VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 27700 of 34254, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
arncht wrote:

i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.

You don't need dual displays? I use a Dell P2414H, three inputs, one is VGA, I can switch between them via keyboard shortcuts 😀

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 27701 of 34254, by arncht

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

i dont want a compromise at the modern display - actually i use a 34" 21:9 montor, the latest displays dont support the analog inputs anymore. until now, i used a dell 2007fp for the retro, but i need the place for my studio speakers.

if i have even more place later, i want a dedicated desk with a crt to my retro pcs.

My little retro computer world
Bought this retro hardware

Reply 27702 of 34254, by Muppets4

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:

20190313_170909 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20190313_170909 (Custom).jpg
File size
357.45 KiB
Views
492 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
20190313_170915 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20190313_170915 (Custom).jpg
File size
186.06 KiB
Views
492 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
20190313_170924 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20190313_170924 (Custom).jpg
File size
236.36 KiB
Views
492 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
20190313_171144 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20190313_171144 (Custom).jpg
File size
158.72 KiB
Views
492 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

From the same seller I bought an unused Voodoo 2 and a used AWE32 CT3990 with RAM.

20190313_171600 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20190313_171600 (Custom).jpg
File size
219.17 KiB
Views
492 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Last edited by Muppets4 on 2019-03-13, 16:28. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 27703 of 34254, by Muppets4

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
20190313_171628 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20190313_171628 (Custom).jpg
File size
193.13 KiB
Views
492 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

due to the 5 photo limit (:

Reply 27704 of 34254, by schlang

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
arncht wrote:

i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.

just use a KVM

PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532

Reply 27705 of 34254, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Muppets4 wrote:

Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:

You still haven't. This is a GVC-FR500 Socket 7 board with SiS 5598 chipset, used in some very low-end Packard Bell systems in late 1998.

Reply 27706 of 34254, by Muppets4

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
dionb wrote:
Muppets4 wrote:

Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:

You still haven't. This is a GVC-FR500 Socket 7 board with SiS 5598 chipset, used in some very low-end Packard Bell systems in late 1998.

🤣

Reply 27707 of 34254, by arncht

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
schlang wrote:
arncht wrote:

i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.

just use a KVM

which kvm has a decent ad converter?

My little retro computer world
Bought this retro hardware

Reply 27708 of 34254, by SpectriaForce

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Muppets4 wrote:

Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:

From the same seller I bought an unused Voodoo 2 and a used AWE32 CT3990 with RAM.

20190313_171600 (Custom).jpg

Interesting. The seller where you have bought these from bought these items together with other parts from another seller on Marktplaats earlier this week, who sold everything within a couple hours. Lol I keep track of everything 😊

RETROGAMEPC.COM

Reply 27709 of 34254, by schlang

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
arncht wrote:
schlang wrote:
arncht wrote:

i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.

just use a KVM

which kvm has a decent ad converter?

I'm using this combination for over 10 years now:
- ATEN VC-160 VGA-DVI converter
- DIGITUS IC-814 ID (4x DVI + PS2 Keyboard + PS2 Mouse)

PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532

Reply 27710 of 34254, by SpectriaForce

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
retardware wrote:
We all know that processors are different, even on the same die. Due to the inevitable variations there are different qualities. […]
Show full quote

We all know that processors are different, even on the same die.
Due to the inevitable variations there are different qualities.
Specimens that are good, draw little current (or in other words, leak energy) and switch faster than others.

For this reason we know that there of the same processor type there are more or less numerous variations in (optimum) voltage and clock limit.

However on GPUs there is no such "individual treatment".
But how do the GPU manufacturers deal with the inevitably varying qualities of the production output?

So my suspicion is that good chips that do not run hot (compared to the majority) are being used for passive cards,
and the best ones, those which in addition can serve at high clock, go to the premium cards,
Finally, on the other end of the quality spectrum, the worst chips (slow, developing much heat) go to cheap cards with massive fan coolers.

This is my personal speculation.
So I suspect that possibly this "NOS stock" actually might be some old returns leftover that got rediscovered and sold for a very low price to get rid of it quickly.

The card manufacturer probably knows these GPU quality differences because it is reflected in the prices of the GPU (and I assume that they test their cards to the extremes before final designs are shipped to retailers). You see that nowadays too with NVIDIA RTX20xx cards; some versions come overclocked from the card manufacturer while others don't. Obviously the overclocked cards have a better GPU. Those cards perform better in tests.

In addition there are Ti4600 cards with all high quality components and lower quality cards. Asus equipped their Ti4600 with premium Japanese electrolytic capacitors, while manufacturers like Leadtek tried to save on costs and chose for lower quality Taiwanese capacitors.

RETROGAMEPC.COM

Reply 27711 of 34254, by SpectriaForce

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
God Of Gaming wrote:

Why are they dying so much? I have a Quadro equivalent of the Ti4600, with the small stock heatsink, and it doesnt seem to run particularly hot under load, so its not because of heat issues, is it?

Quadro cards are corporate grade versions; i.e. they have better components compared to most consumer Ti4600 cards.

