VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 30200 of 35071, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
General_Snuss wrote:
retropol wrote:

tell me what was the price for this SC?

I paid €70,-, which is a bargain if you ask me.

That is a smokin' hot price for that.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 30201 of 35071, by mpe

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Dragon Caesar wrote:

Congrats on the find! I lucked into a NexGen P80 a few months ago and it came with some utilities. I've shared them here: Re: VOGONS Driver Library. Probably won't need the BIOS stuff but you might be able to use the CPU identifier and FPU emulator shareware utility. Please share your findings on the benchmarks when you can, would love to see how it fares.

Thanks for these utils. Will definitely check them out.

My initial testing of the NexGen showed crazy results. speedsys shows a very unusual cache latencies which goes down and up again (presumably due to L1 cache at 2x CPU speed). Many detection tools detect NexGen as a XXX MHz 386 system (since it doesn't have 486/Pentium instructions) or hang straight away. The Pentium-class performance with no FPU is too much for them to swallow, combined with non-486 42MHz VL-BUS implementation is a recipe for a lot of fun 😀

Blog||486DX-50|NexGen 586|S4

Reply 30203 of 35071, by infiniteclouds

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
bjwil1991 wrote:
Original Xbox bundle for $10 revision 1.6b (manufactured 11/2004) […]
Show full quote

Original Xbox bundle for $10 revision 1.6b (manufactured 11/2004)

SMiDKnRl.jpg

I think I want one -- but I need a good comprehensive list of either "Games exclusive to XBOX" as I own a PS2 and Gamecube for that generation already.

Reply 30204 of 35071, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
bjwil1991 wrote:
Original Xbox bundle for $10 revision 1.6b (manufactured 11/2004) […]
Show full quote

Original Xbox bundle for $10 revision 1.6b (manufactured 11/2004)

SMiDKnRl.jpg

Those models luckily don’t have leaking clock capacitors, but they also aren’t the best for modding. That said, you can still soft mod.

infiniteclouds wrote:
bjwil1991 wrote:
Original Xbox bundle for $10 revision 1.6b (manufactured 11/2004) […]
Show full quote

Original Xbox bundle for $10 revision 1.6b (manufactured 11/2004)

SMiDKnRl.jpg

I think I want one -- but I need a good comprehensive list of either "Games exclusive to XBOX" as I own a PS2 and Gamecube for that generation already.

There are many lists out there, and as a general rule of thumb, it has the best version of multi platform games. Certain games, like GTA San Andreas and the SSX games, are still better on PS2 for specific reasons, though.

Last edited by BetaC on 2019-09-09, 23:03. Edited 1 time in total.

vslwab-6.png
0zuv7q-6.png
7sr808-99.png

Reply 30205 of 35071, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Going to do a softmod on it, but I'll be cleaning it out, lubricate the fan, and put new thermal compound on the heatsinks. I'll also read the EEPROM chip for the password, make a CD, copy the exploits on there, and go from there. Xbox LAN party?

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 30206 of 35071, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
bjwil1991 wrote:

Going to do a softmod on it, but I'll be cleaning it out, lubricate the fan, and put new thermal compound on the heatsinks. I'll also read the EEPROM chip for the password, make a CD, copy the exploits on there, and go from there. Xbox LAN party?

You don’t necessarily need to read the EEPROM if you can wire up a USB to Xbox cable, and can find a usb stick that’s small enough to actually work.

vslwab-6.png
0zuv7q-6.png
7sr808-99.png

Reply 30207 of 35071, by xjas

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The latest Rocky5 softmod installer lets you null the EEPROM (set it to all zeroes), so in case the original HDD dies it's easy enough to build a new one. It's a one-minute process and you can do it straight from the menu without messing around with the hardware at all. Still not as nice as flashing the TSOP (which lets you disable the HDD lock entirely), but the best you can do on a 1.6.

I also got a 1.6 recently (side of the road find 😜 ) that I've been messing around with. I already had a 1.4 that I modded a few years ago, but the tools have improved and made a ton of functionality easier, so I've been using this one as sort of a test bed to mess around with. Definitely go with Rocky5 as it's the most full-featured and up to date softmod available.

