VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 32580 of 34294, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Good day today. Bought another Original Xbox (2004, might be a 1.4 or 1.5, will open up, inspect, repair, and remove the clock cap) and a phat PS2 bundle (2 Logitech wireless controllers, cables, and the console) all for a good price of $60. Both systems will be soft modded and the phat PS2 will get an HDD installed for putting games onto the drive (rip from my previous collection and recently acquired games) and figure out if the PS2 can have the games saved to the HDD or not.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 32581 of 34294, by Brawndo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
bjwil1991 wrote on 2020-02-20, 02:19:

Good day today. Bought another Original Xbox (2004, might be a 1.4 or 1.5, will open up, inspect, repair, and remove the clock cap) and a phat PS2 bundle (2 Logitech wireless controllers, cables, and the console) all for a good price of $60.

Damn that's a good price! Especially with those Logitech controllers. I used to collect video game consoles and accessories, used to have about 5 of those Logitech controllers for PS2 and 3 or 4 for the Xbox, paid about $10 for each, when the local used shop had that stuff in abundance. But I'm an idiot, I went through a phase where I decided to sell almost all of my collection. Stings like a bitch when I think about it. I had a TON of stuff, nice stuff.

Anyway, good luck with the mods. Hopefully the Xbox is not a 1.6 so you can flash the TSOP. I have 2 Xecuter X3 chips, one already installed and the other one still new in the box. Also have a Duo3 Gold chip for the PS2, and I've been on the lookout for a DMS 4 Pro, but that one has proven elusive. One day...

Reply 32582 of 34294, by ragefury32

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Took delivery of a Compaq Evo n600c - suppoedly the "ultimate DOS compatible" 2 spindle P3 laptop,.

Evo+n600c.jpg

Why? Tualatin P3m CPU (all the way to 1.1 GHz), i830MP chipset, ATi Radeon M6, and an ESS Maestro 3/Allegro chipset, which is supposed to offer both DOS mode SB emulation and AC97 support all in a relatively svelte 5 lb package (technically the Dell Inspiron 8100 has the same audio chip and a Geforce2Go or Radeon M7, but that machine uses the older i815EP which limits it to 512MB of RAM, while this one can do 1GB. The 8100 is also bulkier at 7 lbs - the Evo n6x0 series is arguably one of the last truly Compaq machines made before the HP accquisition - Thanks Carly Fiorina).

Of course, it's still just a Radeon M6 (no hardware T&L, and ATi is buggy in older DOS stuff), and the Maestro doesn't do FM synth so audio quality in DOS is...kinda questionable. Came with 128MB of RAM, a 20GB HDD, a DVD/CDRW drive and a dead battery (both primary and the ML1220 within). Oh well, some minor work needs to be done, should be able to use most of the configuration from the Dell Latitude C600 that I also have.

Reply 32583 of 34294, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Deczor wrote on 2020-02-20, 02:19:
OFFS. How the shit did I not notice that? […]
Show full quote

Hahhhaaaa just the bracket is upside down. WOW Deczor did you do that ?

OFFS. How the shit did I not notice that?

Fuck, I'm an idiot.

Yes, I did that when I was cleaning up the brackets. I guess it'll actually be a problem if I ever find a case for this thing. The old one is scummy as hell, so was just planning on maybe screwing the pentium to my office wall until I find a case I like

Just remove, reverse and refit the bracket.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 32585 of 34294, by H3nrik V!

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ragefury32 wrote on 2020-02-20, 05:52:
Took delivery of a Compaq Evo n600c - suppoedly the "ultimate DOS compatible" 2 spindle P3 laptop,. Why? Tualatin P3m CPU (al […]
Show full quote

Took delivery of a Compaq Evo n600c - suppoedly the "ultimate DOS compatible" 2 spindle P3 laptop,.

Why? Tualatin P3m CPU (all the way to 1.1 GHz), i830MP chipset, ATi Radeon M6, and an ESS Maestro 3/Allegro chipset, which is supposed to offer both DOS mode SB emulation and AC97 support all in a relatively svelte 5 lb package (technically the Dell Inspiron 8100 has the same audio chip and a Geforce2Go or Radeon M7, but that machine uses the older i815EP which limits it to 512MB of RAM, while this one can do 1GB. The 8100 is also bulkier at 7 lbs - the Evo n6x0 series is arguably one of the last truly Compaq machines made before the HP accquisition - Thanks Carly Fiorina).

Of course, it's still just a Radeon M6 (no hardware T&L, and ATi is buggy in older DOS stuff), and the Maestro doesn't do FM synth so audio quality in DOS is...kinda questionable. Came with 128MB of RAM, a 20GB HDD, a DVD/CDRW drive and a dead battery (both primary and the ML1220 within). Oh well, some minor work needs to be done, should be able to use most of the configuration from the Dell Latitude C600 that I also have.

Cool! That i830MP chipset apparently is not very widely known ..

"2 Spindle"? What do you mean with that?

Reply 32586 of 34294, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Got an Athlon64 3700+ and a Duron 700 for 5 EUR each.

Both seem to be in great condition so I'm looking forward to trying them out when I get back from my business trip.

Attachments

  • AMD.jpg
    Filename
    AMD.jpg
    File size
    120.32 KiB
    Views
    454 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 32587 of 34294, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

oh ffs... seriously?!

hardware36_19.jpg
Filename
hardware36_19.jpg
File size
189.44 KiB
Views
435 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

WHO DOES THAT

there is tape all over the box, and the DHL label is glued on the box too, pretty sure the plastic wrap was added by my forwarder after the fact seeing as it's over the original label and only their label is on it.

I'm mildly angry. idk how to remove all the tape and the label without further damage to the box.
why even bother mentioning it has the original box in the auction if you are going to send it like that.

Reply 32588 of 34294, by Ozzuneoj

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
imi wrote on 2020-02-20, 10:58:
oh ffs... seriously?! […]
Show full quote

oh ffs... seriously?!

hardware36_19.jpg

WHO DOES THAT

there is tape all over the box, and the DHL label is glued on the box too, pretty sure the plastic wrap was added by my forwarder after the fact seeing as it's over the original label and only their label is on it.

I'm mildly angry. idk how to remove all the tape and the label without further damage to the box.
why even bother mentioning it has the original box in the auction if you are going to send it like that.

Wow, that's bad! I had someone send me a boxed ATi Wonder 16/Plus 1MB and it was only packed in one of those plastic packing bags with no padding to protect the box. The box was already fairly beat up so they wrapped the sides in packing tape to make it rigid enough to hold up in transit. If the tape had at least been applied smoothly or evenly I wouldn't have cared much but it had folds and wrinkles in it. There's obviously no way the tape is ever coming off a box from 1990 without pulling all of the printing off with it. They did end up sending me the bus mouse that was supposed to be in the box with the card (they had it listed separately and I didn't notice it), so that was good of them.

I've had a lot of stuff sent to me lately with little or no packaging and lots of damage. Also, I've found that any late AGP cards have about a 15% chance of being intact unless you get them in a computer or in their original box. It's like people can't comprehend the laws of physics when they throw a bunch of cards in a box with a few scraps of old packing material dropped in loosely. If one card has 32 ounces of copper attached to one side, it's probably going to shear off all the tiny sand-like components on the other side when it scrapes against another card's bracket. Oy... I think I have had three BFG 7800GS AGP cards, and more than half a dozen other 6800/7800 series AGP cards, all with smd components scraped off either in transit or in storage before they were sold.

Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401

Reply 32589 of 34294, by Sago7

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hello.

This is my actual proyect Building an Athlon XP Configuration on this days. This is what I got.
In my plans, there were a ViewSonic E70f+(17") that I bought a couple of months ago.

But, yesterday I found this for 15USD:
ViewSonic G90fb

It's in very good condition. i'm quite happy with this purchase. Since I never saw one of this in the past.

UW44M6T.jpg

Now I don't know if I should sell the E70f+ or keep it.

Reply 32590 of 34294, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
imi wrote on 2020-02-20, 10:58:
oh ffs... seriously?! […]
Show full quote

oh ffs... seriously?!

hardware36_19.jpg

WHO DOES THAT

there is tape all over the box, and the DHL label is glued on the box too, pretty sure the plastic wrap was added by my forwarder after the fact seeing as it's over the original label and only their label is on it.

I'm mildly angry. idk how to remove all the tape and the label without further damage to the box.
why even bother mentioning it has the original box in the auction if you are going to send it like that.

🤣, that seller is 100% a troll.

I got a few things in the mail, first an ASUS P2B-F with a Coppermine capable Voltage controller, and a PIII-550 Coppermine:

ASUS-P2-B-F.jpg Intel-Pentium-III-550.jpg

And my new toy arrived:

IBM-PS1-2155-593-Original-State-01.jpg IBM-PS1-2155-593-Original-State-02.jpg IBM-PS1-2155-593-Original-State-03.jpg

IBM-PS1-2155-593-Original-State-04.jpg IBM-PS1-2155-593-Original-State-05.jpg

This will be an interesting and challenging restoration project as it lacks not only some hardware but also some actual case components I will have to design (thanks to @Deksor who volunteered to help) and 3D Print.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 32591 of 34294, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
imi wrote on 2020-02-20, 10:58:
oh ffs... seriously?! […]
Show full quote

oh ffs... seriously?!

hardware36_19.jpg

WHO DOES THAT

there is tape all over the box, and the DHL label is glued on the box too, pretty sure the plastic wrap was added by my forwarder after the fact seeing as it's over the original label and only their label is on it.

I'm mildly angry. idk how to remove all the tape and the label without further damage to the box.
why even bother mentioning it has the original box in the auction if you are going to send it like that.

I would ask for a big discount / partial refund.

You should be able to use a hairdryer to heat up the label and the tape and remove it very carefully with the hairdryer keeping the label / tape hot while you are doing it.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 32592 of 34294, by brownk

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2020-02-20, 15:07:
imi wrote on 2020-02-20, 10:58:
oh ffs... seriously?! […]
Show full quote

oh ffs... seriously?!

hardware36_19.jpg

WHO DOES THAT

there is tape all over the box, and the DHL label is glued on the box too, pretty sure the plastic wrap was added by my forwarder after the fact seeing as it's over the original label and only their label is on it.

I'm mildly angry. idk how to remove all the tape and the label without further damage to the box.
why even bother mentioning it has the original box in the auction if you are going to send it like that.

I would ask for a big discount / partial refund.

You should be able to use a hairdryer to heat up the label and the tape and remove it very carefully with the hairdryer keeping the label / tape hot while you are doing it.

I'd second this. Since it's fresh tape, you have a higher chance to remove them all with minimal to no amount of damage. It will help if you set individual sections and work one by one like restoraton job.

Reply 32593 of 34294, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

well, I got the tape off with my heatgun, was fairly easy after all, but the box is pretty torn up anyways 😒

hardware36_20.jpg
Filename
hardware36_20.jpg
File size
184.43 KiB
Views
297 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

at least everything was inside, the card itself has a damaged simm socket, but that was apparent in the pictures already :\

anyways... to lighten the mood, here's some other stuff that arrived recently

Terratec Producer Phase 88 (those terratec boxes really aren't that robust, are they ^^)
SB Live CT4620+CT4660
and a ThinkPad X21 with docking base

hardware36_21.jpg
Filename
hardware36_21.jpg
File size
198.13 KiB
Views
297 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
hardware36_21b.jpg
Filename
hardware36_21b.jpg
File size
81.18 KiB
Views
297 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

two hitachi caddy drives with hitachi bus, one more CD-Rom interface ^^
a CD/PD and a DVD-Ram/PD drive and some PD disks

hardware36_22.jpg
Filename
hardware36_22.jpg
File size
156.33 KiB
Views
297 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

and then there's this... I told myself I wouldn't buy any more midi modules for now... but oh well... "oops" ^^
Roland SoundCanvas SC-88 Pro
Miditemp MP-88 midi player/router, I hope it will work the way I intend to use it to route multiple sources to my modules
and a SCSI drive unit all together in a SKB case.

hardware36_23.jpg
Filename
hardware36_23.jpg
File size
161.43 KiB
Views
297 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 32594 of 34294, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

You like Terratec cards. I like you. But I also hate you because that means we will probably be competing. Grr..

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 32595 of 34294, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

wait, I thought we're far apart x3
that reminds me, I forgot to take a picture of the EWS64S with digital extension ^^

hardware36_24.jpg
Filename
hardware36_24.jpg
File size
356.72 KiB
Views
269 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 32596 of 34294, by ragefury32

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
H3nrik V! wrote on 2020-02-20, 08:44:
ragefury32 wrote on 2020-02-20, 05:52:
Took delivery of a Compaq Evo n600c - suppoedly the "ultimate DOS compatible" 2 spindle P3 laptop,. Why? Tualatin P3m CPU (al […]
Show full quote

Took delivery of a Compaq Evo n600c - suppoedly the "ultimate DOS compatible" 2 spindle P3 laptop,.

Why? Tualatin P3m CPU (all the way to 1.1 GHz), i830MP chipset, ATi Radeon M6, and an ESS Maestro 3/Allegro chipset, which is supposed to offer both DOS mode SB emulation and AC97 support all in a relatively svelte 5 lb package (technically the Dell Inspiron 8100 has the same audio chip and a Geforce2Go or Radeon M7, but that machine uses the older i815EP which limits it to 512MB of RAM, while this one can do 1GB. The 8100 is also bulkier at 7 lbs - the Evo n6x0 series is arguably one of the last truly Compaq machines made before the HP accquisition - Thanks Carly Fiorina).

Of course, it's still just a Radeon M6 (no hardware T&L, and ATi is buggy in older DOS stuff), and the Maestro doesn't do FM synth so audio quality in DOS is...kinda questionable. Came with 128MB of RAM, a 20GB HDD, a DVD/CDRW drive and a dead battery (both primary and the ML1220 within). Oh well, some minor work needs to be done, should be able to use most of the configuration from the Dell Latitude C600 that I also have.

Cool! That i830MP chipset apparently is not very widely known ...

"2 Spindle"? What do you mean with that?

Oh yeah, the i830MP Almador-M mobile chipset. Intel killed the desktop version when they did the big push to P4+RAMBUS, but on the mobile end Rambus didn't have a solution (the P4m were also terrible, power consumption-wise), so Intel's arms are twisted to offer a Tualatin+PC133 solution. The mobile space never got a P4+RDRAM solution, and for the i845 P4 chipset they used DDR instead (which was arguably better). The Almador-M was found in quite a few machines (Thinkpad T23, X22-24, Compaq Evo n600c, Dell C610), but the deluge of P4m stole its spotlight - smart money held out for the Pentium-M, and comparatively few mainstream P4ms were sold. At similar clock speed the Tualatin+i830 were better machines than the Norwood P4+845MPs, but the Norwoods can be clocked much higher. In a way the Pentium-M Banias + i855PM was the better solution - P6 but with a 400MHz Netburst FSB, ICH4M southbridge with native USB2 support, and much more comprehensive speedstep support. It was so good some made it onto boutique SFF desktops.

Oh, the spindle thing? Back in the 2000s back when machines still have spinning drives, the number of spindles denote how many spinning drives it has, and hints at the size/bulk of the machine. For example, a Thinkpad X24/Vaio SR17/Dell D420 ultraportable will be considered a one-spindle. A mainstream Latitude C640/D600 or Thinkpad T22 will be a 2 spindle (one hard drive bay and one optical drive in the hot swappable bay), and a 3 spindle will be something with a bullt-in floppy, an HDD and an optical drive, like a Thinkpad A31p or Dell Inspiron 8100. Of course, a 2008 Dell E4200, a 2011 Samsung NP900 X3A or a 2013 MacBook Pro 13 will be a zero-spindle by that definition despite their rather substantial difference in size.

Reply 32597 of 34294, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
imi wrote on 2020-02-20, 19:16:

wait, I thought we're far apart x3
that reminds me, I forgot to take a picture of the EWS64S with digital extension ^^

hardware36_24.jpg

Such a beautiful card. If I had a GUS I'd definitely trade it away for an EWS64XL.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 32598 of 34294, by Turbo ->

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Got these three AT computers a few days ago. Already cleaned them a bit.

IMG_9254.JPG
Filename
IMG_9254.JPG
File size
285.46 KiB
Views
238 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

These components were inside:

IMG_9256.JPG
Filename
IMG_9256.JPG
File size
469.98 KiB
Views
238 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

ATC-1425B, but without CPU

IMG_9257.JPG
Filename
IMG_9257.JPG
File size
488.85 KiB
Views
238 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

And some socket 7 motherboards

IMG_9258.JPG
Filename
IMG_9258.JPG
File size
486.59 KiB
Views
238 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
IMG_9259.JPG
Filename
IMG_9259.JPG
File size
531.48 KiB
Views
238 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 32599 of 34294, by SpectriaForce

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Predator99 wrote on 2020-02-19, 10:30:

Dont think the other AGP cards are of interest? Maybe the one in the middle (GF7300GT).
IMG_8009r.jpg

Dual voltage AGP GF7 card? That's quite an unicorn!

RETROGAMEPC.COM