Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-1-15 @ 21:21

Yea I'm running the CPUs at stock at the moment. The onboard USB is not very found of overclocking and can flake out even at 140 MHz FSB. It's a known issue and easily solved with a PCI USB card but those are in storage...

Other than that the DVD266 is supposed to do somewhere around 145 - 150 MHz FSB running AGP 4X, a bit more running AGP 2X and much more when using a PCI video card. The AGP implementation seems to be this motherboards weakness.

As this is supposed to be a year 2001 build and 1400 MHz seems right on the money for what I would been able to get with PIII-S 1.26 CPUs Im pretty happy with running the 1.4 CPUs at stock anyhow.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3326
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby slivercr » 2018-2-05 @ 16:14

Way to ignore a guy.

In any case, I was successful a while back in setting up dual P3-S 1.4 CPUs on an Intel OR840. The thread has info on how to mod slotkets, info on the korean adapter mod from ebay, and random musings/ramblings.
20180205_dualaking.jpg
Outrigger: OR840 / 2x P3-S 1400 / 2 GB RDRAM / QuForce FX 5800 / Voodoo2 SLI / Win2k
User avatar
slivercr
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2017-2-16 @ 18:00
Location: Groningen

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-2-05 @ 19:23

oh neato. I'll be posting pics of my Asus TRL-DLS here in a bit. Took a short unboxing video too. It came from Germany, I had to.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Radical Vision » 2018-2-12 @ 13:10

Win 98 on dual Tualatin or 462 is overkill, XP will suit it better.. Also Not sure who got the best dual 370 motherboard, as mine AOpen looks really great,, and pared with x2 Voodoo 2 Black Magic will be insane...
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Radical Vision
Member
 
Posts: 348
Joined: 2017-10-30 @ 07:30
Location: The Bat Cave

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-2-13 @ 07:13

Finally got off my lazy ass and got a short vid together of the TRL-DLS I got. Only took 2 weeks. I've really been buried playing Civ 6's latest expansion.

https://youtu.be/Ql8uF6xqtQE
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby slivercr » 2018-2-13 @ 16:36

luckybob wrote:Finally got off my lazy ass and got a short vid together of the TRL-DLS I got. Only took 2 weeks. I've really been buried playing Civ 6's latest expansion.

https://youtu.be/Ql8uF6xqtQE


Please start a thread about this board, I really wanna see the build and benchmarks!
Outrigger: OR840 / 2x P3-S 1400 / 2 GB RDRAM / QuForce FX 5800 / Voodoo2 SLI / Win2k
User avatar
slivercr
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2017-2-16 @ 18:00
Location: Groningen

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-2-13 @ 19:43

I'm getting some other pieces together, but It is one of my priorities. I just need to finish civ6's x-pack first...
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby flupke11 » 2018-3-02 @ 23:09

For all the wrong reasons, I'm back in my attic. So what about that Iwill DS133-R I never got to unpacking and testing?

I tried it with two PIII 700, and two 64 MB sticks of Rambus folly. As it booted, I thought why not try the only Powerleap iP3/T adapter I have (with the Cellie 1200). Booted nicely and got through to memtest without an issue.

Throwing caution into the freezing snow storm, I tried 2 Tualatin 1400's (different stepping, my Tuallie-twins are still somewhere in the garage) on Upgradeware Slot-T adapters (which I put on 1.5V-133MHz through the jumpers).

And what do you know, I qualify to post in this section. The Malay and the Philippines do get nicely along together through the booting process and the memtest, although I have no idea on what voltage. It's difficult to believe the upgradeware adapter does the same voltage regulation as the ostensibly intricate Powerleap iP3/T.

More tests to be done, especially on ram, if I ever want this build to be useful.
User avatar
flupke11
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2013-5-20 @ 13:38
Location: Belgium

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby flupke11 » 2018-3-03 @ 09:06

Unfortunately, the build based on the Iwil DS133-R will not be useful. I can only get two sticks of 128 RDRAM to work. No other sticks I have, including 1GB sticks, will post.

I start to doubt the longevity of using the Upgradeware slot-t dapters as well, this morning, the system did not post well. I'll post some pictures later today, but this mainboard will probably go onto the heap of "useless, but too cool to throw away".
User avatar
flupke11
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2013-5-20 @ 13:38
Location: Belgium

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby slivercr » 2018-3-03 @ 11:13

flupke11 wrote:Unfortunately, the build based on the Iwil DS133-R will not be useful. I can only get two sticks of 128 RDRAM to work. No other sticks I have, including 1GB sticks, will post.

I start to doubt the longevity of using the Upgradeware slot-t dapters as well, this morning, the system did not post well. I'll post some pictures later today, but this mainboard will probably go onto the heap of "useless, but too cool to throw away".


That's a shame, I would've liked to see the performance of the i820. I think the max it can take is 1GB total, so 1 GB RIMMs are out of the question. You are using continuity modules / installing in pairs? Forgive the question if you are experienced, I just want to see the machine up and running :D

Personally, I would put a bit more effort before discarding it—it would be a very cool system!
Outrigger: OR840 / 2x P3-S 1400 / 2 GB RDRAM / QuForce FX 5800 / Voodoo2 SLI / Win2k
User avatar
slivercr
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2017-2-16 @ 18:00
Location: Groningen

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby flupke11 » 2018-3-04 @ 21:29

I wasn't looking for the matching Tualatins, but I found them anyway and swapped the CPU's for another round of tests. You've persuaded me, although I should have been doing other things instead :).

Funnily enough, the board does not boot with two sticks of 256. Each stick works fine with a c-rimm, but together the board fails to boot. That makes no go for 1GB sticks and 2 256 sticks. All other combinations boot (64-128-256).

I ran system speed test and these are the results (I'll post some eye candy later):

Bandwith 978.72 MB/s
L1 cache 5265.14
L2 cache 3007.15
Throughput 392.48

Power draw is 88 Watt with Plextor drive, one extra case fan and a 4GB CF boot card.
User avatar
flupke11
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2013-5-20 @ 13:38
Location: Belgium

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-3-04 @ 21:30

recap the board. I'd bet heavily it will solve these issues.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby flupke11 » 2018-3-04 @ 21:43

Info from the BIOS with the correct (hopefully) voltages

DSC_3344.JPG


The caps do not look bulged or burst, but I'm not an expert on caps anyway.

DSC_3353.JPG


And the setup as it was a few days ago. I needed to test whether the x1950 AGP I have would boot, that's why it is on the picture.
I replaced it with the Diamond Viper 330 afterwards for the benchmark.
DSC_3327.JPG
User avatar
flupke11
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2013-5-20 @ 13:38
Location: Belgium

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-3-04 @ 21:47

flupke11 wrote:The caps do not look bulged or burst, but I'm not an expert on caps anyway.


irrelevant. Caps can still be out of spec, even if they look good. If I have the problems you described, that is a giant red flag for bad caps.

You have to decide if you want to invest the time money and effort into recapping this board. I typically do the procedure. I enjoy it and once you have the proper tools it is an easy process.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby flupke11 » 2018-3-04 @ 22:11

Thanks Luckybob, I'll look into the cost and effort.
User avatar
flupke11
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2013-5-20 @ 13:38
Location: Belgium

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-3-04 @ 22:50

Recapping can also turn a board with periodic instability or crashes into one with very infrequent or practically no crashes. That is my experience anyway, at least on one of my dual Tualatin boards in which the caps looked fine.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 5260
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby dirkmirk » 2018-3-31 @ 02:46

I haven't seen any results anywhere of the difference between PCI vs PCI-X?

Did anyone manage to compare the difference?

Thinking of buying a server board to use for my Tualatin, I presume theirs no overclocking with server boards?
dirkmirk
Oldbie
 
Posts: 804
Joined: 2007-5-20 @ 03:00
Location: Australia

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-3-31 @ 03:04

dirkmirk wrote:I haven't seen any results anywhere of the difference between PCI vs PCI-X?

Did anyone manage to compare the difference?

Thinking of buying a server board to use for my Tualatin, I presume theirs no overclocking with server boards?


In 99% of cases, you won't be able to overclock a server grade board.

I will be modding some pci cards to run at 66mhz in the future. so maybe I can get some benches up, but life is in teh way for now.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-3-31 @ 05:07

dirkmirk wrote:I haven't seen any results anywhere of the difference between PCI vs PCI-X?

Did anyone manage to compare the difference?

For video, ethernet, or HDD access?
We looked at video here: viewtopic.php?f=46&t=43259
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 5260
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby dirkmirk » 2018-3-31 @ 08:34

So the verdict, the P3 server boards run pci-x at 33mhz? Pointless then?
dirkmirk
Oldbie
 
Posts: 804
Joined: 2007-5-20 @ 03:00
Location: Australia

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AllTinker, BLEXBot [Bot], chrisNova777, Errius, Xeen and 13 guests