Tons of good homebrew on these! Naturally I've also got Quake 1 & 2, Doom, Heretic, Descent, Freefall 3050AD, etc. installed. 😉

CameraZOOM-20190908120854050.jpg
Filename
CameraZOOM-20190908120854050.jpg
File size
209.38 KiB
Views
498 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
CameraZOOM-20190908120952808.jpg
Filename
CameraZOOM-20190908120952808.jpg
File size
195.63 KiB
Views
498 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

twitch.tv/oldskooljay - playing the obscure, forgotten & weird - most Tuesdays & Thursdays @ 6 PM PDT. Bonus streams elsewhen!

Reply 30208 of 35071, by hasnopants

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Got a brand new unicomp ultra classic!

GcbZJdS.jpg

And some sweet sd to ide brackets from a fellow vogon'er!

Y9Ke7zD.jpg

Current Systems:
DIP40|8088|640K|HERCULESGB102|PCSPKR
S7|P233MMX|128M|S3ViRGEDX/DM3D|SB16
S370|P600MMX|1G|SIS630/DM3DIIX2|SBLIVE!5.1
S775|P43.4|2G|6800GS|SBAUDIGY

Reply 30209 of 35071, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
xjas wrote:
The latest Rocky5 softmod installer lets you null the EEPROM (set it to all zeroes), so in case the original HDD dies it's easy […]
Show full quote

The latest Rocky5 softmod installer lets you null the EEPROM (set it to all zeroes), so in case the original HDD dies it's easy enough to build a new one. It's a one-minute process and you can do it straight from the menu without messing around with the hardware at all. Still not as nice as flashing the TSOP (which lets you disable the HDD lock entirely), but the best you can do on a 1.6.

I also got a 1.6 recently (side of the road find 😜 ) that I've been messing around with. I already had a 1.4 that I modded a few years ago, but the tools have improved and made a ton of functionality easier, so I've been using this one as sort of a test bed to mess around with. Definitely go with Rocky5 as it's the most full-featured and up to date softmod available.

Tons of good homebrew on these! Naturally I've also got Quake 1 & 2, Doom, Heretic, Descent, Freefall 3050AD, etc. installed. 😉

CameraZOOM-20190908120854050.jpg
CameraZOOM-20190908120952808.jpg

Soft modded my first Original Xbox a while back using Rocky5's softmod tool and I'm going to softmod this one, however, I need to replace 5 Nichicon 3300uF 6.3V radial caps by the PSU header and CPU as they are swollen with new Rubycon caps. The rest of the caps are good, so that's a bonus and the HDD is a Western Digital 8GB. Mine had a Seagate 10GB that blew smoke when I attempted to power it on with my computer's 520W PSU 9 years ago, but was replaced with an 80GB HDD and soft modded a while ago, then cloned to a 480GB SSD. Will upgrade the HDD to a bigger one as well after the softmod so I can install games and do some Xbox LAN parties or something, like gaming online with it (I heard that someone reversed engineered the Xbox Live for the OG Xboxes and made Halo 2 come back online as well.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 30210 of 35071, by derSammler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
cyclone3d wrote:
General_Snuss wrote:
retropol wrote:

tell me what was the price for this SC?

I paid €70,-, which is a bargain if you ask me.

That is a smokin' hot price for that.

That's what I paid for mine last year as well. There's a guy from the Netherlands who is often selling these as cheap.

Reply 30211 of 35071, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

after not finding a soundcanvas forever, I found a white SC-55ST yesterday for 45€ + shipping tho 😒... the seller had three and they all were pretty much gone immediately, so who else got one? 😁

Reply 30212 of 35071, by Cyrix200+

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
derSammler wrote:
cyclone3d wrote:
General_Snuss wrote:

<snip>
I paid €70,-, which is a bargain if you ask me.

That is a smokin' hot price for that.

That's what I paid for mine last year as well. There's a guy from the Netherlands who is often selling these as cheap.

Where is he selling?

1982 - 2001

Reply 30213 of 35071, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
imi wrote:

after not finding a soundcanvas forever, I found a white SC-55ST yesterday for 45€ + shipping tho 😒... the seller had three and they all were pretty much gone immediately, so who else got one? 😁

Nice, I saw those, they were gone before I spotted them though - that's a seller in the UK right? I bought an SC-7 from him 😁

Reply 30214 of 35071, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Thermalwrong wrote:

Nice, I saw those, they were gone before I spotted them though - that's a seller in the UK right? I bought an SC-7 from him 😁

yep, that one, the SC-7 were gone pretty fast as well, I almost added one of those too, but I didn't really see the point in addition to the SC-55ST ^^... for now.

Reply 30215 of 35071, by VioletGiraffe

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi! I'm very new to this forum and to retrocomputing as well, hopefully it's OK to post short questions in this topic? I picked up an Am386-DX40 computer today, brought it home from my mom's workplace. It was my first ever computer. My parents couldn't afford to buy a PC in the 90s, but for some time mom was working at home and we've had this beautiful system she brought with her, and, of course, I got into DOS and Windows 3.11 gaming.

The PC is missing some parts, and there's a very suspicious empty slot on the mobo. Thing is, I can't see any markings to find out what motherboard this is. Any ideas? I'd like to find a manual, or at least some info on the mobo. Also, I can't find out the capacity of the RAM modules as googling the chip markings yields no hits. Does anyone have any ideas or comments about this hardware?
https://imgur.com/a/ocziYvi

Reply 30216 of 35071, by derSammler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
imi wrote:

after not finding a soundcanvas forever, I found a white SC-55ST yesterday for 45€ + shipping tho 😒... the seller had three and they all were pretty much gone immediately, so who else got one? 😁

Seeing the ebay pictures, that unit is really done. For that price, I could have sold you an SC-155 in better condition.

Reply 30217 of 35071, by GigAHerZ

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
VioletGiraffe wrote:

Hi! I'm very new to this forum and to retrocomputing as well, hopefully it's OK to post short questions in this topic? I picked up an Am386-DX40 computer today, brought it home from my mom's workplace. It was my first ever computer. My parents couldn't afford to buy a PC in the 90s, but for some time mom was working at home and we've had this beautiful system she brought with her, and, of course, I got into DOS and Windows 3.11 gaming.

The PC is missing some parts, and there's a very suspicious empty slot on the mobo. Thing is, I can't see any markings to find out what motherboard this is. Any ideas? I'd like to find a manual, or at least some info on the mobo. Also, I can't find out the capacity of the RAM modules as googling the chip markings yields no hits. Does anyone have any ideas or comments about this hardware?
https://imgur.com/a/ocziYvi

The empty socket is for 387 co-processor. Not necessary, but optional.
For ram... Well, in the end, i have just tried out and then added sticker about the size on it. For me it has been quicker than to go through chips datasets and count together, what's the size...

First thing you want to do is to remove that barrel battery and replace it coin cell or other modern solution!

"640K ought to be enough for anybody." - And i intend to get every last bit out of it even after loading every damn driver!

Reply 30219 of 35071, by jheronimus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
VioletGiraffe wrote:

Hi! I'm very new to this forum and to retrocomputing as well, hopefully it's OK to post short questions in this topic? I picked up an Am386-DX40 computer today, brought it home from my mom's workplace. It was my first ever computer. My parents couldn't afford to buy a PC in the 90s, but for some time mom was working at home and we've had this beautiful system she brought with her, and, of course, I got into DOS and Windows 3.11 gaming.

The PC is missing some parts, and there's a very suspicious empty slot on the mobo. Thing is, I can't see any markings to find out what motherboard this is. Any ideas? I'd like to find a manual, or at least some info on the mobo. Also, I can't find out the capacity of the RAM modules as googling the chip markings yields no hits. Does anyone have any ideas or comments about this hardware?
https://imgur.com/a/ocziYvi

It’s a fairly typical late 386 board with an integrated AMD 386DX40 CPU. The empty square slot is for an FPU, but there isn’t a lot of software that would benefit from that on a 386.

386 boards don’t have a lot of documentation online, so at best you can find jumper settings. However, boards like this don’t have many settings (since you can’t change the CPU), so you don’t really need that. Also most jumpers should be described on the board itself. Look for silkscreened text.

My Telegram blog about retro hardware (in Russian)

Pentium 133, 32 MB RAM, S3 Trio64V+, Crystal 4232, Dreamblaster X2 and Roland MT-32
Pentium III 1000, 512 MB RAM, Voodoo 5 5500 AGP, SB Live 5.1, SB32 CT3930, Gravis Ultrasound Max rev2.1