Bought these (retro) hardware today

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby appiah4 » 2019-3-13 @ 14:17

arncht wrote:i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.


You don't need dual displays? I use a Dell P2414H, three inputs, one is VGA, I can switch between them via keyboard shortcuts :)
1989:A500|1M|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|U5SX-33|8M|GD5428|CT2290|S2
1995:P5I430VX|P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|RagePro|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|PIII-1200|512M|GF3Ti200|MX300
2004:K8VD|3700+|2G|X1950P|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 3018
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby arncht » 2019-3-13 @ 14:48

i dont want a compromise at the modern display - actually i use a 34" 21:9 montor, the latest displays dont support the analog inputs anymore. until now, i used a dell 2007fp for the retro, but i need the place for my studio speakers.

if i have even more place later, i want a dedicated desk with a crt to my retro pcs.
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Muppets4 » 2019-3-13 @ 16:26

Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:
20190313_170909 (Custom).jpg

20190313_170915 (Custom).jpg

20190313_170924 (Custom).jpg

20190313_171144 (Custom).jpg


From the same seller I bought an unused Voodoo 2 and a used AWE32 CT3990 with RAM.
20190313_171600 (Custom).jpg
Last edited by Muppets4 on 2019-3-13 @ 16:28, edited 1 time in total.
Muppets4
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2017-12-06 @ 22:29
Location: Reeuwijk, The Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Muppets4 » 2019-3-13 @ 16:27

20190313_171628 (Custom).jpg


due to the 5 photo limit (:
Muppets4
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2017-12-06 @ 22:29
Location: Reeuwijk, The Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby schlang » 2019-3-13 @ 16:37

arncht wrote:i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.


just use a KVM
PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532
User avatar
schlang
Oldbie
 
Posts: 548
Joined: 2009-1-05 @ 04:57
Location: Medellín, Colombia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby dionb » 2019-3-13 @ 16:37

Muppets4 wrote:Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:

You still haven't. This is a GVC-FR500 Socket 7 board with SiS 5598 chipset, used in some very low-end Packard Bell systems in late 1998.
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Muppets4 » 2019-3-13 @ 17:00

dionb wrote:
Muppets4 wrote:Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:

You still haven't. This is a GVC-FR500 Socket 7 board with SiS 5598 chipset, used in some very low-end Packard Bell systems in late 1998.


LOL
Muppets4
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2017-12-06 @ 22:29
Location: Reeuwijk, The Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby arncht » 2019-3-13 @ 17:33

schlang wrote:
arncht wrote:i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.


just use a KVM


which kvm has a decent ad converter?
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-3-13 @ 18:03

Muppets4 wrote:Arrived today. A special motherboard, at least that seems so to me. On it a Cyrix MII 300 CPU. Special to me because I have never seen a socket 370 motherboard with EDO ram. Nice with ISA slots. Maybe this will be the base of my new favorite DOS/Win98 system (:

From the same seller I bought an unused Voodoo 2 and a used AWE32 CT3990 with RAM.
20190313_171600 (Custom).jpg


Interesting. The seller where you have bought these from bought these items together with other parts from another seller on Marktplaats earlier this week, who sold everything within a couple hours. Lol I keep track of everything :blush:
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Member
 
Posts: 346
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby schlang » 2019-3-13 @ 18:10

arncht wrote:
schlang wrote:
arncht wrote:i dont want two displays - i am curious, how big is the lag, if i loop my retropcs to the capturecard.


just use a KVM


which kvm has a decent ad converter?


I'm using this combination for over 10 years now:
- ATEN VC-160 VGA-DVI converter
- DIGITUS IC-814 ID (4x DVI + PS2 Keyboard + PS2 Mouse)
PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532
User avatar
schlang
Oldbie
 
Posts: 548
Joined: 2009-1-05 @ 04:57
Location: Medellín, Colombia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-3-13 @ 18:18

retardware wrote:We all know that processors are different, even on the same die.
Due to the inevitable variations there are different qualities.
Specimens that are good, draw little current (or in other words, leak energy) and switch faster than others.

For this reason we know that there of the same processor type there are more or less numerous variations in (optimum) voltage and clock limit.

However on GPUs there is no such "individual treatment".
But how do the GPU manufacturers deal with the inevitably varying qualities of the production output?

So my suspicion is that good chips that do not run hot (compared to the majority) are being used for passive cards,
and the best ones, those which in addition can serve at high clock, go to the premium cards,
Finally, on the other end of the quality spectrum, the worst chips (slow, developing much heat) go to cheap cards with massive fan coolers.

This is my personal speculation.
So I suspect that possibly this "NOS stock" actually might be some old returns leftover that got rediscovered and sold for a very low price to get rid of it quickly.


The card manufacturer probably knows these GPU quality differences because it is reflected in the prices of the GPU (and I assume that they test their cards to the extremes before final designs are shipped to retailers). You see that nowadays too with NVIDIA RTX20xx cards; some versions come overclocked from the card manufacturer while others don't. Obviously the overclocked cards have a better GPU. Those cards perform better in tests.

In addition there are Ti4600 cards with all high quality components and lower quality cards. Asus equipped their Ti4600 with premium Japanese electrolytic capacitors, while manufacturers like Leadtek tried to save on costs and chose for lower quality Taiwanese capacitors.
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Member
 
Posts: 346
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-3-13 @ 18:25

God Of Gaming wrote:Why are they dying so much? I have a Quadro equivalent of the Ti4600, with the small stock heatsink, and it doesnt seem to run particularly hot under load, so its not because of heat issues, is it?