RETROGAMEPC.COM

Reply 27712 of 34254, by arncht

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
schlang wrote:
I'm using this combination for over 10 years now: - ATEN VC-160 VGA-DVI converter - DIGITUS IC-814 ID (4x DVI + PS2 Keyboard + P […]
Show full quote
arncht wrote:
schlang wrote:

just use a KVM

which kvm has a decent ad converter?

I'm using this combination for over 10 years now:
- ATEN VC-160 VGA-DVI converter
- DIGITUS IC-814 ID (4x DVI + PS2 Keyboard + PS2 Mouse)

but this is not a kvm-only solution, you need a scaler. this is my scaler now.

My little retro computer world
Bought this retro hardware

Reply 27713 of 34254, by twilliamc

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
GigAHerZ wrote:
twilliamc wrote:

It's output does not look very sharp on the CRT and it goes dim sometimes when the XT attempts to seek the floppy disk.

Replace/fix the power supply! The voltages are probably way off, especially, when on load of floppy drive...

I will carefully open it and see what I am working with. What are your thoughts on replacing it with an ATX PSU with the converter kit that includes -5v? Assuming my system requires the -5v.

Vendex Turbo-888-XT: 8088, 640K, 360k 5.25FDDx2
Vendex Headstart III: 80286 @ 8/12MHz, 1MB RAM, 2GB CF, 1MB VGA, DOS/HOT/Win 3.0
Unnamed: 486DX4 @ 120MHz, 16MB, 2GB, 2MB VGA, SBPro 2.0, DOS/W3.11, W95

Reply 27714 of 34254, by schlang

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
arncht wrote:

but this is not a kvm-only solution, you need a scaler. this is my scaler now.

not sure what answer do you expect. VGA KVM will always have an impact on quality no matter what

PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532

Reply 27715 of 34254, by Ozzuneoj

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I just walked into a Radioshack in a small nearby town and found out it had been in business since 1981 so they still had some new old stock Tandy accessories! The only thing I grabbed today was a brand new 256K Tandy memory upgrade kit for a whopping $4.50. It's just a pack of eight 256kbit memory chips in a tube in a little cardboard case with a Tandy sticker on it. Sadly, the rest of their old Tandy stuff consists of dust covers, a keyboard extention cable, and stuff like that. Still neat though! The Shack in my town closed a couple years ago (I bought a few thousand dollars worth of stuff at 95% off... cost me a little over a hundred dollars) so I guess this one is the last one within 100 miles of here. When I saw the old packages I got really hopeful that he'd have other NOS Tandy stuff packed away, but he said that computer equipment never did well there so they didn't have much. Too bad!

Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401

Reply 27716 of 34254, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Nothing big here lately as I'm still struggling to process the last car-load I picked up almost a month ago. But little things can be fun too:

full.jpg

Anticlockwise:
4x 16MB 30p SIMM
2x 128MB 72p SIMM
Pentium 266MMX (Tillamook)

Eh, and then I messed up. I've had lots of luck buying badly described or photographed stuff in the past, but here it ran out...
I hoped that Weitek chip would be a 4167, but instead it's a 31172A, i.e. a Sparc FPU that would have been great in a Sun SparcStation IPC, but isn't going to do any good in a 486 motherboard.
Similarly, I thought I read CX-83S87 on the Cyrix FasMath (which in retrospect is stupid, as it's the wrong form factor), instead it's a respectable CX-83D87-33-GP, which I of course don't have a board for at the moment.

Oh well, pretty ceramic squares nonetheless 😉

Reply 27717 of 34254, by wirerogue

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
wiretap wrote:
wirerogue wrote:
pny geforce4 ti4600 […]
Show full quote

pny geforce4 ti4600

ebay seller had 31 of them and they all sold in less than 24 hours at $30 + $5 shipping

pny.geforce.ebay.jpg

mine arrived today. looks brand new. haven't tested it out yet.

geforce4.jpg

did anyone else here get one?

I did. Completely corrupted.. wouldn't make it past the POST screen without causing the system to hang. Already returned for a refund.

same here. totally doa. i didn't even get any pretty colors. 🙁

fortunately, the geforce3 i got last week works perfectly.

the funny thing about the geforce3, it had been listed on ebay since last year but, nowhere in the listing did it say geforce3.

i was on anandtech checking out geforce3 cards and one of them he reviewed was the msi starforce822.

quick search on ebay and there it was for $18 plus $18 shipping.

xCoPJFm.png

Reply 27718 of 34254, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Recieved these two things in the mail today. An SD-to-CF card adaptor. And a new CPU relocator for the Amiga500 Terrible Fire 530 accelerator. The thing that makes the relocator a bit interresting, is that it have been specially modified to accomodate a kickstart switcher that are tall. In other words, more room around the kickstart socket.

Recieved-Today.jpg
Filename
Recieved-Today.jpg
File size
299.17 KiB
Views
221 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 27719 of 34254, by arncht

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
schlang wrote:
arncht wrote:

but this is not a kvm-only solution, you need a scaler. this is my scaler now.

not sure what answer do you expect. VGA KVM will always have an impact on quality no matter what

I know exactly, what i want - the capture card or the ossc will be the best solution actually.

My little retro computer world
Bought this retro hardware