Bought these (retro) hardware today

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-7-12 @ 11:29

Intel486dx33 wrote:
luckybob wrote:Finally found an IBM 365 for a half-way reasonable price.

ebay seller images:
Image
Image
Image
Image

I'll know in 7-17 days if the door survives the trip around the world.


I have a couple IBM 350 desktops.
I really like these newer NON proprietary IBM computers like the Aptiva too.
The older IBM PS/2’s are too proprietary hardware. Hard to find and expensive to own.
The Sound cards are ridiculously priced and rare.

I really like the clean and simple look of these IBM computers with the bay door closed.
When the plastic is white and not yellowed they look really nice.
It looks like proprietary hurt IBM like it hurt Apple.


The 1996-1997 models are the best. The earlier 1994-1996 3xx and 7xx series have the fragile plastic enclosure.
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Oldbie
 
Posts: 580
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby wirerogue » 2019-7-12 @ 15:03

found this beauty on offerup.
came with a build inside. mostly junk though. only wanted the case anyways.
the case cleaned up nicely and is built like a tank.
ANTEC SX835II
Antec.SX835II.jpg
Image
User avatar
wirerogue
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2019-2-24 @ 01:24
Location: Southern California

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby imi » 2019-7-12 @ 16:26

got this for 1€ off ebay... (and paid 29€ for shipping :dead:)
hardware06.jpg

it's missing a power switch which I presume was attached to the PSU that got removed, but I should have a nice fitting red lever switch laying around somewhere.
probably going to house my first PC (It was an ARC 386s, unfortunately the motherboard and the MFM drive are the only pieces I have left, and the original case is going to be pretty much impossible to find)

also got this nice beige 21" 1600x1200 4:3 tft
hardware07.jpg
User avatar
imi
Member
 
Posts: 239
Joined: 2019-6-16 @ 13:46
Location: europe

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Xicor » 2019-7-12 @ 18:32

yawetaG wrote:I hope you have one of the accompanying Yamaha MIDI keyboards, because they won't work with a normal MIDI keyboard:

https://www.msx.org/wiki/Yamaha_SFG-01


The YK-20 full-sized keyboard. Not much more than a matrix of switches, but has an awesome look.

Yk20_small.jpg
User avatar
Xicor
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2014-10-02 @ 11:58
Location: Faro, Portugal

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Xicor » 2019-7-12 @ 18:38

imi wrote:got this for 1€ off ebay... (and paid 29€ for shipping :dead:)
hardware06.jpg

it's missing a power switch which I presume was attached to the PSU that got removed, but I should have a nice fitting red lever switch laying around somewhere.
probably going to house my first PC (It was an ARC 386s, unfortunately the motherboard and the MFM drive are the only pieces I have left, and the original case is going to be pretty much impossible to find)

also got this nice beige 21" 1600x1200 4:3 tft
hardware07.jpg


That is a gorgeous case, congrats !!!
User avatar
Xicor
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2014-10-02 @ 11:58
Location: Faro, Portugal

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby imi » 2019-7-12 @ 22:18

thanks, I almost did get a second one almost exactly like it (same case, but folding legs instead of the pedestal), it was a whole system though and I got outbid in the end unfortunately.
User avatar
imi
Member
 
Posts: 239
Joined: 2019-6-16 @ 13:46
Location: europe

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby jheronimus » 2019-7-12 @ 22:43

So, today was a pretty magical day. One of the Moscow's largest PC collectors hosted a meetup in Yandex's headquarters, so I've decided to attend. There was also a small museum of Soviet computers and various PCs and other machines, so I played around with everything I could get my hands on. Feeling inspired, I've decided to get a big haul of computers that was not far from my home. This is what I've got:

Image

So, it's a Compaq Presario 460 and Compaq Prolinea Net 1/33S. They are 486 all-in-ones, pretty limited, but I love these machines. Used to have a 425, but sold it and now I feel that I need them once again. I haven't tested them yet, they are still drying after the initial wash-up (they've been kept in a very dirty basement).

The most important thing is on the right, actually. It's a Mac Quadra 630 in pretty bad condition, and I grabbed it just because I could. I've never had a retro Mac, wasn't interested in them, and I've thought that I would swap this machine with someone. However, when I've opened it, I got a huge surprise:

Image

It's a DOS-compatible Quadra. It has two CPUs, a 33 MHz Motorola without FPU for running Mac OS and a DX2-66 for running DOS. This is honestly the only kind of a retro Mac I've ever been interested in. I feel really lucky.

