VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 26421 of 32159, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
BeginnerGuy wrote:
48208217_126479678261437_4658212686180384768_n.jpg

Sony Mavica FD-87. I actually bid on this solely because I needed the disks.. Got the camera, bag, two batteries, charger, manual, case of floppies, and a bunch of loose floppies (no dummy floppy with a memory card though!) all for $14 after shipping.

I actually have the Sony Mavic MVC-FD100. I paid about $20 too. Came in a camera bag with all accessories and 128mb. Sony Memory stick.
I want to try it out but I need to purchase a Sony memory stick reader first. Looks hardly used. Came with a box of HD floppy disk too.

Reply 26422 of 32159, by BeginnerGuy

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Intel486dx33 wrote:

I actually have the Sony Mavic MVC-FD100. I paid about $20 too. Came in a camera bag with all accessories and 128mb. Sony Memory stick.
I want to try it out but I need to purchase a Sony memory stick reader first. Looks hardly used. Came with a box of HD floppy disk too.

Ah, my camera says it's ready for those but it takes the dummy floppy with a memory stick. I'm glad it just takes 1.44mb floppies, each disk can hold close to 40 shots at 640x480 so plenty for me.

As for the board I would definitely get rid of that battery, it may still need cleaning underneath it. If you're not up to figuring out how to install a cr2032 socket in its place, that board should also have an external battery header so you can just buy one to plug in. I think Tadiran is a brand that makes those in 3.6V

Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?

Reply 26423 of 32159, by canthearu

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
wiretap wrote:
Intel486dx33 wrote:
wiretap wrote:

The barrel batteries can randomly explode too, without any signs of leaking. I have a ton of those batteries in VME cards at work, and we have a 5 year PM to replace the batteries, and a 18mo PM to inspect them. We've had a few blow up over the years and cause damage to boards.

I think the motherboard was manufactured in 1994 or 95.
You don't think the battery is any good anymore ?

No, conservative replacement is every 5 years to prevent damage per EPRI standards.

I'd cut the battery off and use an external pack anyway. These sorts of batteries can leak anytime, particularly when left in storage and unused for long periods of time. With an external pack, as long as you place it sensibly, at worse you would need to replace the battery pack even if the batteries in it do leak.

Even better, if you are not using it for a long time, document the CMOS settings and remove the battery altogether.

Reply 26424 of 32159, by Xicor

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

A couple of weeks ago scored this bounty...

raid_01.jpg
Filename
raid_01.jpg
File size
1.64 MiB
Views
819 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Better yet a Schneider EuroPC ..... Infamous for leaky batteries .....

raid_02.jpg
Filename
raid_02.jpg
File size
1.6 MiB
Views
819 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Next week I'll check more retro/vintage computer parts with the seller .... Maybe there is more to come. 😉

By the way, the Schneider is is giving me a hell of a fight ....

spill.jpg
Filename
spill.jpg
File size
1.53 MiB
Views
819 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 26425 of 32159, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I found a 486 laptop with a soundcard 😁

20181210_224659 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20181210_224659 (Custom).jpg
File size
525.42 KiB
Views
778 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

The "FMA9500" - I've actually had this a few days now and have been trying to get a few parts working, replaced its dead CMOS battery and reconfigured the hard drive. Surprisingly the hard drive still works, though sadly the floppy drive is broken, but it's got Win95 installed and I can use the PCMCIA slot with a compact flash card to move files around.

Specs:
Soldered Cyrix (ST branded) DX2-66 which is cooled with a heatspreader
Around 9000 dip-switches for cpu configuration that I don't dare to touch
Seemingly no L2 cache, but Cachechk says there might be 512KB? I don't understand why there are 3 SOJ memory chips

20MB ram (4MB soldered, 16MB card)

IMG_9888 (Custom).jpeg
Filename
IMG_9888 (Custom).jpeg
File size
561.39 KiB
Views
778 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

2GB hard drive split into 2 partitions - given that this is the only way I can boot the PC, I absolutely need to back this up. Thankfully the BIOS supports LBA so I can use some old 6GB drive to replace it? It won't boot from my CF cards, but again without floppy boot, I can't format it in the PC, so the boot sector might be in a different place than the drive expects?

IMG_9885 (Custom).jpeg
Filename
IMG_9885 (Custom).jpeg
File size
726.32 KiB
Views
778 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Cirrus logic CL-GD624X graphics with 512KB of video memory
640x480 Monochrome LCD
Broken integrated PS/2 trackpoint mouse pointer - so I'm stuck using the serial mouse again
Broken floppy drive - a Mitsumi D359F2, which was belt driven and has the connector on the opposite side from all other laptop floppy drives I have
ESS 1488F audio

Windows 95 in mono is an interesting experience 😀
Also I'm very surprised I remembered my winzip registration code, it's been a while since I last entered that...

20181210_223404 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20181210_223404 (Custom).jpg
File size
911.61 KiB
Views
778 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 26426 of 32159, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
appiah4 wrote:
appiah4 wrote:

This lot was on sale for less than $5 so I grabbed it. Appears to be an Elpina M537D (VX_Pro+) V5.2 (how much memory can the VXPro+ i.e. VIA VPX cache?). The motherboard is sold as not working, which is not surprising as it is missing two caps market purple, and one component seems to be partially torn off (marked red). Can anyone tell me what the red marked component is called, how I can determine its rating and whether it can be fixed or replaced?

VXPRO+.jpg

The soundcard is a chipset I didn't have before (Zoltrix Audio Plus 6400 3D PnP V.5 AV310 - I already have the AV309 version with CS4232, but this one appears to be the AV310 version with CMI8330)

The guy threw in a PCI Trio64V+ and I caved in and bought the lot, it will be worth it for the sound and video card alone; I will repair and restore the M537D too.. VXPro+ is apparently a VIA VPX, not a bad chipset. It only has half the max cache (1MB of 2MB) apparently and the rest is fake, but I can live with it.

Seeing as this board can actually cache more than 64MB with 1MB L2, would it be a good board to run K6-2 etc. on? Appears to go as low as 2.5V on voltage, which should be safe-ish for a 2.2V K6-2? Or is a move from TX and 64MB to a VPX and 128MB not worth it?

Well, this lot arrived today and everything in it is damaged (except the RAM, which I should probably check).

The sound card lacks its joystick port and ribbon cable (not a big deal) and the S3 is a Trio64 has a torn off electrolytic capacitor near the RAM at C21 (could someone please verify that this should be 10uF 16V?)

The motherboard has some missing caps and a choke coil inductor is broken. Capacitors are easy to replace but I'm having trouble sourcing a choke coil inductor to replace it, is there a more common contemporary part I can replace it with?

A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719
i586:P133|32M|T64V+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/500|256M|i740|V2/SLI|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X800XTPE|SB0350

Reply 26427 of 32159, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Thermalwrong wrote:
I found a 486 laptop with a soundcard :D […]
Show full quote

I found a 486 laptop with a soundcard 😁

20181210_224659 (Custom).jpg

The "FMA9500" - I've actually had this a few days now and have been trying to get a few parts working, replaced its dead CMOS battery and reconfigured the hard drive. Surprisingly the hard drive still works, though sadly the floppy drive is broken, but it's got Win95 installed and I can use the PCMCIA slot with a compact flash card to move files around.

Specs:
Soldered Cyrix (ST branded) DX2-66 which is cooled with a heatspreader
Around 9000 dip-switches for cpu configuration that I don't dare to touch
Seemingly no L2 cache, but Cachechk says there might be 512KB? I don't understand why there are 3 SOJ memory chips

20MB ram (4MB soldered, 16MB card)

IMG_9888 (Custom).jpeg

2GB hard drive split into 2 partitions - given that this is the only way I can boot the PC, I absolutely need to back this up. Thankfully the BIOS supports LBA so I can use some old 6GB drive to replace it? It won't boot from my CF cards, but again without floppy boot, I can't format it in the PC, so the boot sector might be in a different place than the drive expects?

IMG_9885 (Custom).jpeg

Cirrus logic CL-GD624X graphics with 512KB of video memory
640x480 Monochrome LCD
Broken integrated PS/2 trackpoint mouse pointer - so I'm stuck using the serial mouse again
Broken floppy drive - a Mitsumi D359F2, which was belt driven and has the connector on the opposite side from all other laptop floppy drives I have
ESS 1488F audio

Windows 95 in mono is an interesting experience 😀
Also I'm very surprised I remembered my winzip registration code, it's been a while since I last entered that...

20181210_223404 (Custom).jpg

It's interesting that your 486 laptop has integrated sound. You can create and format a hard drive using a desktop computer using the 2.5" IDE to 3.5" IDE adapter easily. I have that particular adapter and I'm going to use that to image my 20GB HDD from my IBM and clone to a bigger hard drive (64GB mSATA SSD using an mSATA to IDE adapter preferred), as well as my Windows 98SE laptop, and my 2 Dell Inspiron 600m laptop hard drives (one is smooth, whereas the other one isn't working yet again, however, it did work after I remapped the bad sectors/DBAN).

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 26428 of 32159, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Some recent AGP buys

Radeon 8500 & AIW 8500DV

agpcards1.jpg
Filename
agpcards1.jpg
File size
909.12 KiB
Views
731 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

V9520Magic/T (FX5200) & i740

agpcards2.jpg
Filename
agpcards2.jpg
File size
481.88 KiB
Views
731 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

2 x Ti4200 (same cards with different sinks) & GF4 MX-460

agpcards3.jpg
Filename
agpcards3.jpg
File size
714.96 KiB
Views
731 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Vivid! XS (KYRO II) & Apocalypse 3Dx

agpcards4.jpg
Filename
agpcards4.jpg
File size
836.12 KiB
Views
731 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 26429 of 32159, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

That's a pretty big selection - the Radeon 8500s seem to be pretty rare these days. I don't think I've seen an Intel i740 with heatsinks like that before as well.

I got some more silly hardware 😀 Today's thing is an Advantech 6145 SBC which I bought because it was being sold for a surprisingly low price. It's a socket 3 with EDO support, PS/2 mouse support and the bios can boot from an LS120 😁

20181211_235026 (Custom).jpg
Filename
20181211_235026 (Custom).jpg
File size
915.11 KiB
Views
583 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

I'm wondering how I would connect an ISA card to it, the PC104 interface is costly enough that I don't want to bother with it. I've got an LPX ISA riser card so I guess I shall try that, but I'm wondering if I might try soldering an ISA port directly to the ISA connector on there, of course all I want to plug into it is a soundcard so just the one connector is fine.

20181211_235246 (Small).jpg
Filename
20181211_235246 (Small).jpg
File size
38.19 KiB
Views
583 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 26430 of 32159, by xjas

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Thermalwrong wrote:

Also I'm very surprised I remembered my winzip registration code, it's been a while since I last entered that...

Can we just go back to the part where somebody registered WinZip??

selected builds & megathreads { Quick & Clean | Like a Hipster | Only One 'T' | In a Lunchbox | IT IS THE NINETIES }

Reply 26431 of 32159, by schlang

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

so what, I bought WinRAR too

PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532

Reply 26432 of 32159, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
xjas wrote:
Thermalwrong wrote:

Also I'm very surprised I remembered my winzip registration code, it's been a while since I last entered that...

Can we just go back to the part where somebody registered WinZip??

That made me chuckle. Although, I do need to register WinImage. I am legally using the freeware version, but what an amazing and useful tool. Worth supporting.

Reply 26434 of 32159, by keropi

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I also have bought winrar been registered for a very long time :p
About a decade ago I asked them if it was possible to register the DOS version as well but they replied they can't make codes for it anymore... 🤣

cT89QGt.gif Amstrad PC7486SLC-33 wanted , click me for AmiBay ad!

Reply 26435 of 32159, by tayyare

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
liqmat wrote:
xjas wrote:
Thermalwrong wrote:

Also I'm very surprised I remembered my winzip registration code, it's been a while since I last entered that...

Can we just go back to the part where somebody registered WinZip??

That made me chuckle. Although, I do need to register WinImage. I am legally using the freeware version, but what an amazing and useful tool. Worth supporting.

My Winzip, WinRAR, WinImage and even Deamontools are all registered. 😊 Actually I have hard original media for WinRAR and Winzip (much older versions) 🤣

GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI
SB AWE64 PNP+32MB
120GB IDE Samsung/80GB IDE Seagate/146GB SCSI Compaq/73GB SCSI IBM
Adaptec AHA29160
3com 3C905B-TX
Gotek+CF Reader
MSDOS 6.22+Win 3.11/95 OSR2.1/98SE/ME/2000

Reply 26436 of 32159, by Katmai500

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

After missing out a few times over the last year I finally snagged a GeForce 256 for a reasonable price. I made an offer and the seller accepted! 😎 The fan is a little noisy, but should be fine after a cleaning and lubrication. Most importantly, the card works. 😀 It wasn't listed as tested so I took a bit of a gamble. Too bad it doesn't have the DVI port.

CT6960.jpg
Filename
CT6960.jpg
File size
348.92 KiB
Views
403 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
CT6960_test.jpg
Filename
CT6960_test.jpg
File size
67.54 KiB
Views
403 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 26437 of 32159, by wiretap

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Katmai500 wrote:

... finally snagged a GeForce 256 for a reasonable price.... The fan is a little noisy, but should be fine after a cleaning and lubrication.

Replacement fan, if that doesn't work. I bought one of these for my GeForce256 and it is an exact fit.
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 1824774016

Need help soldering/repairing? --> IPC 7711B/7721B Circuit Board Repair Manuals - Step by Step!

PIC Based Turbo Display Project

Reply 26438 of 32159, by Thallanor

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
xjas wrote:

Can we just go back to the part where somebody registered WinZip??

My first full-time gig as IT Manager, many, many years ago, we registered WinZip for around 40 licenses to cover all of our PCs because we used it, and when WinRAR became our defacto standard, we registered it too for about the same number of licenses. 😀 This would have amounted to an infinite per cent increase for the companies over their previous years. 😀

Reply 26439 of 32159, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Thermalwrong wrote:

That's a pretty big selection - the Radeon 8500s seem to be pretty rare these days. I don't think I've seen an Intel i740 with heatsinks like that before as well.

Yeah, quite a few of those cards have aftermarket sinks - definitely the i740 ram ones and I suspect the gpu as well, and on the two Ti4200 I think only the silver Inno3D gpu sink is original. Here's another one I just got unpacked, a GF2 MX200 - think I'll call it 'Blue Overkill' 🤣

agpcards5.jpg
Filename
agpcards5.jpg
File size
908.05 KiB
Views
323 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception