Bought these (retro) hardware today

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby mpe » 2019-10-22 @ 15:34

I own quite a few of early 90's cards. But had to get this. I love how sharp it looks with all those VRAM chips:

Image
mpe
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: 2018-6-12 @ 21:19
Location: London, UK

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby imi » 2019-10-22 @ 16:31

I love how sharp that photo looks (also the card) ^^
User avatar
imi
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 2019-6-16 @ 13:46
Location: europe

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby keropi » 2019-10-22 @ 16:43

mpe wrote:I own quite a few of early 90's cards. But had to get this. I love how sharp it looks with all those VRAM chips:


nice! it is indeed a great card - I got one damaged but managed to repair it in the end: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=59789
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 7280
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby mpe » 2019-10-22 @ 17:53

keropi wrote:
nice! it is indeed a great card - I got one damaged but managed to repair it in the end: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=59789


Wow. What a repair. Good work!
mpe
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: 2018-6-12 @ 21:19
Location: London, UK

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby Cyberdyne » 2019-10-22 @ 20:17

Sooooo 8MB video ram for a S3 Vision.... Why?
I am aroused about any X86 stuff that has full functional ISA stuff. I think i have problem.
User avatar
Cyberdyne
Member
 
Posts: 340
Joined: 2011-9-18 @ 18:45
Location: Estonia, Tallinn

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby mpe » 2019-10-22 @ 20:22

I think these 256kx8 chips so it is only 4MB. The chips appear bigger then normal as they are dual-ported (dedicated channel for DAC).
mpe
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: 2018-6-12 @ 21:19
Location: London, UK

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby keropi » 2019-10-22 @ 21:02

those cards are 4MB
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 7280
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby FAMICOMASTER » 2019-10-22 @ 22:40

Cyberdyne wrote:Sooooo 8MB video ram for a S3 Vision.... Why?

2MB to 4MB upgrade. Probably for resolution and not anything fancy like textures.

I got one of my color monitors in today, a Sysdyne CD1343. It needs some work, but so does the other one.

I think this might be an EGA monitor, but I am not sure. Being that it has color and monochrome modes, I feel like it might support EGA in some way. Can't really test because my model M died.

The 4 buttons on the front do absolutely nothing, so I need to pop the cover and see what's going on at some point. I would like to have a monochrome mode, please...
Image
Image
User avatar
FAMICOMASTER
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: 2014-8-09 @ 18:15
Location: United States of America

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-10-23 @ 12:02

Over the weekend, I bought an Original Xbox 1.0 and Duke Controller for $50. Bit pricey for the Xbox ($40), but the Duke controller was only $10. Both the system and controller needed a good cleaning and repair, plus the clock cap removal. Both work after repairs, cleaning, and removing that clock cap.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2674
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby appiah4 » 2019-10-23 @ 12:10

Duke controller is amazing good for playing things like Street Fighter III Third Strike, I wish I had one! I still own an XBOX Classic, it is basically my Street Fighter arcade emulator (Street Fighter Anniversary Collection)
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|Rage|V2|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4192
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-10-23 @ 12:30

The Duke controllers are back in town for the Xbox One and PC.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2674
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby appiah4 » 2019-10-23 @ 13:41

bjwil1991 wrote:The Duke controllers are back in town for the Xbox One and PC.


Huh? Really?

I got these in the last week or so, by the way:

Image Image

No clue why I got either, I already have an SX-25 board that works and I'm happy with it, but I saw this SX-33 board and I just.. grabbed it? It had a lot of battery damage that I used vinegar to neutralize and then scraped away with a flathead screwdriver. It POSTs, so I will use some transparent nail polish to cover the traces later. Not sure if I want to replace my SX-25 with this board though. As for the NIB VGA, I bought it because I wanted a PCI with TVOUT for my DX4 build and this was perfect for it. But I can't bring myself to break the seal so I will likely never use it. :dead:

Also, these arrived from Serdashop:

Image Image Image

The Monkey Island MB-32 is just adorable. :lol:
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|Rage|V2|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4192
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-10-23 @ 14:37

You all know that you can upload pictures directly to the forum post right?

'upload attachment' and then 'place inline'

That way, the pictures will always be available AND it won't be blocked by web filters, etc. as long as the forum is accessible.

