Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby rick12373 » 2008-7-30 @ 21:50

I recently found this video card "ATI 1090019530 Mach 32 VLB Video Card" in an old machine. Here is a link to one also:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ATI-1090019530-Mach ... 1460r38032

Is this card any good? What type of set up is best to be used in and does it have any strengths worth noting? Really I'm just wondering if it is worth using.

Rick
User avatar
rick12373
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: 2007-3-01 @ 22:19
Location: Idaho, USA - Originally Fareham, UK

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby retro games 100 » 2008-7-31 @ 09:54

You might not be able to zomg unlockin teh pieplines so i benchmark 5 points hier with that thing y'know! :wink:

Seriously however, I'd say an appropriate machine to put this in to would be a fast 486 box; something like a DX2-66 for instance.

And from Wikipedia, it says:

Mach 32, released 1992

32-bit GUI accelerator with basic DOS support
Limited VESA VBE support
Video memory: 1 or 2 MiB DRAM or VRAM
Memory interface: 64-bit
Port: ISA, EISA, VLB, PCI, MCA
100% compatible with IBM 8514/A
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-7-31 @ 11:10

The missing chip bothers me a bit though (however I don't know what it does, my PCI Mach32 has it)
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby retro games 100 » 2008-7-31 @ 11:15

h-a-l-9000 wrote:The missing chip bothers me a bit though (however I don't know what it does, my PCI Mach32 has it)


I thought that too. However, it's uncertain whether or not the OP has this missing chip. The photo shown was I think an example of the card he has.
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby rick12373 » 2008-7-31 @ 16:17

Yeah the one I have doesn't have the chip. My dos machine is running a slow pentium 1 chip at the moment. So this card might be a good match for it. I can'r remember which video card I have in it at the moment though. I think it might be an old Matrox.
User avatar
rick12373
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: 2007-3-01 @ 22:19
Location: Idaho, USA - Originally Fareham, UK

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-7-31 @ 16:22

It's rather unlikely that your Pentium mainboard has a VLB slot.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby rick12373 » 2008-7-31 @ 16:24

Don't know as I am work right now. It does have ISA slots but this is not the same then I assume?
User avatar
rick12373
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: 2007-3-01 @ 22:19
Location: Idaho, USA - Originally Fareham, UK

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2008-7-31 @ 16:28

The left connector is the VLB part. That's also where it's speed comes from. It might partially work if you plug it into a normal ISA slot but will be very slow.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby jthieme » 2008-7-31 @ 19:48

I had a mach 32 card vlb in my 486-66mhz machine (actually still have it running). It was a very fast 2D card for its day but it doesn't have any 3D capability. Ati was also know for buggy hardware and drivers back then, I had to get a new board from ATI and several bios updates before I could get it to work with certain games. The VLB bus interface was really only around for the 486 processors so I doubt your pentium mobo would have it.
User avatar
jthieme
Newbie
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 2007-2-19 @ 22:13

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby rick12373 » 2008-8-01 @ 14:37

Thanks for the comments. Well it seems that it won't be worth bothering with.
User avatar
rick12373
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: 2007-3-01 @ 22:19
Location: Idaho, USA - Originally Fareham, UK

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2008-8-07 @ 01:38

Lots of early Pentium motherboards had VLB slots (just take a look on TH99). There were even ISA only Pentium boards. Most of the VLB Pentiums are probably scrapped by now, but they certainly exist and they work just as well as VLB on a 486.

I've tested several cards on my VLB Pentium, including Mach32, Mach64, ET4000W32P, S3 764, S3 964, S3 968.

The missing chip on the Mach32 is a RAMDAC, though the card still has a RAMDAC just an inferior one. The socket is probably available to upgrade. RAMDAC doesn't affect graphics speed, just the frequencies at which screen resolutions can be displayed. I recommend getting a mach32 with the faster RAMDAC or instead a Mach64 which is much better:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ATI-109-26900-30-MA ... .m20.l1116
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby retro games 100 » 2008-8-07 @ 06:56

Do VLB graphics cards work properly if you connect them to modern LCDs?
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby Qbix » 2008-8-07 @ 08:34

why not ? VLB refers to internal bus connection. not to the output ports present
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10523
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Info & Thoughts about this Video Card?

Postby Amigaz » 2008-8-07 @ 08:37

Anonymous Coward wrote:Lots of early Pentium motherboards had VLB slots (just take a look on TH99). There were even ISA only Pentium boards. Most of the VLB Pentiums are probably scrapped by now, but they certainly exist and they work just as well as VLB on a 486.

I've tested several cards on my VLB Pentium, including Mach32, Mach64, ET4000W32P, S3 764, S3 964, S3 968.

The missing chip on the Mach32 is a RAMDAC, though the card still has a RAMDAC just an inferior one. The socket is probably available to upgrade. RAMDAC doesn't affect graphics speed, just the frequencies at which screen resolutions can be displayed. I recommend getting a mach32 with the faster RAMDAC or instead a Mach64 which is much better:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ATI-109-26900-30-MA ... .m20.l1116


Bought one of these, excellent seller
Image

Image
User avatar
Amigaz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1696
Joined: 2007-3-03 @ 09:01
Location: Stockholm, Sweden


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amadeus777999, chose007 and 6 guests