VOGONS

First post, by Malik

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Are there any actual perceptible difference between these two synthesis?

Or is it sought for it's vintage, classic status alone?

Can I be happy with just listening to my AWE32's FM music? Or will an original Adlib provide me something different?

I have never used an Adlib card before and it's as rare (read unavailable) as LAPC-I in ebay.

Reply 1 of 13, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Malik wrote:

Are there any actual perceptible difference between these two synthesis?

Very yes

Doom E1M1
AWE64 (creative crap fm)
CS4231 (YMF262)

Also the creative FM has missing channel anomalies as evidenced in this:
Doom E2M2
AWE64 (creative crap fm)
CS4231 (YMF262)

Sure, YMF262 isn't adlib but it's as closer to it than a creative fm card gets.

apsosig.png
long live PCem

Reply 4 of 13, by prophase_j

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I'm not sure if that is the exact comparison Malik was reffering to..

The AWE64 isn't an actual OPL3, it is synthesized using Creative's proprietary method. But most AWE32's do have a bona-fide OPL3 built in. If I also remember correctly the digital output is sampled through the EMU8000, and available from the S/PDIF header on the board.

So that being said... the only differences would be the output stages.. things like noise and frequency attenuation. Now I haven't had either of these devices.. i'm just spouting information I have picked up from here and other sources. So if i'm wrong someone should step in and set the record straight.

"Retro Rocket"
Athlon XP-M 2200+ // Epox 8KTA3
Radeon 9800xt // Voodoo2 SLI
Diamond MX300 // SB AWE64 Gold

Reply 5 of 13, by 5u3

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Malik wrote:

Can I be happy with just listening to my AWE32's FM music? Or will an original Adlib provide me something different?

That depends on the AWE32 version you got. What's the model number of your card?

Reply 6 of 13, by Silent Loon

User metadata