Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Postby SquallStrife » 2011-4-20 @ 21:15

Well, I managed to get a CMI8330 to attach my XR385 to.

Wow what a combination! This card actually sounds really good! :D
VogonsDrivers.com | Link | News Thread
[retro swim] | Link | Release Thread
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/RetroSwimAU
User avatar
SquallStrife
l33t
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: 2010-2-06 @ 15:18
Location: Drowning in consoles

Re: Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Postby rfnagel » 2012-8-16 @ 20:36

Sorry to dig up this old(er) message thread, but I've been recently having a little more fun with the S-YXG50 :)

My own little Yamaha XG rendition of Chuck Berry's "Johnny B. Goode". Sequenced with Cakewalk Professional v3.01, and synthesized using the Yamaha S-YXG50 v4.23.14S WDM software synthesizer.

http://tinyurl.com/Johnny-B-Goode-XG

:)
Rich ¥Weeds¥ Nagel
http://www.richnagel.net
User avatar
rfnagel
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1199
Joined: 2009-4-03 @ 22:24
Location: Out in the woods of Crystal River, Florida USA

Re: Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Postby quasarstrider » 2017-6-07 @ 13:08

Guys, sorry to rehash this old thread, but I think you could find this interesting:
http://veg.by/en/projects/syxg50/

Some guy reverse engineered the Yamaha S-YXG50 SoftSynth as a VSTi Plugin! You can then use it on applications which support VSTi Plugins like foobar2000 to play MIDI files. It was lovely to listen to the old Warcraft II MIDI files like they sounded on my old SB16 + DB-50XG... You can also use this with a VST MIDI Driver on Windows XP/Vista/7+.

He basically reverse engineered the WDM driver (the assembly code and Yamaha .TBL sound sample format) and made it into a plugin. I think this should be of interest for anyone attempting to reproduce the DB-50XG with software emulation.

PS: Oops. Sorry for the dupe. Only now I noticed this:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=47840
User avatar
quasarstrider
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2003-10-25 @ 02:44

Re: Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Postby yawetaG » 2017-10-16 @ 07:19

Just bumped into this thread, and I can add that there's another Yamaha softsynth out there (that doesn't work on anything higher than Windows 95): S-YG20. If one of my recent activities works out, I'll soonish own a CD containing it. :D

Some more information on it:
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/rec.music.classical.recordings/iREdRZCkJe0
http://veg.by/en/blog/2016/04/25/yamaha-midi-synth-history/

rfnagel wrote:That's some of those effects that I was talking about earlier in action. That thing supports overdrive, distortion, tube and stacked amp effects, as well as a plethora of others ("Variation" effects, as Yamaha calls 'em). Heh, on some of the fancier the external versions of the card (MU80, etc...), they even had line ins and outs so's you could use the effects for other things (e.g. in place of an effects "stomp box" for a guitar).


Unfortunately, that usually doesn't work. Most GM modules with line-ins, including most MU-units, will only mix the line-in input with their own output. There are very few units that can actually apply their internal effects to line-in input. On my MU-10 it's possible, but at the cost of reducing the polyphony from 32 to 30 voices.

rfnagel wrote:Oh well.. was hoping to find another "XG-ified" game (like FF7), but I guess not.


There appear to be more of them, but most of them are Japanese games that weren't released outside of Japan. Floppies and CD-ROMs with XG-format music files were also released in Japan, similar to disks with Roland-oriented SMF files on them.
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 999
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Postby derSammler » 2017-10-16 @ 08:36

yawetaG wrote:Unfortunately, that usually doesn't work. Most GM modules with line-ins, including most MU-units, will only mix the line-in input with their own output. There are very few units that can actually apply their internal effects to line-in input.

That's not quite right. Most MU-units allow that - starting with the MU80. It's easy to spot which ones can, since those that can have a golden input jack.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1455
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Postby yawetaG » 2017-10-16 @ 10:34

derSammler wrote:
yawetaG wrote:Unfortunately, that usually doesn't work. Most GM modules with line-ins, including most MU-units, will only mix the line-in input with their own output. There are very few units that can actually apply their internal effects to line-in input.

That's not quite right. Most MU-units allow that - starting with the MU80. It's easy to spot which ones can, since those that can have a golden input jack.


That's what I get for not checking :blush: .

Something I'm not entirely clear on is whether the MU-80 and higher can actually use all effects on any input, or only preset effects (that can be modified) that are best suited for a particular input type. The manuals seem to suggest the latter.
On the MU-10 this limitation doesn't seem to exist, as it lacks all but the most basic presets for the A/D inputs.

Golden connectors are more often used on pro-level gear; the gold layer improves conduction and protects the connector from oxidation. The MU-10 connectors don't have it.
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 999
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Yamaha S-YXG50 and DB50XG

Postby yawetaG » 2017-12-03 @ 10:00

yawetaG wrote:Just bumped into this thread, and I can add that there's another Yamaha softsynth out there (that doesn't work on anything higher than Windows 95): S-YG20. If one of my recent activities works out, I'll soonish own a CD containing it. :D


Scratch the "doesn't work on anything higher than Windows 95", it works fine on 98SE. Except that you can't install both the S-YG20 and S-YXG50 softsynths on the same installation of Windows - trying to install S-YXG50 after installing S-YG20 will result in a driver-related error message and the installation will abort. S-YG20 includes a special Yamaha MIDI driver that can be loaded and unloaded at will (unloading requires restarting Windows).
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 999
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cyclone3d and 6 guests