VOGONS

First post, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Basically what the title sais.

When building a 9x rig (say Pentium 3 or earlier), what games will sound best using a Vortex or Vortex 2 and which games will sound better using the SB128 PCI?

And are there any other (PCI) soundcards worth mentioning in this regard (what about Yamaha? ESS Solo-1?)?

And how will ISA soundcards compare in the list for Windows 9x?
Or would I be better off saving them for DOS?
I 'somewhat' know that using an ISA expansion card has the downside to slow down a system that would otherwise use only PCI (and perhaps AGP) cards?

Are there any daughterboards worth mentioning? Mind you, I have zero experience with daughterboards on soundcards. Iirc I may have one single one, all I remember it was a dream... something.

Of course I've used most of these in the past, but I basically just put used the one that was "on top of the pile" when I needed a PCI soundcard, but I'd like to actually start using them more intelligently, so to say, and build maybe a couple separate rigs, each with a different soundcard and each with different games installed which sound the best with the soundcard installed in said rig.

Are there any "lists" or something which game is best used with which soundcard? Again, I'm kinda a newb in this matter.

Thanks!

Reply 1 of 16, by Mau1wurf1977

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

The Vortex 2 cards seem to be highly regarded. They get mentioned all the time.

I think it boils down to what Sound technology the game uses. If it's A3D then use a Vortex 2, but if it's EAX then use a Creative card.

Regarding ISA / PCI my understanding is that you use ISA for DOS and PCI for windows.

I don't know if daughterboards are even needed under W98SE unless you do MIDI stuff. The Creative cards are able to load SoundFonts into memory, so IMO that's a big plus as it's very flexible and convenient.

My website with reviews, demos, drivers, tutorials and more...