to boast, but today I will, because I am overjoyed and have to share it with someone. I managed to grab something I wanted for a long time: CGA/EGA/Hercules monitor:
mon_CGA.jpg


What's truly unique, though, is the switch that allows changing between colour and monochrome (green / amber) display:
mon_korolove.jpg
mon_amba.jpg
mon_gringrin.jpg


I have a very similar (perhaps the exact same? laptop) but I can't get it to work on external monitor - how did you do it?

Cga.8086 wrote:i was searching the usual places online looking for fpm memory
and then i saw this lot of cache and simm memory


then opened my eyes

opened my eyes again

bought 7 cache sticks for 10dollars. (2 of those where m919 coast modules)

:snip:


Do you by any chance have a COAST module (L2 cache FRU) for an IBM PS/2 Valuepoint in there?
User avatar
kanecvr
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: 2015-4-22 @ 20:30
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby OldCat » 2017-11-11 @ 13:52

kanecvr wrote:
OldCat wrote:I don't like to boast, but today I will, because I am overjoyed and have to share it with someone. I managed to grab something I wanted for a long time: CGA/EGA/Hercules monitor:
mon_CGA.jpg


What's truly unique, though, is the switch that allows changing between colour and monochrome (green / amber) display:
mon_korolove.jpg
mon_amba.jpg
mon_gringrin.jpg


I have a very similar (perhaps the exact same? laptop) but I can't get it to work on external monitor - how did you do it?


Please let us know exact brand and model of your laptop, just to be sure. Toshiba T3100 and T5100 and their variants will use Fn key plus End / Home to toggle between external and internal monitor. It's fairly obvious on T3100e, because these keys have little writing in blue on their front side (not top one) that says Ext Disp and Int Disp. On Toshiba T5100 these keys look the same as all the others.

For Toshiba T5100 the following keyboard shortcuts work:

1) Change CPU speed
Fn + PgUp 16MHz CPU speed
Fn + PgDn 8MHz CPU speed
2) Character font
Fn + Right arrow Toggles display font
3) Display select
Fn + End External display
Fn + Home Plasma display
4) Extending the display area
Fn + Down arrow Toggles between 350 and 400 rows in EGA mode
5) Keypad overlay
Fn + NumLock Toggles keyboard overlay
6) Fn key
Fn + F1 F11
Fn + F2 F12
Fn + Ctrl Simulate IBM enhanced keyboard Right Ctrl
Fn + Alt Simulate IBM enhanced keyboard Right Alt
Fn + Enter Simulate IBM enhanced keyboard numeric keypad
Enter
Fn + power on Force T5100 to CMOS setup screen
User avatar
OldCat
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2017-9-19 @ 09:37
Location: Eastern Europe

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby brostenen » 2017-11-11 @ 14:00

Munx wrote:Gigabyte GA-5486al with a 133MHz AMD 5x86!


486 boards are allways nice. I really hope that you can get that thing going, and the damage are fixable.
If it can be fixed. What plans do you have for it? I am thinking in terms of GFX and sound.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4036
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Munx » 2017-11-11 @ 14:38

brostenen wrote:
Munx wrote:Gigabyte GA-5486al with a 133MHz AMD 5x86!


486 boards are allways nice. I really hope that you can get that thing going, and the damage are fixable.
If it can be fixed. What plans do you have for it? I am thinking in terms of GFX and sound.


Its live! :happy:
P_20171111_160117[1].jpg

Too bad my only AT keyboard is screwed up and I cant navigate the bios properly. Not that I need to w/o a battery.


For sound it will most likely be Aztech waverider 32. Doom 2 sounds great on that :cool:
doom 2.mp3
(3.44 MiB) Downloaded 12 times

(don't mind the noise and cracks, that just my crappy recording)

For now there are 2 Virge PCI cards that can take care of the gfx, however they have the darkness level issue so I'll be keeping an eye out for alternatives.
My builds!
The FireStarter 2.0 - The wooden K5
The Underdog - The budget K6
The budget Thunderbird - The powerhungry K7
User avatar
Munx
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2015-3-21 @ 19:36
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-11-11 @ 14:56

Got a copy of Area 51 that's ported to the IBM PC (Arcade game) last night. Amazing game, but my joystick doesn't play nicely. Did they make Zapp guns for the IBM PC?
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby jade_angel » 2017-11-11 @ 15:23

Munx wrote:
brostenen wrote:
Munx wrote:Gigabyte GA-5486al with a 133MHz AMD 5x86!


486 boards are allways nice. I really hope that you can get that thing going, and the damage are fixable.
If it can be fixed. What plans do you have for it? I am thinking in terms of GFX and sound.


Its live! :happy:
<snip>
Too bad my only AT keyboard is screwed up and I cant navigate the bios properly. Not that I need to w/o a battery.


For sound it will most likely be Aztech waverider 32. Doom 2 sounds great on that :cool:
doom 2.mp3

(don't mind the noise and cracks, that just my crappy recording)

For now there are 2 Virge PCI cards that can take care of the gfx, however they have the darkness level issue so I'll be keeping an eye out for alternatives.



If you have a PS/2 keyboard, AT-PS2 converters are pretty cheap when you can still find 'em. As for graphics, maybe try that Permedia2? I've never used one on a PC, but I've used a bunch of Sun workstations that had them, and the image quality was pretty good, IIRC. Not as good as, say, the Elite3d or XVR-500, but pretty nice.
Wintendo: Core i3-6100 | GTX 960
Linux Box: Core i5-4760K | GTX 550 Ti
98/2000 Box (Broken): K6-III+/500 | G400 MAX
PCI DOS Box: 5x86/133 | S3 Trio64/V2 PCI
VLB DOS box: 486DX4/100 | Cirrus GD5428 2MB
User avatar
jade_angel
Member
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 2017-1-03 @ 00:10
Location: Virginia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Munx » 2017-11-11 @ 15:39

jade_angel wrote:As for graphics, maybe try that Permedia2? I've never used one on a PC, but I've used a bunch of Sun workstations that had them, and the image quality was pretty good, IIRC. Not as good as, say, the Elite3d or XVR-500, but pretty nice.


Looking online it seems to have quite a few DOS game issues. Not too great to pair with a 486. Though it would the the first card I'd stick in an NT PPro system, if I ever manage to get one.
My builds!
The FireStarter 2.0 - The wooden K5
The Underdog - The budget K6
The budget Thunderbird - The powerhungry K7
User avatar
Munx
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 2015-3-21 @ 19:36
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-11-11 @ 16:00

Munx wrote:Too bad my only AT keyboard is screwed up and I cant navigate the bios properly. Not that I need to w/o a battery.


Put it over your knee and spank it...

Seriously, upside down and whack it a few times, gets the crap out and wriggles the oxide loose on bad connections.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-11-11 @ 18:24

Not sure if this counts or not, but I digress.

I went on another thrifting adventure today and got the following:

HP Pavilion 7955 for $10

Code: Select all
Specs:
Pentium 4 1.5GHz Socket 423
256MB SD-RAM 133 (you read this right)
nVidia Riva TNT2 M64 with 32MB SDRAM (why I bought this computer)
FireWire 400 PCI Card
56k modem
Integrated sound (AC'97 most likely)
Integrated Ethernet (either RealTek or Intel)


External LS-240 USB SuperDisk Drive for $9.95
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby luckybob » 2017-11-11 @ 18:37

bjwil1991 wrote:External LS-240 USB SuperDisk Drive for $9.95



pics or it didn't happen.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 2825
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Pabloz » 2017-11-11 @ 18:43

I won an auction full of of things for $7

there is a pcchips motherboard M577 i belive that someone is selling for USD249.95 on ebay ?? WTF is wrong with those ebay scamms


Image

Image

Image
Pabloz
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 2017-4-22 @ 22:36

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby TheAbandonwareGuy » 2017-11-11 @ 18:59

Pabloz wrote:I won an auction full of of things for $7

there is a pcchips motherboard M577 i belive that someone is selling for USD249.95 on ebay ?? WTF is wrong with those ebay scamms


Image

Image

Image


Drug addiction most likely?
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuFY6Z ... 2tV8b00x_A
1996|P200MMX|64MB EDO|Virge DX 4MB|SB16 OPL3
1999|P3 933|384MB SDR|GF256 SDR 32MB|CT4620
User avatar
TheAbandonwareGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 965
Joined: 2016-3-01 @ 02:09
Location: Southern Illinois, United States of America

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-11-11 @ 20:03

Though to anyone who was around "in the day" it's kinda hilarious to see PC Chips stuff a) still alive and kicking and b) fetching decent prices never mind the space cadet ones.

Though I had good luck with PC Chips stuff and thought their bad rap was a bit overblown, due to things like cheap PC syndrome where every single part was lowest cost available, and PC Chips copped the blame where other components could have been at fault, and lack of attention to proper set up and tuning.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby brostenen » 2017-11-11 @ 20:16

Munx wrote:Its live! :happy:


Wonderfull... Congrats on the board. :-)
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4036
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-11-11 @ 23:33

luckybob wrote:
bjwil1991 wrote:External LS-240 USB SuperDisk Drive for $9.95



pics or it didn't happen.


As requested:

Image
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby luckybob » 2017-11-11 @ 23:35

damn, I hear those ls-240 drives are near unobtainium, and its boxed even! I tip my hat to you sir.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 2825
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-11-11 @ 23:44

luckybob wrote:damn, I hear those ls-240 drives are near unobtainium, and its boxed even! I tip my hat to you sir.

I was lucky today, plus the desktop was also a nice score since it has the Riva TNT2 M64 card in it, which will go into my Socket 370 system since the TNT2 card that it had decided to have problems. The TNT2 card the Pavilion has is an ASUS brand (same as the motherboard). I also hooked up the LS-240 into my ThinkPad R40 and it's a nice drive to use to copy files in between computers that use either floppies or SuperDisk, and I can even format a floppy diskette into a 32MB diskette.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby liqmat » 2017-11-12 @ 01:55

bjwil1991 wrote:
luckybob wrote:damn, I hear those ls-240 drives are near unobtainium, and its boxed even! I tip my hat to you sir.

I was lucky today, plus the desktop was also a nice score since it has the Riva TNT2 M64 card in it, which will go into my Socket 370 system since the TNT2 card that it had decided to have problems. The TNT2 card the Pavilion has is an ASUS brand (same as the motherboard). I also hooked up the LS-240 into my ThinkPad R40 and it's a nice drive to use to copy files in between computers that use either floppies or SuperDisk, and I can even format a floppy diskette into a 32MB diskette.


32MB per 1.44MB disk sounds nice, but is that still at the average floppy data transfer rate of 32K per sec? That would take awhile if so.

After reading a few articles apparently this drive did read regular 1.44 media much faster than a standard floppy drive.
Last edited by liqmat on 2017-11-12 @ 08:08, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 505
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], firage, istellabot [Bot] and 10 guests