Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-1-12 @ 20:58

feipoa wrote:The thread is alive!

I wonder how the Apollo Pro 266 compares to the 266T and the 133 when using Tualatin CPUs...




I'm hoping the performance will be about the same! The lack of BIOS support for the Tualatin could perhaps affect the performance but the hacked CPUs or 266 vs 266T chipset shouldn't.

I'm using the dual Tualatin system to write this! The browser is Firefox 48, the last one that dosn't need SSE2. Just browsing the net with Adblocker active isn't slow at all, not even with 5+ tabs open.

Watching VP9 video is really a pain, 360P is the best Youtube video setting that runs smoothly. Forcing H264 probably improves the video performance but I don't really care enough to bother. The Youtube site stalls when I search because of some script issues (probably probing my memory ;) ) so I have to use a search engine to find the videos. :P
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3253
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2018-1-12 @ 21:13

feipoa wrote:The thread is alive!

I wonder how the Apollo Pro 266 compares to the 266T and the 133 when using Tualatin CPUs...

The 266T is much faster than the 133/694T. 1000 3DMark01 points faster, to be exact. :happy:
Plus, better AGP compatibility. My old 694T board (Asus TUV4X) couldn't run any card at AGP 4x without crashing, but my 266T (QDI Advance 12T) has no problem, even at 150MHz FSB!
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 830
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-12 @ 21:27

I also had 133 Pro board, I think it was Asus CUV4X-DLS. It was kinda flakey. I find the 266T to be in a different ballpark. Was curious about memory and cache performance between the two chipsets.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-1-12 @ 21:31

I finally found and paid for an Asus TRL-DLS. I'm so excited to get it. Spent better part of a decade looking for one.

It is essentially the same as the Intel SDS2. Expect a full thread about it.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3106
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2018-1-12 @ 21:36

feipoa wrote:I also had 133 Pro board, I think it was Asus CUV4X-DLS. It was kinda flakey. I find the 266T to be in a different ballpark. Was curious about memory and cache performance between the two chipsets.

I'm going by memory here. AIDA64 reported cache performance to be roughly the same (no surprise here, since it's all on the CPU). RAM was quite a bit faster: the 266T was pushing just over 1200MB/s (DDR @ 300MHz, 2-2-2-5), while the 694T was iirc somewhere between 1050-1100 (SDR @ 151MHz)
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 830
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-12 @ 21:37

luckybob wrote:I finally found and paid for an Asus TRL-DLS. I'm so excited to get it. Spent better part of a decade looking for one.

It is essentially the same as the Intel SDS2. Expect a full thread about it.

I'd really like to see a dual Tualatin which functions properly with the Matrox Parhelia PCI-X 256 card. You have this card to test out in your TRL-DLS?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-12 @ 21:38

Standard Def Steve wrote:
feipoa wrote:I also had 133 Pro board, I think it was Asus CUV4X-DLS. It was kinda flakey. I find the 266T to be in a different ballpark. Was curious about memory and cache performance between the two chipsets.

I'm going by memory here. AIDA64 reported cache performance to be roughly the same (no surprise here, since it's all on the CPU). RAM was quite a bit faster: the 266T was pushing just over 1200MB/s (DDR @ 300MHz, 2-2-2-5), while the 694T was iirc somewhere between 1050-1100 (SDR @ 151MHz)

Well, that's something at least. VIA added some performance benefit, aside from just stability.
Last edited by feipoa on 2018-1-12 @ 21:41, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-1-12 @ 21:41

feipoa wrote:I also had 133 Pro board, I think it was Asus CUV4X-DLS. It was kinda flakey. I find the 266T to be in a different ballpark. Was curious about memory and cache performance between the two chipsets.



I find this a good read, mostly because the Iwill DVD266 is performing well... 8). Not much cache benchmarks but many general benchmarks and lots of motherboards in this Anandtech roundup.

Other than the nice performance of the Apollo 266 it's also noteworthy to see that the only dual s370 i815EP motherboard in the roundup (and also the only one ever made?) dominates some tests.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/816/
Last edited by Skyscraper on 2018-1-12 @ 21:43, edited 1 time in total.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3253
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-1-12 @ 21:43

feipoa wrote:
luckybob wrote:I finally found and paid for an Asus TRL-DLS. I'm so excited to get it. Spent better part of a decade looking for one.

It is essentially the same as the Intel SDS2. Expect a full thread about it.

I'd really like to see a dual Tualatin which functions properly with the Matrox Parhelia PCI-X 256 card. You have this card to test out in your TRL-DLS?


nope. But my "super secret" plan is to get a trio of voodoo 5's and see if they will work in a triple-head config for games like quake 3.

That's the 'plan' anyway.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3106
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-12 @ 21:48

For the VIA Pro266T, did the 266 MB/s V-link between the PCI bus and the chipset really help much?

Luckybob, each Voodoo card on a different bus?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby luckybob » 2018-1-12 @ 21:51

feipoa wrote:For the VIA Pro266T, did the 266 MB/s V-link between the PCI bus and the chipset really help much?

Luckybob, each Voodoo card on a different bus?



no, 3 on one. the V5 will run at 66mhz. the green slot will get a sata raid, and the slow 33/32 bus for sound/etc
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3106
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-1-12 @ 22:33

Skyscraper wrote:
feipoa wrote:I also had 133 Pro board, I think it was Asus CUV4X-DLS. It was kinda flakey. I find the 266T to be in a different ballpark. Was curious about memory and cache performance between the two chipsets.



I find this a good read, mostly because the Iwill DVD266 is performing well... 8). Not much cache benchmarks but many general benchmarks and lots of motherboards in this Anandtech roundup.

Other than the nice performance of the Apollo 266 it's also noteworthy to see that the only dual s370 i815EP motherboard in the roundup (and also the only one ever made?) dominates some tests.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/816/


I actually have a DVD266-R myself. No Tualatin support but its a pretty cool board. I have two Coppermine-T 1Ghz PIIIs installed in it. Would make for an interesting system for sure. When I got it it came in the box for the DVD266u-N, which is the Tualatin model, so I was a little sad when I saw that it was the pre-Tualatin model, but it has the manual and some other stuff and it does work very well, so overall I was pleased. I haven't really used it for anything yet though. It will probably end up finding a new home before I can come up with a reason to have two 1Ghz processors without SSE2 support.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 915
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-1-12 @ 22:48

Ozzuneoj wrote:
Skyscraper wrote:
feipoa wrote:I also had 133 Pro board, I think it was Asus CUV4X-DLS. It was kinda flakey. I find the 266T to be in a different ballpark. Was curious about memory and cache performance between the two chipsets.



I find this a good read, mostly because the Iwill DVD266 is performing well... 8). Not much cache benchmarks but many general benchmarks and lots of motherboards in this Anandtech roundup.

Other than the nice performance of the Apollo 266 it's also noteworthy to see that the only dual s370 i815EP motherboard in the roundup (and also the only one ever made?) dominates some tests.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/816/


I actually have a DVD266-R myself. No Tualatin support but its a pretty cool board. I have two Coppermine-T 1Ghz PIIIs installed in it. Would make for an interesting system for sure. When I got it it came in the box for the DVD266u-N, which is the Tualatin model, so I was a little sad when I saw that it was the pre-Tualatin model, but it has the manual and some other stuff and it does work very well, so overall I was pleased. I haven't really used it for anything yet though. It will probably end up finding a new home before I can come up with a reason to have two 1Ghz processors without SSE2 support.


Or you can order two modded Tualatin PIII-S 1.4 CPUs from Korea (still no SSE2 though). They are kind of getting expensive but that goes for non modded Tualatin PIII-S 1.4 aswell.

I can say for sure that they work in the DVD266 and DVD266-R as the modded CPUs from Korea is what I'm using.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3253
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2018-1-13 @ 01:37

Skyscraper wrote:
Or you can order two modded Tualatin PIII-S 1.4 CPUs from Korea (still no SSE2 though). They are kind of getting expensive but that goes for non modded Tualatin PIII-S 1.4 aswell.

I can say for sure that they work in the DVD266 and DVD266-R as the modded CPUs from Korea is what I'm using.

For 400Mhz and a bit more performance per clock, it's hard to justify the $100 it'd cost for a pair of modded CPUs. There's very little that dual 1.4Ghz PIIIs (even overclocked) would be great for that a pair of 1Ghz PIIIs (overclocked) couldn't handle.

Has anyone figured out how to do the mod themselves cheaply, without having to do anything that requires an engineering degree?
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 915
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-13 @ 02:17

I think the best approach is just to find a Tualatin-native motherboard.

Is there a step-by-step guide on doing the mod?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby slivercr » 2018-1-13 @ 12:11

Ozzuneoj wrote:
Skyscraper wrote:
Or you can order two modded Tualatin PIII-S 1.4 CPUs from Korea (still no SSE2 though). They are kind of getting expensive but that goes for non modded Tualatin PIII-S 1.4 aswell.

I can say for sure that they work in the DVD266 and DVD266-R as the modded CPUs from Korea is what I'm using.

For 400Mhz and a bit more performance per clock, it's hard to justify the $100 it'd cost for a pair of modded CPUs. There's very little that dual 1.4Ghz PIIIs (even overclocked) would be great for that a pair of 1Ghz PIIIs (overclocked) couldn't handle.

Has anyone figured out how to do the mod themselves cheaply, without having to do anything that requires an engineering degree?


feipoa wrote:I think the best approach is just to find a Tualatin-native motherboard.

Is there a step-by-step guide on doing the mod?


The "korean mod" is super simple, I detailed it a bit in my thread about my build around an OR840. It looks intimidating because it has so many traces and pads, but in reality there are only like 3 components added under the CPU, and a few bridged pins. You can check out this post for info on what it does (DISCLAIMER: I don't have one of these modded CPUs, but tracing the picture from the ebay add, and using the datasheet for Tualatin CPUs, I am fairly certain I figured it out. Still, don't blame me if you attempt a mod using my info, since I have not tried it myself!).

If there is interest I can make a step by step guide on how to mod a motherboard to emulate these mods. There is also a lot of info on the modder's forum, in particular about "requirements" from the motherboard--you would need a multimeter to check if your motherboard works, or use one of the ones (s)he lists. You wouldn't need an engineering degree, but being handy with a soldering iron would definitely be a must. Otherwise, I'd recommend just buying from that person directly.
Outrigger: OR840 / 2x P3-S 1400 / GeForce4 Ti4600 / Voodoo2 SLI / Win98SE - Win2000
User avatar
slivercr
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: 2017-2-16 @ 18:00

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-13 @ 18:16

I don't see any Tualatin adapters on eBay except for the Lin Lin adapters. Anyone try those?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-1-14 @ 00:27

feipoa wrote:I don't see any Tualatin adapters on eBay except for the Lin Lin adapters. Anyone try those?


I own at least two of the Lin Lins but I have not tried them yet. I bought 3 modified PIII-S 1400 CPUs and one modified Celeron 1400 from Korea a few years ago so I have not had any reasons to mess with the Lin Lin adapters yet.

Now when two of the modified PIII-S CPUs will be permanently in the Iwill DVD266 build and the third is in my main Windows 98 Asus CUSL2 build I might find a reason to try a Lin Lin. I have a non modified PIII-S 1400 incoming and also various Celerons lying around.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3253
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-1-15 @ 20:57

I did some gaming with the Iwilll DVD266 dual Tualatin + Geforce3 ti500 system.


Games up to year 2004 or so runs great with max detail settings (DX8) and 1280*1024 (no AA). Even some later games like Colin Mcrae Rally 2005 with pretty high system requirements runs very well. Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 was the newest game I tried and it was playable at lowish settings.



I tested some other video cards. Note that that the BIOS is set to AGP4x with fast writes enabled. Disabling these features would probably have yielded better results compatibility wise but as they worked with the Geforce3 I left them on.


Geforce 7600GT AGP. Driver 92.91: Installed fine, everything worked fine in the GUI. 3dmark 2001 would result in a black screen.
Geforce FX5500 AGP. Driver 92.91: Everything worked fine. (but slow of course)
Geforce4 ti4200 AGP8x with dodgy caps. Driver 71.something: Worked fine in 2D, 3dmark ran but locked up once.
Geforce ti4200 AGP8x with dodgy caps. Driver 92.91: Everything worked fine. (A bit faster than the Geforce3 Ti500)

ATI Radeon 9800 XT. Driver Catalyst 7.something: Installed fine, everything worked fine in the GUI. 3dmark 2001 would result in a black screen.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3253
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Dual PIII-S Tualatin 1.4 GHz Success Stories

Postby feipoa » 2018-1-15 @ 21:14

You running it at 1.4 GHz? 1.5 GHz usually works across the board and without needing to adjust the voltage.

I have 3 setups now. One with a GF4MX, another with an FX600, and my favourite setup (MSI MS-9105 DDR motherboard) contains a MSI MS-8871, which is a Ti4400. All are setup with 3-4 GB of RAM, but only the Intel board seems to be able to use up to 3.4 GB when more advanced graphics cards are installed.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Deksor, kwyjibo and 12 guests