Image

This machine actually has a Vibra chip with true OPL3, so DOS should have sound! I wonder if the Mac part has a separate sound chip. There are a couple of Mac games I'm actually interested to run, namely Super Wing Commander. Hope the 33 MHz CPU will be enough for that.

Soooo, guess I'll have to find an ADB mouse, a keyboard and a DB15 to VGA adapter, because I definitely want to play with this Mac.

Update: everything works!

Image

I've also plugged a power supply in the Mac, heard the famous Mac startup chime and disks spinning, so I guess I can proceed with restoring this machine. This will probably be a long but interesting project.
Last edited by jheronimus on 2019-7-13 @ 11:10, edited 1 time in total.
Pentium III 800, 512 MB RAM, Voodoo 5 5500 AGP, SB Live 5.1 Platinum, SB AWE32 CT3990, Gravis Ultrasound Max rev 2.1
User avatar
jheronimus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1008
Joined: 2015-12-10 @ 00:09
Location: Moscow

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Predator99 » 2019-7-13 @ 10:13

imi wrote:got this for 1€ off ebay... (and paid 29€ for shipping :dead:)

it's missing a power switch which I presume was attached to the PSU that got removed, but I should have a nice fitting red lever switch laying around somewhere.
probably going to house my first PC (It was an ARC 386s, unfortunately the motherboard and the MFM drive are the only pieces I have left, and the original case is going to be pretty much impossible to find)



Where are you located? I am searching for my 1St PC and it was a 286 Desktop branded "Random Computers". I assume its a German Company?
Predator99
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby imi » 2019-7-13 @ 10:55

I bought it from germany, yes, so maybe, the other near identical case was branded "e&s" so I guess it's just a generic case that was used by different system builders.

I'm going to keep the case badge on cause I find the name amusing ^^
User avatar
imi
Member
 
Posts: 239
Joined: 2019-6-16 @ 13:46
Location: europe

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Predator99 » 2019-7-13 @ 11:00

Yes I also think they used generic cases. I can post some pictures of cases I have seen from that label so far tomorrow. Unfortunately I missed that 1 EUR offer at Ebay...congratulations :cool:
Predator99
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: 2016-12-28 @ 19:09

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby wiretap » 2019-7-13 @ 15:44

Between retro and modern at around 13 years old. It arrived... just in time for my AMD FX-60 + Crossfire X1950XTX build.

Image
User avatar
wiretap
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 08:26
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby assasincz » 2019-7-13 @ 17:57

Bought these in one package this week at a local online auction for some 7.5 USD. Decent deal, all working fine although a bit dusty. The Mobo's baterry is dead. It all seems to come from a single computer

MB - PCCHIPS M571
CPU - AMD K6-2 333 MHz - AMD-K6-2/333AFR
RAM - 32MB (2MBx8 SDRAM) and64MB 133Mhz SDRAM
HDD ST34313A
USB Edimax EU-CV4N PCI
SOUND ESS AudioDrive 230X-3 ES1868F
VGA S3 VIRGE 86C325 4MB PCI

20190713_195250.jpg

20190713_195421.jpg
assasincz
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2019-1-30 @ 15:05

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Bige4u » 2019-7-14 @ 00:24

Asus CUV4X-D... the pdf manual doesnt say anything about tualatin cpus, specifically up to 1400S, but figure i'd give it a go since i saw a person on YT put together a system with them both detected and working just fine using XP, if it works for me with just the one 1400S i have already, then i'll have to get another.

I'll be using this strickly with WINXP and only going to install 3gb(3x1gb) out of the 4gb(4x1gb) thats supported. As for a proper power supply, i've already got that covered, i've had since new, an enermax 550w v1.2 with 36a on the +5v rail that has the 20pin motherboard power connector and the auxilary 6pin power connector as well, and as you can see, this motherboard has the auxilary connector as well.
Attachments
asus 1.jpg
asus 2.jpg
Pentium3 1400s / Asus Tusl2-c / Crucial 256mb pc133 cl2 / WD 20gb 7200rpm / GeForce3 Ti500 64mb / SB Live! 5.1 / 16x dvdrom / 3.5'' Floppy / Enermax 420w 20pin / Win98se
User avatar
Bige4u
Newbie
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2018-7-01 @ 16:41

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby TheAbandonwareGuy » 2019-7-14 @ 20:39

Bige4u wrote:Asus CUV4X-D... the pdf manual doesnt say anything about tualatin cpus, specifically up to 1400S, but figure i'd give it a go since i saw a person on YT put together a system with them both detected and working just fine using XP, if it works for me with just the one 1400S i have already, then i'll have to get another.

