Bought these (retro) hardware today

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-07 @ 07:33

Another box came today! It was another "bundle" purchase. I really just wanted that slot 1 board, but it came with some other bits and peaces as well...

Link to mainboard specs: http://www.gigabyte.com.au/products/pro ... 45&dl=1#sp

Will flash the bios right away and and see if the board works...

It also came with some PCI network cards but they aren't any use to me...

An S3 video card

Image

Soundblaster AWE64

Image

Unknown video card

Image

Geforce MX440

Image

3 Sticks of PC133 SDRAM

Image

Gigabyte GA-6BXC Slot 1 board

Image
Image
Image

Slot 1 Pentium III 550 MHz

Image
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-07 @ 08:34

Stuff works fine, but the FreeDOS CD doesn't pick up my optical drive. It boots fine but when it loads the driver it just says, no CD found. Well my floppy cable will be here soon, so I can try the W98SE boot disk and see if that CD Rom driver works!

Took some pics. Benchmarks are full speed and with L1 cache disabled...

It's so slow :-( Not sure what to do now... How do you guys emulate 386 performance on a Slot 1 system?

A 1.4 GHz P III seems ideal, but the boards that support this cpu don't have ISA slots. Or 1 if you are lucky...


Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby archsan » 2010-9-07 @ 12:16

Mau1wurf1977 wrote:
archsan wrote:btw, won this yesterday:



Did you pick it up? Because I saw such an item on eBay Germany the other day. I didn't bid, but I got another item. A midiman MM401 for 3 Euros :happyhappy:


still waiting for the invoice :s-face: i hope he doesn't forget it... plus i'm snatching another mpu-ipc-t box -- even without the card it can still be a backup (who knows i'd get another bare mpu-ipc/t card someday)

btw that midiman 401thing, is that fully Roland compatible (intelligent mode etc)? -- that's a steal!
User avatar
archsan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 985
Joined: 2009-6-28 @ 15:30

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-07 @ 12:20

Yes it is ;-)

And they are much cheaper. Midi Quest is another clone. They are also newer, so leass issues on faster machines. Basically like the Roland 401AT (that's the one for fast machines)
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby archsan » 2010-9-07 @ 13:22

i saw one too for 11+11 Eur, um, but maybe later... i shouldn't be shopping too much just now.

just glad there are other alternatives still lying around

:)
User avatar
archsan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 985
Joined: 2009-6-28 @ 15:30

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-07 @ 13:29

Tell me about it (the shouldn't be shopping too much :-D )
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mystery » 2010-9-07 @ 13:30

The unknown video card is a Riva TNT2 M64.
The M64 was a castrated TNT2 model with half the bandwidth (64bit).

It should be faster than a regular TNT, but that's about it. They produced it, to have a low cost entry card for the TNT2 series.
::42::
User avatar
Mystery
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: 2010-4-11 @ 06:49

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-07 @ 13:31

Ah TNT2! Good memories. I believe I played "Return to Castle Wolfenstein" on a friends machine in Australia...
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Tetrium » 2010-9-07 @ 16:24

Mystery wrote:The unknown video card is a Riva TNT2 M64.
The M64 was a castrated TNT2 model with half the bandwidth (64bit).

It should be faster than a regular TNT, but that's about it. They produced it, to have a low cost entry card for the TNT2 series.

This particular one is a 16MB one. There are also some 32MB versions around. I got a couple PCI ones. Pretty nice cards even though theres nothing special about them. They can be viewed kinda as if they would be a GF0-MX :P
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7609
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby archsan » 2010-9-07 @ 21:51

Mau1wurf1977 wrote:Tell me about it (the shouldn't be shopping too much :-D )


"Mau1wurf1977, thou shall not shop too much!"

But hey that's just me :happyhappy:
User avatar
archsan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 985
Joined: 2009-6-28 @ 15:30

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-08 @ 06:51

thou shall not shop too much!


Oh dear. More stuff arived :wink:

Also got my Phenom 555 so I can finally finish my desktop!
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby retro games 100 » 2010-9-08 @ 07:40

Mau1wurf1977 wrote:... Benchmarks are full speed and with L1 cache disabled...

It's so slow :-( Not sure what to do now... How do you guys emulate 386 performance on a Slot 1 system?

A 1.4 GHz P III seems ideal, but the boards that support this cpu don't have ISA slots. Or 1 if you are lucky...

I understand you want to achieve 386 performance by using a slot 1 machine, and I believe you think that a P3 1.4 Ghz CPU with L1 cache disabled may do this. You say that the boards which support this CPU don't have ISA slots, or 1 if you are lucky. Most i440BX boards I have tested (eg Asus, Gigabyte, MSI) have 3 ISA slots and work just fine with a P3 1.4 Ghz CPU. You need a Powerleap adapter to do this. Please note that I have not tested the speed of these machines with L1 disabled yet. I'd do it right now, but I'm out of town, and can't really do much at the moment.
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-08 @ 07:49

Oh wow that would be awesome!

My comment about lack of ISA ports was regarding S370 boards...

If there is a way to get a 1.4 GHz cpu to work in a Slot 1 machine, yea that would be awesome...

I do have a MSI adapter here, but I just couldn't get it to work... And my BX440 board is also quite unstable... Must be on its way out :-D
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Davros » 2010-9-08 @ 10:16

lba mode 4 is that pio mode 4 ?
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-08 @ 11:15

Davros wrote:lba mode 4 is that pio mode 4 ?


Yes it is!

The IDE > CF I got doesn't support UDMA and booting. I ordered 2 other models, but it might also be the cheap CF card...
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Malik » 2010-9-08 @ 16:46

1. I'm using a socket 370 motherboard : DFI CA61, which has 3 ISA slots.


Image



2. Celeron is not a good candidate for achieving the 386 speed by disabling the internal cache. (It's already a crippled cpu.)
User avatar
Malik
l33t
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: 2004-4-10 @ 14:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-08 @ 23:49

Now that's a nice board!

With L1 cache disabled, I found that it didn't matter if it's a P3 or a Celeron. Pure clock speed and ram speed / timings seem to matter most...
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-09 @ 09:38

Oh boy I haven't felt so young in years :D

Creative Labs Soundblaster 1.5

Image

+ Two "CMS (Creative Music System) upgrade chips

Image

= A Soundblaster card + Gameblaster / CMS all in one!

Image

Which in turn = RETRO HEAVEN

Image

I love how Gameblaster sounds. It is full Stereo and sounds more like 8 bit music than adlib FM synth. With headphones it's really quite amazing.

I also got two Soundblaster Pro 2.0 cards. These can't be upgraded to CMS, but they have OPL3 over OPL2 and they are less noisy than the mono Soundblaster cards. The mon cards sound really raw and historic, wheras the Pro 2.0s sound more refinded or even filtered... I will need to do a lot more listening, but currently I'm all over the place...

Image
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Amigaz » 2010-9-09 @ 10:45

I love how Gameblaster sounds. It is full Stereo and sounds more like 8 bit music than adlib FM synth. With headphones it's really quite amazing.

I also got two Soundblaster Pro 2.0 cards. These can't be upgraded to CMS, but they have OPL3 over OPL2 and they are less noisy than the mono Soundblaster cards. The mon cards sound really raw and historic, wheras the Pro 2.0s sound more refinded or even filtered... I will need to do a lot more listening, but currently I'm all over the place...

Image[/quote]

SB Pro 2.0 "CT1680"? never seen that model before and I thought I had collected all of this old Creative made crap :D

No MKE cd connnector seem to differ this model from the more "standard" CD1600 model...there's a model with Mitsumi CD-ROM interface also
Image

Image
User avatar
Amigaz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1696
Joined: 2007-3-03 @ 09:01
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-9-09 @ 10:55

Interesting... I was just happy to be able to get one. They are hard to find :-D

I did a quick google and found this on wikipedia:

Creative's domination of the PC audiocard business soon had them selling the Sound Blaster Pro 2 OEM, CT1680, to customers for integration into pre-assembled PCs.


Might be the last revision of Soundblaster Pro 2.0???

I found that they are also really hard to insert into the ISA slot. The AWE64 just slid in...
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AlaricD, Baoran, istellabot [Bot], shock__, zeratulbla and 8 guests