VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 32180 of 33310, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
imi wrote on 2020-01-27, 22:53:

probably because it's a passive card and not meant to run at higher power I'd guess.

Nope, it's a 225W board and should have both power sockets - think the 9350 only had the one but with a different heatsink

Reply 32182 of 33310, by boxpressed

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

This oddity arrived today: a Simuleyes VR 3D Stereo Vision System. It was cheap, and the glasses looked new, and it comes with a CD-ROM with some pretty good games on it (see photo). I haven't had time to test it, but it should be amusing for a little while.

IMG_8576.jpg
Filename
IMG_8576.jpg
File size
1.69 MiB
Views
471 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 32185 of 33310, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Made this deal a week or so back, though only getting to the 1st round of pics today, but considering what I got I'm still pretty stoked!

Since joining the forum I've developed an interest in dual systems and am keen to try some builds in this area (have already got a P2B-DS that I've started plans for). So, I get an email from an occasional contact who knows my interest, telling me he's selling up a lot of his personal spare server board collection and would I be interested - hell yeah 😀

Sadly all the dual Slot 1 boards (my favourite) had gone but he offered me what was left of the dual socket 370 boards plus some processors and loads of PC133R, so here's what I bagged:

Gigabyte GA-6VTXDR-C, complete with 2 x PIII-S 1.4GHz

Asus CUR-DLS (OEM) from a Fujitsu Siemens Primergy B210, complete with 2 x PIII-933MHz Coppermines

Asus TR-DLS, complete with 2 x PIII-S 1.4GHz

IBM eServer xSeries 342 board (ServerWorks ServerSet III HE-SL), complete with 2 x PIII-S 1.4GHz, spare VRM modules and cabling

Only had a chance so far to check out the Gigabyte board so here's the pics (rest of the haul to follow soon)

Found this image online of the board launch at Computex 2001

GA-6VTXDR-C (Computex 2001).jpg
Filename
GA-6VTXDR-C (Computex 2001).jpg
File size
216.47 KiB
Views
416 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

and now a few of mine

GA-6VTXDR-C_01.JPG
Filename
GA-6VTXDR-C_01.JPG
File size
967.38 KiB
Views
416 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
GA-6VTXDR-C_02.JPG
Filename
GA-6VTXDR-C_02.JPG
File size
486.4 KiB
Views
416 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
GA-6VTXDR-C_03.JPG
Filename
GA-6VTXDR-C_03.JPG
File size
1018.96 KiB
Views
416 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

It's a early v1.0 board and although it should take the full 4GB it seems a bit flakey with that much but solid at 3.5GB. Also noted that they got the slikscreen for CPU1 & CPU2 mixed up, oops

...

Last edited by PC Hoarder Patrol on 2020-01-28, 07:46. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 32186 of 33310, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

...and lastly the PC133R

PC133R1GB.JPG
Filename
PC133R1GB.JPG
File size
1.27 MiB
Views
411 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

and the coolers I've been using to test with

Coolers01.jpg
Filename
Coolers01.jpg
File size
909.11 KiB
Views
411 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 32187 of 33310, by gex85

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
PC Hoarder Patrol wrote on 2020-01-27, 23:01:
gex85 wrote on 2020-01-27, 21:22:

... it looks like the GA-6VTXDR-C to me, right?
That's exactly the board I have in my dual Tualatin box, used it as a home server some 12 years ago. It's a nice and stable board, but unfortunately lacks the AGP slot. I still don't have a good PCI graphics card to pair it with. But it is going to receive an upgrade from 2x 1.26 GHz to 2x 1.4 GHz soon. It's maxed out with 2 GB of SD-RAM, too 😄

What a shame that yours is damaged though!

I picked up a GA-6VTXDR-C recently (no pics yet) and I've maxed the RAM to 4GB of PC133R (though a little flakey) - you sure yours doesn't take more?

Well, it's been a while since I built the system, but I always thought that 2 GB is the maximum indeed.
That's what the Gigabyte website says as well:

GA-6VTXDR-C (rev. 1.0) Specs Overview

Dual Intel® Pentium III Tualatin processor (Socket 370 / 133MHz FSB / up to 1.4 GHz )
VIA® Apollo™ VT92C694T, VT82C686B
Max. 2GB Un-Buffered or Registered (ECC) PC-133 SDRAM Memory in 4 Angle DIMM Slots
Intel® 82559 10/100 Mps Fast Ethernet Port
Promise® PDC20267R Dual ATA-100 channels with IDE RAID 0,1, 0+1
ATX 12" W x 9.6" D Form factor, Standard ATX Power
Source: https://www.gigabyte.com/de/Server-Motherboar … XDR-C-rev-10#ov

Would be a nice surprise to see it supporting 4 GB, although I would have to go hunting for 1GB SD-RAM modules 😉
However, that's some really nice stuff you got there 😄

-- Edit:
Had a quick look at the manual, seems to be 4 GB indeed. Cool.