I'll be using this strickly with WINXP and only going to install 3gb(3x1gb) out of the 4gb(4x1gb) thats supported. As for a proper power supply, i've already got that covered, i've had since new, an enermax 550w v1.2 with 36a on the +5v rail that has the 20pin motherboard power connector and the auxilary 6pin power connector as well, and as you can see, this motherboard has the auxilary connector as well.


IIRC there are multiple revisions of that board. Only some of which support Tualatin.
This is a common thing among boards up until the Pentium 4 era. Always check the board revision regardless. On the reverseside sometimes revisions are only superficial and will infact support CPU's they don't or can be flashed to support other CPUS (There are ALOT of OEM boards that can be flashed to a retail counterpart)
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuFY6Z ... 2tV8b00x_A
1996|P200MMX|64MB EDO|Virge DX 4MB|SB16 OPL3
1999|P3 933|384MB SDR|GF2 Ultra 64MB|CT4620
User avatar
TheAbandonwareGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: 2016-3-01 @ 02:09
Location: Southern Illinois, United States of America

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-7-15 @ 17:29

Bought a Sega Genesis Nomad at a local video game store that sells consoles, games, and accessories from the Atari 2600 to Xbox 360.

Image

Planning on upgrading the LCD sometime and get a battery pack for it as well to play Genesis games on the go.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby MKT_Gundam » 2019-7-15 @ 18:24

bjwil1991 wrote:Bought a Sega Genesis Nomad at a local video game store that sells consoles, games, and accessories from the Atari 2600 to Xbox 360.

Planning on upgrading the LCD sometime and get a battery pack for it as well to play Genesis games on the go.

So Nomad has the same capacitors/resistor problem like the Game Gear?

I waiting for my slotket.
User avatar
MKT_Gundam
Member
 
Posts: 202
Joined: 2017-11-01 @ 00:52

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bishopcop » 2019-7-15 @ 20:41

Image

A few workstation level 3D accelerators:
Intergraph Intense 3D Wildcat 4000, Intergraph Intense 3D Pro 2200
FirePRo V7900(this one is fairly modern comparatively), 3Dlabs Oxygen GVX420
Diamond Fire GL1, another Intergraph Intense 3D Pro 2200
ATI Fire GL X3(same as a Radeon X800 Pro), ATI Fire GL4, ELSA GLoria-XL

Most of these only accelerate OpenGL and not Direct3D, the Wildcat 4000 is the fastest accelerator that works with 3D Studio Max 1.0. Max 1.0 did not have OpenGL or Direct3D because they were not available at the time (1994-95) in windows so it has it's own API(Heidi) plus it works natively with Glint hardware. In that case the Gloria-XL works natively with Max 1.0.
bishopcop
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2016-9-14 @ 15:34

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby liqmat » 2019-7-15 @ 20:41

bjwil1991 wrote:Bought a Sega Genesis Nomad at a local video game store that sells consoles, games, and accessories from the Atari 2600 to Xbox 360.

Image

Planning on upgrading the LCD sometime and get a battery pack for it as well to play Genesis games on the go.

Ah, yes. That thing sucks nuclear reactors dry in a matter of hours. Cool device though.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-7-15 @ 22:18

Lot of S3 trio64 PCI video cards.
Attachments
58EFD3F5-00D0-47B1-80C8-B08BF348C06D.jpeg
Intel486dx33
l33t
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby heckyeah » 2019-7-16 @ 05:39

Bige4u wrote:Asus CUV4X-D... the pdf manual doesnt say anything about tualatin cpus, specifically up to 1400S, but figure i'd give it a go since i saw a person on YT put together a system with them both detected and working just fine using XP, if it works for me with just the one 1400S i have already, then i'll have to get another.

I'll be using this strickly with WINXP and only going to install 3gb(3x1gb) out of the 4gb(4x1gb) thats supported. As for a proper power supply, i've already got that covered, i've had since new, an enermax 550w v1.2 with 36a on the +5v rail that has the 20pin motherboard power connector and the auxilary 6pin power connector as well, and as you can see, this motherboard has the auxilary connector as well.


I've got a Rev 1.03 just like that and mine works fine with the Korean Ebay pinmodded Tualatins. The latest bios doesn't have the Tualatin microcodes so the post screen misreports the name but otherwise, mine have been working completely stable overclocked.
heckyeah
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-7-16 @ 05:36

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BinaryDemon, MSN [Bot] and 6 guests