VOGONS

First post, by YCH

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi all,

Wondering if this is possible for my old PC that's used exclusively for DOS and Windows 9x gaming. I've never used a PowerVR card before so not sure what to expect in terms of compatibility.

My base system is as follows:

Windows 98SE
PIII 1GHz
Abit BH-6 440BX
128MB RAM
nVidia Geforce2 GTS (main videocard)
ATi All-in-Wonder Pro (sometimes installed for trying out Rage API games)
Diamond Monster 3D II (for all things 3Dfx)

Thanks!

Reply 1 of 12, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

If you mean PCX-2 (Apocalypse 3D, Matrox M3D), sure! It only feeds video to your host video card's buffer. The PCX-2 usage "hijacking" only occurs if you check the simple "Use PowerVR HAL" in its own tab in Display Properties. This only hijacks Direct3D though, so if something crashes, turn it off (or use the apocalypse3d driver which gives you a control panel to add game profiles in to override the hal or not among other things)

Bushwack even did the same thing with a PowerVR/3dfx combo.

I use a PowerVR/PowerVR combo 😵

PRO TIP: Don't use Geforce2. It's notably blurry around here. Yes it is powerful and kicks all sorts of ass, but its VGA output is just terrible!

apsosig.png
long live PCem

Reply 2 of 12, by YCH

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Whoa superfast reply there leileilol!

Yeah I'm thinking of getting a PCX2 video card, like the M3D.

So it sounds like the driver control panel will allow me to disable the PCX2 card for Direct3D. It'll still work with PowerVR SGL games?

My plan is to do the following:

GeForce2 for Direct3D (don't hate!)
Voodoo2 for Glide
PowerVR for PowerVR SGL

For ultimate retro gaming goodness I still use a CRT with this PC. Maybe that is why I don't notice too much of a problem even with the GeForce2. That and I stick with 1024*768 and lower. Pretty much the domain of pre-1999 games.

Reply 3 of 12, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
YCH wrote: