VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 36980 of 37019, by Aublak

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Thermalwrong wrote on 2020-11-20, 13:31:
Aublak wrote on 2020-11-20, 12:48:
Thermalwrong wrote on 2020-11-20, 12:21:

That's an incredible selection! Lucky find 😁
Be aware though, the M919 needs a specific cache module that says "FOR 486 M919 USE ONLY" on the back. There's also 2 versions of that cache module for 3.3v (M919-01S3) or 5v (M919-02S5) CPU / operation. So use it without L2 cache for now. Someone made a PCB for new cache sticks here. I found 2 of them in a junk lot of while back - and I've already got a known good one in my M919, so I should really put those 2 up for sale 😀

Thanks for the heads up.

Yeah I haven' been able to completely identify the module that I have. It fits in the slot, that's all I know.

With those 4 chips, that should be a 512KB pipeline burst COAST, nice for that socket 7 board.

I don't know how you identified it, but thanks.

Reply 36981 of 37019, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
brostenen wrote on 2020-11-20, 17:00:
wiretap wrote on 2020-11-20, 14:18:
brostenen wrote on 2020-11-20, 12:40:
Here you go sir... :-) :-) The Github page.... […]
Show full quote

Here you go sir... 😀 😀 The Github page....

EDIT:
I found this line of text on the page, that answers one of my questions that I have been wondering about.

Because the adapter board contains a configuration selector, the Amiga profile is already preselected and can be used directly.

Awesome, thank you. 😀

No problemo. I hope you enjoy the reading. 😀

Is the interposer PCB an opensource part, I can't seem to find schematics or a bill of materials anywhere?

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 36982 of 37019, by HanJammer

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Predator99 wrote on 2020-11-20, 21:20:
HanJammer wrote on 2020-11-20, 14:52:

Also this beautiful thing arrived in the mail today. It has Suntac motherboard, IIT 287 fpu and hercules compatible video adapter. HDD is missing, but that's not a problem. Monitor is the one I recovered from the trash pile some time ago...

Nice case, nice board! 😉 Are the ST62 ICs on a socket here?

Can you dump your BIOS please? This one is new to me...

Yes, I will, as usual. For now I have to store it at my work though, because I'm out of space at my apartment. I need to sell some things to make some space for new purchases. I will dump the EPROMS then.

cyclone3d wrote on 2020-11-20, 21:15:
HanJammer wrote on 2020-11-20, 19:16:

Just got a sweet deal on this thing (asked seller to lower the price very significantly, I didn't expected he will agree... but he did)... It seems fairly complete, but seller says it has some burnt electronic smell inside. Comes with SB Pro 2 and two ISA S3 801 cards. Seller's photos. More pics when it arrives.

That's a pretty cool setup. DUAL SBCs so you actually have 2 separate computers there. I wonder how it was set up to all work together.

Yes. I guess one is for visualisation (sound, graphics - although it's just instrument flying so graphics will be sparse if any) and the other one makes calculations and they communicate over the 10Base-2 link.

Check out my AmiBay and eBay for ISA and PCI card, 286/386/486 Pentium motherboards and more.

Reply 36983 of 37019, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
appiah4 wrote on 2020-11-20, 22:35:
brostenen wrote on 2020-11-20, 17:00:
wiretap wrote on 2020-11-20, 14:18:

Awesome, thank you. 😀

No problemo. I hope you enjoy the reading. 😀

Is the interposer PCB an opensource part, I can't seem to find schematics or a bill of materials anywhere?

It should be, as stated on the bottom of the mainpage. There are even a link to gerber files and so on.
However it does not look like there are a BOM list. I think you need to contact Rainhard (mail also on the page)

I have started a tread for the RGB-to-HDMI solution, under video here on Vogons. So we can help each other
with this solution. There are just something about it, that makes it look promising for video convertion.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 36984 of 37019, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
HanJammer wrote on 2020-11-20, 12:41:

This ultra-cute 386SX system, with cute 9" monitor and some additional stuff. Needs some repairs as the pins in the PSU socket are broken. Perhaps needs new PSU too. Shouldn't be too much of a problem. I bought it mostly for the ST351A/X XTA compatible HDD which seem to be hard to find nowadays.

Wow nice ! Yes that ST351A/X is a great find. Hope it works. They are one of the best - oldest IDE drives made.

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣 Second computer a 286 12Mhz with real IDE drive ! After that came 386, 486, Pentium, P.Pro and everything after....

Reply 36987 of 37019, by torpedo_

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

My first post here 😀

- Hitachi Visionbook Traveler 3745
- Hewlett Packard 9825B
- Hewlett Packard 9876A

Attachments

Reply 36988 of 37019, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

You should check out some of CuriousMarc's videos on youtube, he's been fixing up the clock modules for that HP 9876A computer 😀

Also, that Visionbook traveler - those things are so rare! There's Hitachi, Ricoh and IBM branded versions of that same laptop, the Chandra design/project. Yours has an MMX CPU so I guess it's a Chandra 2 like the IBM Thinkpad 235?
I've got a similar one, the Opti Talisman, which I think is an off-brand version. Nice laptop, though let down a bit by the Crystal audio chip.

Attachments

Reply 36989 of 37019, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Aublak wrote on 2020-11-20, 22:26:
Thermalwrong wrote on 2020-11-20, 13:31:
Aublak wrote on 2020-11-20, 12:48:

Thanks for the heads up.

Yeah I haven' been able to completely identify the module that I have. It fits in the slot, that's all I know.

With those 4 chips, that should be a 512KB pipeline burst COAST, nice for that socket 7 board.

I don't know how you identified it, but thanks.

I looked up the part numbers for the cache chips. I had to identify a whole box of 72 pin SIMMs to work out what size they were and whether they were EDO or FPM, so it's something I've done a bit of 😀
The cache chips in your picture are apparently 32k x 32 chips, and there's 4, so that's 4 megabits. Then convert bits > bytes and we have 512KB.

Reply 36990 of 37019, by ildonaldo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Today, I've finally got my CM Centurion 5 (Blue), that I intend to assemble with the (NOS) Aero Cool Modern V 😀
Had the very same back in 2008 in that combination and loved it, but sold it later on ... as usual 🙁

centurion5.jpg
Filename
centurion5.jpg
File size
92.65 KiB
Views
397 views
File comment
CM Centurion 5 (Blue)
File license
GPL-2.0-or-later

PC #1: AMD 486DX2-80/UMC 8881/16MB SIMM/S3 Trio64V+/1.44/1GB HDD/ODD/DOS+Win3.1
PC #2: Pentium 200MMX/SIS 5571/128MB SD/Millenium II+m3d/2.88+1.2 FDD/1GB HDD/ODD/Win95
PC #3: AthlonXP 3200+/nForce2-400/2GB-400 DDR1/9800Pro/ZIP 750/200GB HDD/ODD/WIN XP SP3

Reply 36991 of 37019, by torpedo_

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Thermalwrong wrote on 2020-11-21, 14:07:

You should check out some of CuriousMarc's videos on youtube, he's been fixing up the clock modules for that HP 9876A computer 😀

Also, that Visionbook traveler - those things are so rare! There's Hitachi, Ricoh and IBM branded versions of that same laptop, the Chandra design/project. Yours has an MMX CPU so I guess it's a Chandra 2 like the IBM Thinkpad 235?
I've got a similar one, the Opti Talisman, which I think is an off-brand version. Nice laptop, though let down a bit by the Crystal audio chip.

Thanks so much for sharing these links. Will check them.

To revive the Visionbook I'll have to find an adapter or battery first. This might be a problem even though a seller promised to find its original battery. But it's a great little notebook, so happy I was able to get it for cca $8.

