VOGONS

The ideal 80s-90s gaming machine

Topic actions

First post, by Filosofia

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Newbie here, trying hard not to let go of the single machine idea! Yes I want a do-it-all, from the late 80's into the 2000's , is that asking for too much? 😅
From the games I played in my 25Mhz 386sx to many of the fantastic games the 90's offered!

Already dusted off my 1998 (Slot 1 440BX 350MHz) PC which luckily appears to be a good starting. But you know, the mind wanders , and after some readings I'm looking with fresh eyes to the Super7 system next to me, roughly about the same age.

After reading Overclocking software for AMD K6 CPUs I immediately thought " It's a no-brainer", why wrestle to get an unlocked 400MHz Deschutes matching with multiplier softbios when you can have a 3DPower-Now!K6-2 550MHz and choose the multiplier with config.sys , even making a menu.bat to choose at boot? Am I missing something here?

Last edited by Filosofia on 2012-07-30, 01:46. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 1 of 30, by elianda

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

It has to be a K6-2+ since you need PowerNow! support with variable multiplier.

Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, Videos. Now with file search
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool

Reply 2 of 30, by Filosofia

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Edited, thanks!

Still, any K6-2 as long as it has 3DPower-Now! right?

The keyword is flexibility , if we can have a system that ranges from a no-L1 and no-L2 133MHz to a full 600MHz what is the question then? Does any other CPU covers this kind of options as easily as adding some lines to the config.sys?