Memory

4 168-pin DIMM sockets
Support PC-100 / PC-133 SDRAM and VCM SDRAM
Support up to 4GB DRAM (Max)
Support only 3.3V SDRAM DIMM
Support 72bit ECC type DRAM integrity mode
Support registered or un-buffered DRAM

1992 - i486DX2-66 // 1997 - P1-233 MMX // 1998 - P2-350 // 2000 - P3-650 // 2001 - Athlon 1400 // 2003 - Athlon XP 3200+ // 2008 - Xeon E5450 // 2015 - Xeon E3-1240v5

Reply 32189 of 33310, by Xicor

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Last Sunday I manage to find a asus 9800GX2 at local flea market @ the incredible price of 7€ ..... At first I thought that it was broken in some way, so I wasn't expecting much.

20200126_181729_small.jpg
Filename
20200126_181729_small.jpg
File size
537.34 KiB
Views
358 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
20200126_181719_small.jpg
Filename
20200126_181719_small.jpg
File size
697.29 KiB
Views
358 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

As luck would have it, the card was without fault. It posted fine and working correctly. Now I have to replace all the pads and thermal compound. These beasts run hot as hell and 12 years is way too much for those puny pads.

Reply 32191 of 33310, by mpe

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

My $19 GUS ACE purchase I was so excited a few days back really arrived today. And I actually came to appreciaton the rest of the bundle as a cheap source of 256Kx16 DRAM upgrade chip for the GUS 😀

6XYtfzb.jpg

Blog||486DX-50|NexGen 586|S4

Reply 32192 of 33310, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I need to or have someone design a multi function ISA card that'll have GUS ACE, Creative CMS (GameBlaster), Yamaha YM2151, Sigma Designs RealMagic (the audio out will be shared to have more room for the VGA in and out, along with the RJ45 ethernet ports), and 3Com 3C509 Ethernet. But, that probably won't work out too well, but, I'd say that'll be worth it.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 32193 of 33310, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
mpe wrote on 2020-01-28, 20:13:
My $19 GUS ACE purchase I was so excited a few days back really arrived today. And I actually came to appreciaton the rest of t […]
Show full quote

My $19 GUS ACE purchase I was so excited a few days back really arrived today. And I actually came to appreciaton the rest of the bundle as a cheap source of 256Kx16 DRAM upgrade chip for the GUS 😀

6XYtfzb.jpg

that poor diamond stealth though ;u; that is a really pretty PCI card.
I'm sure there are plenty of other cards you could source ram from.

Reply 32194 of 33310, by HanJammer

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
imi wrote on 2020-01-29, 00:43:

that poor diamond stealth though ;u; that is a really pretty PCI card.
I'm sure there are plenty of other cards you could source ram from.

^^^ This.

Fortunatelly the chip is socketed and can be put back into it's place when he finds some other donor...

For sale (2019.12.01 - new items!!!): 8088, 286 stuff | 386, 486 stuff | Socket 5-8 stuff | Old HDDs and 5.25" FDDs

Reply 32195 of 33310, by LeFlash

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Robert B wrote on 2020-01-26, 07:28:

Your observation is pertinent though. 😁 UV EPROM + BRIGHT SUNLIGHT = LOVE (NOT!)

It takes weeks of bright sunlight to erase an EPROM.
Trust me - i tested it as a kid! 😉

The UV-B-part has appromixately 11W/m², that's roughly the same that a UV-lamp will put out on a much smaller area.
It's simply not enough - especially if it just sits for some minutes or hours in the bright sun.

For extra safety you can read the BIOS from DOS (f.e. with DEBUG) and save it somewhere.

Reply 32196 of 33310, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Rest of the dual boards from my recent deal

IBM e server xSeries 342

eserver xSeries 342_01.JPG
Filename
eserver xSeries 342_01.JPG
File size
662.32 KiB
Views
146 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
eserver xSeries 342_02.JPG
Filename
eserver xSeries 342_02.JPG
File size
819.64 KiB
Views
146 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
eserver xSeries 342_03.JPG
Filename
eserver xSeries 342_03.JPG
File size
908.88 KiB
Views
146 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Asus TR-DLS

Asus TR-DLS_01.JPG
Filename
Asus TR-DLS_01.JPG
File size
899.41 KiB
Views
146 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Asus TR-DLS_02.JPG
Filename
Asus TR-DLS_02.JPG
File size
597.92 KiB
Views
146 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 32197 of 33310, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

and finally

Asus CUR-DLS (Fujitsu Siemens OEM)

Asus CUR-DLS (FSC OEM)_01.JPG
Filename
Asus CUR-DLS (FSC OEM)_01.JPG
File size
922.21 KiB
Views
138 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Asus CUR-DLS (FSC OEM)_02.JPG
Filename
Asus CUR-DLS (FSC OEM)_02.JPG
File size
564.98 KiB
Views
138 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Asus CUR-DLS (FSC OEM)_03.JPG
Filename
Asus CUR-DLS (FSC OEM)_03.JPG
File size
878.2 KiB
Views
138 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

I even managed to get the Gigabyte board working with the full 4GB of RAM, although I'm not quite sure why. All the memory I got with the boards have 333 timings except for one set with 222, and this is the only one that allows me to max the board.

Last edited by PC Hoarder Patrol on 2020-01-29, 07:55. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 32198 of 33310, by RacoonRider

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
PC Hoarder Patrol wrote on 2020-01-29, 07:45:

reserved

Just and FYI - when you reserve a post and someone sees it before you edit it, it counts as "read" and does not show up when you view latest unread posts in the thread. That and it's also frustrating to check out a thread that is marked as having unread posts only to find out a reserved space.