Reply 36992 of 37019, by Robin4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
BetaC wrote on 2020-11-19, 01:38:

Today I spent an extreme amount on some hardware.
image0.jpg
An entire $5 for a bootable 133 PATA drive and SATA drive combo. Now I only need to figure out how to get it to boot off of PATA when something SATA is also attached.

Maybe the PATA is just a slave like controller. Primary it would just be a dual sata controller as master device.

~ At least it can do black and white~

Reply 36993 of 37019, by Robin4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Warlord wrote on 2020-11-19, 02:01:

I got this kinda cool card, I put it in my 486 and it instantly worked. It is like XTIDE except it's OG XTIDE from the 90s before XTIDE existed. Also it fixed y2k bug. It detected my 32gb CF and let me format 32gb. no compatibility issues with my VLB Adaptec IDE controller. It also cost me way less than XTIDE cards you fine on ebay.

Can you make a dump of that rom?

~ At least it can do black and white~

Reply 36994 of 37019, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
torpedo_ wrote on 2020-11-21, 20:29:
Thermalwrong wrote on 2020-11-21, 14:07:

You should check out some of CuriousMarc's videos on youtube, he's been fixing up the clock modules for that HP 9876A computer 😀

Also, that Visionbook traveler - those things are so rare! There's Hitachi, Ricoh and IBM branded versions of that same laptop, the Chandra design/project. Yours has an MMX CPU so I guess it's a Chandra 2 like the IBM Thinkpad 235?
I've got a similar one, the Opti Talisman, which I think is an off-brand version. Nice laptop, though let down a bit by the Crystal audio chip.

Thanks so much for sharing these links. Will check them.

To revive the Visionbook I'll have to find an adapter or battery first. This might be a problem even though a seller promised to find its original battery. But it's a great little notebook, so happy I was able to get it for cca $8.

nice find 😀 no one knows much about these particular laptops, I think information about them fell off of the internet over the years. The PSU is 15v center pin positive. Mine came with the PSU but I ran it off of an old IBM 16v charger and my bench psu at 15 volts. Lately, I've got enough laptops that I prefer using the bench PSU with jack adapters instead of digging out the PSU for each model.

The batteries, well the thinkpads.com Thinkpad 235 page lists these batteries as working with it:

Thinkpad 235 FOOTNOTES wrote:
  • This model's design is based off the RIOS Clavius, which was also used by the Magio, VisionBook Traveler, FLORA Prius note 210, and the Endeavor TK-300.
  • This model uses two camcorder battery packs in place of 18650 cells. Known working camcorder battery packs: Canon BP-911, Sony NP-F520/F530/F550, Hitachi VM-BPL13.

But mine has the VM-BPL13 type battery and I Think those are the correct ones for it. See this for a reference. My batteries are 1200mah and this one's 2000mah, tempting for an upgrade 😀

Reply 36995 of 37019, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Robin4 wrote on 2020-11-22, 00:58:
BetaC wrote on 2020-11-19, 01:38:

Today I spent an extreme amount on some hardware.
image0.jpg
An entire $5 for a bootable 133 PATA drive and SATA drive combo. Now I only need to figure out how to get it to boot off of PATA when something SATA is also attached.

Maybe the PATA is just a slave like controller. Primary it would just be a dual sata controller as master device.

That's probably it. It works without issue when no SATA is involved, though.

9zy51i-99.png
g32zpm-99.png
0zuv7q-6.png
5fh2yu-6.png

Reply 36996 of 37019, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Robin4 wrote on 2020-11-22, 01:01:
Warlord wrote on 2020-11-19, 02:01:

I got this kinda cool card, I put it in my 486 and it instantly worked. It is like XTIDE except it's OG XTIDE from the 90s before XTIDE existed. Also it fixed y2k bug. It detected my 32gb CF and let me format 32gb. no compatibility issues with my VLB Adaptec IDE controller. It also cost me way less than XTIDE cards you fine on ebay.

Can you make a dump of that rom?

Some day I'll post high res shots of both sides of the PCB, dump the rom and scan the manual. Then somone can clone it if they want. In its own thread. Just been busy.

Reply 36997 of 37019, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Warlord wrote on 2020-11-22, 03:06:
Robin4 wrote on 2020-11-22, 01:01:
Warlord wrote on 2020-11-19, 02:01:

I got this kinda cool card, I put it in my 486 and it instantly worked. It is like XTIDE except it's OG XTIDE from the 90s before XTIDE existed. Also it fixed y2k bug. It detected my 32gb CF and let me format 32gb. no compatibility issues with my VLB Adaptec IDE controller. It also cost me way less than XTIDE cards you fine on ebay.

HanJammer wrote on 2020-11-19, 15:29:

That's cool! Please dump the EPROM if you can.

Can you make a dump of that rom?

Some day I'll post high res shots of both sides of the PCB, dump the rom and scan the manual. Then somone can clone it if they want. In its own thread. Just been busy.

HanJammer wrote on 2020-11-19, 15:29:

That's cool! Please dump the EPROM if you can.

Great find ! Those are getting rare !
Yes Please do try to dump the BIOS ! I have the same DTC1181 card but diff rev with the added upper ROM but main bios EDPT10A.
From old research found the jumpers are:
W1: factory, not installed. Unknown
W2: factory Default 1-2. Unknown
W3: Factory 1-2 (if second ROM installed, 2-3 if not ??)
W4: 1-2 factory Default. Unknown
W5 - W6: bios address
C800: W5 2-3, W6 2-3
CC00: W5 2-3, W6 1-2
D800: W5 1-2, W6 2-3
DC00: W5 1-2, W6 1-2
I never did figure out how to save the bios since my psuedo TL866 would not read it..
Hope you have better luck or maybe someone here can point us to a alternative.

edit: getting to old for this 😁

Attachments

  • Dtc_1181_img_1383s.jpg
    Filename
    Dtc_1181_img_1383s.jpg
    File size
    520.76 KiB
    Views
    203 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣 Second computer a 286 12Mhz with real IDE drive ! After that came 386, 486, Pentium, P.Pro and everything after....

Reply 36998 of 37019, by Caluser2000

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Found these two things while having a bit of a clean up. Must have got them in the early '90s I guess.

Attachments

  • IMAG0037.JPG
    Filename
    IMAG0037.JPG
    File size
    269.79 KiB
    Views
    177 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

There's a glitch in the matrix.

Reply 36999 of 37019, by Predator99

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Horun wrote on 2020-11-22, 04:43:
Great find ! Those are getting rare ! Yes Please do try to dump the BIOS ! I have the same DTC1181 card but diff rev with the ad […]
Show full quote
Warlord wrote on 2020-11-22, 03:06:
Robin4 wrote on 2020-11-22, 01:01:

Can you make a dump of that rom?

Some day I'll post high res shots of both sides of the PCB, dump the rom and scan the manual. Then somone can clone it if they want. In its own thread. Just been busy.

HanJammer wrote on 2020-11-19, 15:29:

That's cool! Please dump the EPROM if you can.

Great find ! Those are getting rare !
Yes Please do try to dump the BIOS ! I have the same DTC1181 card but diff rev with the added upper ROM but main bios EDPT10A.
From old research found the jumpers are:
W1: factory, not installed. Unknown
W2: factory Default 1-2. Unknown
W3: Factory 1-2 (if second ROM installed, 2-3 if not ??)
W4: 1-2 factory Default. Unknown
W5 - W6: bios address
C800: W5 2-3, W6 2-3
CC00: W5 2-3, W6 1-2
D800: W5 1-2, W6 2-3
DC00: W5 1-2, W6 1-2
I never did figure out how to save the bios since my psuedo TL866 would not read it..
Hope you have better luck or maybe someone here can point us to a alternative.

edit: getting to old for this 😁

Interesting cards, would also be interested in a BIOS dump. You can read it without removing the ROM with NSSI. Or if it doesnt work it can also be done with debug.exe, please let me know if required.