It also puts a smaller clickable version of the picture inline and then you can click the picture to view full size.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3537
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-10-23 @ 15:33

Up to 2MB only, sadly. My phone takes 5MB per picture.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2674
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-10-23 @ 15:46

bjwil1991 wrote:Up to 2MB only, sadly. My phone takes 5MB per picture.


So crop and resize them. I email pics to myself and then use either GIMP (free) or Affinity Photo to adjust, crop, and resize.

Easy peazy and takes like 30 seconds per picture.

I always make the pic either 1920w or 1080h... (no pic is allowed to go over 1920w or 1080h).
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3537
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby appiah4 » 2019-10-23 @ 20:23

cyclone3d wrote:You all know that you can upload pictures directly to the forum post right?

'upload attachment' and then 'place inline'

That way, the pictures will always be available AND it won't be blocked by web filters, etc. as long as the forum is accessible.

It also puts a smaller clickable version of the picture inline and then you can click the picture to view full size.


I don't post on VOGONS exclusively so using a hosting site and being able to copy and paste the BBCode to other places helps. It also makes removing the images from everywhere at once much easier should I choose to do so. I also fail to understand why this is a less acceptable way of posting images.
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|Rage|V2|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4192
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-10-23 @ 20:27

appiah4 wrote:
cyclone3d wrote:You all know that you can upload pictures directly to the forum post right?

'upload attachment' and then 'place inline'

That way, the pictures will always be available AND it won't be blocked by web filters, etc. as long as the forum is accessible.

It also puts a smaller clickable version of the picture inline and then you can click the picture to view full size.


I don't post on VOGONS exclusively so using a hosting site and being able to copy and paste the BBCode to other places helps. It also makes removing the images from everywhere at once much easier should I choose to do so. I also fail to understand why this is a less acceptable way of posting images.


As I am not a forum admin, it is more of a preference. Not all places I login to the vogons forum allow me to connect to picture hosting sites so I just get an X where the pictures are supposed to be.

It also makes more sense to me as far as wanting to look back at old posts and finding that the pictures, which are sometimes needed, no longer available.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3537
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby HanJammer » 2019-10-24 @ 00:49

oeuvre wrote:
HanJammer wrote:
oeuvre wrote:GIB! Can you do some recordings of the CT1350b? I want to compare how a real one sounds to the ones emulated in 86Box and PCem. Thanks


I have four of them (Rev 2, 4 and 2x6 I think). I can do some recording later this week if you want (I have good pro grade audio interface). I wanted to do some comparison anyway. CT1350Bs were usually very noisy (you could literally hear the data flowing through the buses LOL - a lot like a coil whine on modern graphic cards) - I doubt they emulated it in PCem ;)


Thank you!


It took me quite some time (much longer than I anticipated) and I think you got real CT1350B since then (seen your post here some time ago if I'm not mistaken), but maybe you will find it interesting anyway: https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=69919
User avatar
HanJammer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 517
Joined: 2018-8-21 @ 15:02
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby yawetaG » 2019-10-24 @ 05:47

appiah4 wrote:
cyclone3d wrote:You all know that you can upload pictures directly to the forum post right?

'upload attachment' and then 'place inline'

That way, the pictures will always be available AND it won't be blocked by web filters, etc. as long as the forum is accessible.

It also puts a smaller clickable version of the picture inline and then you can click the picture to view full size.


I don't post on VOGONS exclusively so using a hosting site and being able to copy and paste the BBCode to other places helps. It also makes removing the images from everywhere at once much easier should I choose to do so. I also fail to understand why this is a less acceptable way of posting images.


AFAIK, this kind of behaviour is the primary reason why the "edit post" function was limited on here - defacing posts with useful information by removing pictures and contents.
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1471
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today

Postby derSammler » 2019-10-24 @ 11:37

yawetaG wrote:AFAIK, this kind of behaviour is the primary reason why the "edit post" function was limited on here - defacing posts with useful information by removing pictures and contents.

Certainly not, as you can mass-delete all attachments you've ever uploaded with a single click in you user control panel. It wouldn't be a clever move to prevent members from removing their pictures, as only they have the rights to decide how long they want a picture to stay online and how it is used in general.
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2481
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AmiSapphire, brostenen, kolderman, maxtherabbit, MKT_Gundam, MSN [Bot], mt777, PARKE and 22 guests