The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2010-3-19 @ 16:42

Can MPU-401 be disabled on this card?
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2787
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby gerwin » 2010-4-03 @ 14:48

Found the users guide, recompiled it and attached it this post.

Anonymous Coward wrote:Can MPU-401 be disabled on this card?

the MPU can be given a alternate port address, it can possibly be disabled by manualy modifying opl3sa.ini.

edit: updated the user's guide a little
Attachments
opl3sa3 users guide.zip
Opl3Sa3 Users Guide Html format
(283.61 KiB) Downloaded 853 times
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby keropi » 2010-12-17 @ 10:31

I just remembered I have this card:

Image

it is YMF719 based and came with a tiny OPL4 daugterboard (YMF704C-S chip) with those features:

The YMF704C (OPL4-ML) is a wave table synthesizer LSI that integrates OPL3, General Midi processor and Wave table ROM into one chip and complies with GM system level 1.

* Complies with GM system level 1
* Contains an interface that is compatible with MPU-401 UART mode
* FM synthesis is register compatible with OPL3
* Wave table synthesis is able to generate up to 24 voices simultaneously
* Contains 8-Mbit Wave table ROM


what is interesting is that the datashee that I copied those info from states that OPL3 is inside the OPL4??! this sounds like a feature the 719 chip should have, not the add-on daughterboard...

Anyone here has any interest in me testing this card? :blush:
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-12-17 @ 10:48

Of course!

But you would need some decent OPL4 tunes. I wouldn't know where to look...
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby keropi » 2010-12-17 @ 10:53

OPL4 is just a GM device, anything that uses GM suits for testing, from DOOM to whatever game supports GM... 1MB of samples LOL I am curious to hear it too, I bet is semi-crap even though it is a YAMAHA chip (targeted for el-cheapo use ofcourse)
I will see what I can do this weekend LOL

IIRC I also have a Sound Callant 8500 card somewhere... this has on-board wavetable if I am not mistaken...
Last edited by keropi on 2010-12-17 @ 10:55, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-12-17 @ 10:54

Just GM? Nothing "custom" or otherwise interesting?
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby keropi » 2010-12-17 @ 10:56

nope, plain boring GM....
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-12-17 @ 10:59

Ok now I'm confused. Wikipedia speaks about a YMF278 when it comes to OPL4?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamaha_YMF278

And it sound more like what the AWE can do. Wavetable with RAM to load stuff onto...
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby Mau1wurf1977 » 2010-12-17 @ 11:02

Ok here is more info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moonsound

Moonblaster's Moonsound. A device for the MSX which uses the OPL4.

Here are some tunes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOzCqRcxIps

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfkGPJvXlqU
User avatar
Mau1wurf1977
l33t++
 
Posts: 7652
Joined: 2010-8-27 @ 04:15
Location: Western Australia

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby keropi » 2010-12-17 @ 11:08

sounds OK , but I have no idea if custom samples can be used with pc soundcards... sure the chip supports external samples but I bet china-based manufacturers didn't bother with it...
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby gerwin » 2010-12-17 @ 11:39

This DB contains the second edition of the OPL-4 with 1MB ROM in the same chip.

From my soundcard overview:
Code: Select all
YAMAHA ISA RELATED CHIPSETS
---------------------------
OPL2/YM3812               FM chip,  9 channels, mono.
OPL2/YM3812-F             FM chip,  9 channels, mono. (smaller package, sized like OPL3)
OPL3/YMF262 or YMF262-M   FM chip, 18 channels, simple stereo (hard left, center or hard right).
OPL4/YMF278               FM+Midi chip with a max of 4MB addressing space. 100-pin SQFP.
OPL4/YMF704C              as YMF278 with 1MB ROM, MPU-401 interface, GM, 24 Voices.
                          "contains the same sample set as the stand alone ROM which was certified by Fat Labs" (GM sound compatibility)
OPL3SA /YMF701            Controller+Codec, SB/SBPro/WSS/MPU-401 compatible, PnP, IDE, Integr. OPL3.
OPL3SA2/YMF711            Controller+Codec, SB/SBPro/WSS/MPU-401 compatible, PnP, IDE, Integr. OPL3, revised Log.Device support and DMA/IRQ config.
OPL3SA3/YMF715            Controller+Codec, SB/SBPro/WSS/MPU-401 compatible, PnP, IDE, Integr. OPL3, adds power management and 3D sound.

-YMF719 Chips are told to be rebranded YMF715's, probably the same story with YMF718 Chips.
-OPL3SAx Cards made by Aopen (AW-719), Labway (LWHA151-A00), Addonics, Genius... Chipset also used on Mainboard/Laptops.
-OPL3SAx Cards usually with a misplaced WBH (for OPL4-ML DB).
-Sometimes an OPL3 like chip branded only 'LS262' or 'DSP24S' is found on soundcards...


EDIT: corrected table: SB16 replaced with WSS.
Last edited by gerwin on 2011-7-12 @ 08:46, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby retro games 100 » 2010-12-17 @ 12:13

keropi wrote:IIRC I also have a Sound Callant 8500 card somewhere... this has on-board wavetable if I am not mistaken...

Keropi, is your 8500 sound card the same as this one?

viewtopic.php?t=20792
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby keropi » 2010-12-17 @ 12:54

retro games 100 wrote:
keropi wrote:IIRC I also have a Sound Callant 8500 card somewhere... this has on-board wavetable if I am not mistaken...

Keropi, is your 8500 sound card the same as this one?

viewtopic.php?t=20792


I searched it rg100 and I made a mistake, I have the SC-8000 model... sorry I remembered wrong the model...
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby retro games 100 » 2010-12-17 @ 13:41

keropi wrote:
retro games 100 wrote:
keropi wrote:IIRC I also have a Sound Callant 8500 card somewhere... this has on-board wavetable if I am not mistaken...

Keropi, is your 8500 sound card the same as this one?

viewtopic.php?t=20792


I searched it rg100 and I made a mistake, I have the SC-8000 model... sorry I remembered wrong the model...

Ah that's OK! :happy:
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby MatthewBrian » 2010-12-18 @ 04:16

I had a nearly same card, Yamaha OPL3 (ISA). It doesn't have any daughtercards, though.

It seems that it was manufactured (or sold) by Addonics, because it has Addonics sticker on top of the card..

Edit: Recording attached. I recorded it using the 'Stereo Mix' in Windows 98FE, without any external MIDI device, using Audacity.
Attachments
YamahaOPL3.mp3
Yamaha OPL3 Recording - MI2 Opening
(3.72 MiB) Downloaded 649 times
MatthewBrian
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2010-7-05 @ 06:29

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby retro games 100 » 2010-12-18 @ 07:18

MatthewBrian wrote:Edit: Recording attached. I recorded it using the 'Stereo Mix' in Windows 98FE, without any external MIDI device, using Audacity.

Audacity works in Windows 98? That's great, I'll give that a go!
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby MatthewBrian » 2010-12-18 @ 07:50

retro games 100 wrote:
MatthewBrian wrote:Edit: Recording attached. I recorded it using the 'Stereo Mix' in Windows 98FE, without any external MIDI device, using Audacity.

Audacity works in Windows 98? That's great, I'll give that a go!


Works with a little quirks.
Just disable some automatic cursor updating on the preferences so your machine won't be too heavy to handle it. Mine is an Pentium 133 (at 166), 64Mb RAM.
MatthewBrian
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2010-7-05 @ 06:29

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2011-7-11 @ 21:05

I have this exact card, except instead of the WB header it has two QDSP chips. I've seen tonnes of these cards, but never with the Qdsp chip fitted. Haven't tested it yet as the card does not like my 486.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2787
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2011-9-29 @ 01:25

I now have 4 different Yamaha YMF ISA cards, only one of which will work properly in my VL/EISA 486 board for whatever reason (when others are installed, the system will not turn on. Could be some kind of I/O conflict). It is not made by Labway/Addonics, and looks quite generic:

Image

It's based on the YMF718 chip, which as far as I can tell from what everyone says here is no different than the YMF715 or 719.

I first tested it a couple of months ago, but was discouraged due to the crap configuration software. I had another stab at it yesterday, and I actually got the damn thing working to my satisfaction.

As Gerwin has pointed out, it is best to avoid the SETUPSA program and configure/load the OPL3SA.INI file manually. But, for whatever reason that was not working out for me. I run PC-DOS 2000 and WFW311 on this system, and I installed the Yamaha software for both environments during the initial setup. For whatever reason, I found that SETUPSA /S was completely ignoring any of the changes I made to OPL3SA.INI.

The only way I could actually seem to configure the card was to run SETUPSA (without the /S option). However, it never gave me the DMA options I wanted, and insisted on placing the card at some stupid setting. But I figured it must be writing this information somewhere, because it was writing to the harddrive like crazy as the program exited.

By chance, I remembered that I happened to see some crap SETUPSA dumped into the windows SYSTEM.INI file. So I went into SYSTEM.INI and made the changes in the same way I would to the OPL3SA.INI file. I loaded up SETUPSA /S, and it FINALLY FREAKING WORKED!!!


I have to say so far I am impressed with the compatibility in DOS. I tested out SB Pro mode with Freddy Pharkus, Conquests of the Longbow, Betrayal at Krondor, Raptor, Skyroads and Grand Theft Auto 1. I don't have a lot of stuff that supports WSS, but I was able to get it working by setting it to DMA1. That was the only way Sierra games would recognise it. If there are any games that are known not to work with this card, I would like to know so that I can test them on my system.

Also, as far as I can tell, the MPU401 on this card can not be disabled, which isn't so bad as it uses the same IRQ as the SB.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2787
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: The Yamaha OPL YMF718-S chipset.

Postby gerwin » 2011-10-10 @ 21:45

Anonymous Coward wrote:As Gerwin has pointed out, it is best to avoid the SETUPSA program and configure/load the OPL3SA.INI file manually. But, for whatever reason that was not working out for me. I run PC-DOS 2000 and WFW311 on this system, and I installed the Yamaha software for both environments during the initial setup. For whatever reason, I found that SETUPSA /S was completely ignoring any of the changes I made to OPL3SA.INI.
Today I brought down a PC from the attic that has an OPL3SA card installed: The addonics/labway YMF719 type. I noticed SetupSA v2.11 does actually follow the changes I made to opl3sa.ini in the same folder. For example, when I edit opl3sa.ini and change the base address from 220h to 240h, then run SetupSA /S, It will show the soundblaster configured for 240h.
Anonymous Coward wrote: By chance, I remembered that I happened to see some crap SETUPSA dumped into the windows SYSTEM.INI file. So I went into SYSTEM.INI and made the changes in the same way I would to the OPL3SA.INI file. I loaded up SETUPSA /S, and it FINALLY FREAKING WORKED!!!

I searched for recently modified .ini files inside my WINNT folder, but only win.ini was modified and it contained no OPL3SA related stuff. This was windows 2000, so maybe it behaves different when a c:\windows folder is present instead.
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dionb, kaputnik, krivulak and 9 guests