VOGONS

First post, by retro games 100

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Hardware: Soundblaster live! model CT4620 and (pictured in centre) an I/O attachment, model CT4660.

I've successfully tested this I/O attachment's MIDI OUT, by connecting a midi cable to its MIDI OUT socket, and feeding it to a MIDI IN socket on a Roland SC-55 external unit. I then play a .mid tune on the Win98 PC, and I can hear it being played on the SC-55.

Now, I have connected a midi cable to this Roland SC-55 unit's MIDI OUT socket, and fed this lead in to the Creative I/O attachment's MIDI IN socket.

Then, I select one of the two demo songs which are onboard the SC-55, and play one of them. All I need to do now is know that this music is being sent successfully through the Creative I/O attachment, and then in to the Soundblaster card itself.

I am guessing that I need to be running some software on the PC, but I've never done any like this kind of stuff before, and so I don't know what application I need to run to be able to hear the music.

Any ideas please people? 😀

PS -

I'm afraid to complicate matters, all of the Creative software installed was from an older "SB live Platinum edition" CD, and I don't think it's working all that well, because when I try to launch certain Creative applications, such as the mixer, they fail to run.

Attachments

• ct4660.JPG
    Filename
    ct4660.JPG
    File size
    95.05 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 2 of 4, by retro games 100

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
keropi wrote:

why not dowload proper drivers from creative's site?

I think the drivers are ok.

I then tried installing the Creative application suite from a CD, and I think that's when some of the trouble started.

However, the card itself still appears to function correctly - all of dxdiag is ok, including the "midi out" test (sent to the Roland SC-55). Also the eax demo works, and Creative's diagnostics check is ok.