Quadro cards are corporate grade versions; i.e. they have better components compared to most consumer Ti4600 cards.
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Member
 
Posts: 346
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby arncht » 2019-3-13 @ 18:35

schlang wrote:
arncht wrote:
schlang wrote:
just use a KVM


which kvm has a decent ad converter?


I'm using this combination for over 10 years now:
- ATEN VC-160 VGA-DVI converter
- DIGITUS IC-814 ID (4x DVI + PS2 Keyboard + PS2 Mouse)


but this is not a kvm-only solution, you need a scaler. this is my scaler now.
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby twilliamc » 2019-3-13 @ 18:37

GigAHerZ wrote:
twilliamc wrote:It's output does not look very sharp on the CRT and it goes dim sometimes when the XT attempts to seek the floppy disk.


Replace/fix the power supply! The voltages are probably way off, especially, when on load of floppy drive...


I will carefully open it and see what I am working with. What are your thoughts on replacing it with an ATX PSU with the converter kit that includes -5v? Assuming my system requires the -5v.
Vendex Turbo-888-XT: 8088, 640K, 360k 5.25FDDx2
Vendex Headstart III: 80286 @ 8/12MHz, 1MB RAM, XT-IDE 2GB CF SDD, 1MB VGA, DOS/HOT/Win 3.0
Plastidip Monster: 486DX4 @ 120MHz, 16MB, 2GB, 2MB VGA, SBPro 2.0, DOS/W3.11, W95
User avatar
twilliamc
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2018-4-13 @ 13:50

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby schlang » 2019-3-13 @ 18:52

arncht wrote:but this is not a kvm-only solution, you need a scaler. this is my scaler now.


not sure what answer do you expect. VGA KVM will always have an impact on quality no matter what
PC#1: K6-III+ 400 | 512MB | Geforce4 | Voodoo1 | SB Live | AWE64 | GUS PNP Pro
PC#2: 486DX2-66 | 64MB | Riva128 | AWE64 | GUS PNP | PAS16
PC#3: 386DX-40 | 32MB | CL-GD5434 | SB Pro | GUS MAX | PAS16

Think you know your games music? Show us: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=37532
User avatar
schlang
Oldbie
 
Posts: 548
Joined: 2009-1-05 @ 04:57
Location: Medellín, Colombia

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2019-3-13 @ 19:02

I just walked into a Radioshack in a small nearby town and found out it had been in business since 1981 so they still had some new old stock Tandy accessories! The only thing I grabbed today was a brand new 256K Tandy memory upgrade kit for a whopping $4.50. It's just a pack of eight 256kbit memory chips in a tube in a little cardboard case with a Tandy sticker on it. Sadly, the rest of their old Tandy stuff consists of dust covers, a keyboard extention cable, and stuff like that. Still neat though! The Shack in my town closed a couple years ago (I bought a few thousand dollars worth of stuff at 95% off... cost me a little over a hundred dollars) so I guess this one is the last one within 100 miles of here. When I saw the old packages I got really hopeful that he'd have other NOS Tandy stuff packed away, but he said that computer equipment never did well there so they didn't have much. Too bad!
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby dionb » 2019-3-13 @ 22:36

Nothing big here lately as I'm still struggling to process the last car-load I picked up almost a month ago. But little things can be fun too:

Image

Anticlockwise:
4x 16MB 30p SIMM
2x 128MB 72p SIMM
Pentium 266MMX (Tillamook)

Eh, and then I messed up. I've had lots of luck buying badly described or photographed stuff in the past, but here it ran out...
I hoped that Weitek chip would be a 4167, but instead it's a 31172A, i.e. a Sparc FPU that would have been great in a Sun SparcStation IPC, but isn't going to do any good in a 486 motherboard.
Similarly, I thought I read CX-83S87 on the Cyrix FasMath (which in retrospect is stupid, as it's the wrong form factor), instead it's a respectable CX-83D87-33-GP, which I of course don't have a board for at the moment.

Oh well, pretty ceramic squares nonetheless ;)
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby wirerogue » 2019-3-14 @ 04:24

wiretap wrote:
wirerogue wrote:pny geforce4 ti4600

ebay seller had 31 of them and they all sold in less than 24 hours at $30 + $5 shipping

pny.geforce.ebay.jpg

mine arrived today. looks brand new. haven't tested it out yet.

geforce4.jpg

did anyone else here get one?

I did. Completely corrupted.. wouldn't make it past the POST screen without causing the system to hang. Already returned for a refund.

same here. totally doa. i didn't even get any pretty colors. :(

fortunately, the geforce3 i got last week works perfectly.

the funny thing about the geforce3, it had been listed on ebay since last year but, nowhere in the listing did it say geforce3.

i was on anandtech checking out geforce3 cards and one of them he reviewed was the msi starforce822.

quick search on ebay and there it was for $18 plus $18 shipping.
User avatar
wirerogue
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2019-2-24 @ 01:24
Location: Southern California

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby brostenen » 2019-3-14 @ 09:19

Recieved these two things in the mail today. An SD-to-CF card adaptor. And a new CPU relocator for the Amiga500 Terrible Fire 530 accelerator. The thing that makes the relocator a bit interresting, is that it have been specially modified to accomodate a kickstart switcher that are tall. In other words, more room around the kickstart socket.

Recieved-Today.jpg
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5047
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby arncht » 2019-3-14 @ 10:01

schlang wrote:
arncht wrote:but this is not a kvm-only solution, you need a scaler. this is my scaler now.


not sure what answer do you expect. VGA KVM will always have an impact on quality no matter what


I know exactly, what i want - the capture card or the ossc will be the best solution actually.
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BLEXBot [Bot], chrismeyer6, Cyrix200+, Google [Bot], rasz_pl and 7 guests