"Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Discussion about old PC hardware.

"Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby d1stortion » 2013-6-06 @ 21:25

Does this actually exist? This information is on wikipedia for a long time. Fairly sure there were only the Value with 512 KB and the Gold with 4 MB RAM. Why do people make such stuff up and post it on there...
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby leileilol » 2013-6-06 @ 21:34

The 1MB sample ROM doesn't mean the expandable memory on the card.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9433
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby d1stortion » 2013-6-06 @ 21:35

Who was talking about the ROM here...?
The AWE64 came in three versions initially: A "Value" version (with 512KB of RAM), a standard version (with 1 MB of RAM), and a "Gold" version (with 4 MB of RAM, high quality 20bit DAC and a separate SPDIF output).
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby F2bnp » 2013-6-06 @ 22:17

Possibly. I think I may have seen one, but I may be making this up because I read it on Wikipedia or something :P.
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby d1stortion » 2013-6-06 @ 22:26

And that's how vintage hardware myths are born. By playing telephone.
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42


Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby d1stortion » 2013-6-06 @ 22:52

Huh, it's on this blog here as well: http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.de/2012 ... tions.html

Comment:
I miss the old days..Anyway I might add that I recently bought a CT4380 because I thought it would have 1MB of ram, but mine only shows 512K...like the 4550 and 4520...Maybe this was a revision...? It's dated 1996..
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby F2bnp » 2013-6-06 @ 23:27

Here's a list of Creative cards that apparently Reckless from the forum here compiled years ago:
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=8904
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2013-6-06 @ 23:39

The 1MB versions were somewhat uncommon. Most AWEs I saw were values. A few people bought the AWE64 Gold.

I think at that time people didn't care much about midi anyway. I doubt the wavetable on the standard version was much better than the 512k version anyway (which sounded worse than FM).
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2840
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby d1stortion » 2013-6-07 @ 07:48

The ROM (i.e. for the AWE option in games) was the same on all cards. The RAM is for soundfonts (GM option).
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby Stojke » 2013-6-07 @ 07:56

I have two of those.
Note | LLSID | "Big boobs are important!"
User avatar
Stojke
l33t
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: 2012-3-23 @ 14:51
Location: Serbia

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby dr_st » 2015-6-22 @ 19:15

Is there a definite answer on this? Namely, do the CT4380 have 1MB of RAM or 512KB?

The Nerdy Pleasures blog claims they are different, but the quoted post from there suggests that maybe it's wrong. I recall reading a different source the claimed that the standard version (CT4380) was simply renamed "value" in later revisions (CT4500/CT4520), but that there are no actual differences in RAM or other key parameters.

I would edit Wikipedia to remove the information if it is indeed erroneous, but would like to be sure. :)
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby Stojke » 2015-6-22 @ 19:45

Note | LLSID | "Big boobs are important!"
User avatar
Stojke
l33t
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: 2012-3-23 @ 14:51
Location: Serbia

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby dr_st » 2015-6-22 @ 20:55

Aha. Good point.

256K * 16b makes it 512KB. The other CT4380 on that page has a different chip, but same configuration.

The "Value" variants - CT4500 and CT4520 - appear to have different chips yet again (by NEC/NPN), but they each seem to be the same 512KB configuration.

The "Gold" has two 1M by 16b chips - 4MB RAM.

There also appears to be a smaller 128KB chip (256K*4b) on each of these cards. Not sure what its purpose is.

So, in the end it seems like the commonly referenced info is indeed wrong, and there is no 1MB RAM variant of the AWE64. Unless it is some very obscure one. The difference between the CT4380 and the relabeled CT4500/20 seems to be the IDE interface (although not all CT4380 actually had the connector, they all had the placeholder on the board for it).
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby Stojke » 2015-6-22 @ 21:08

Yes you are correct. By chip values there is no 1MB AWE64. Even the CT4500 has 512k , but no VALUE text written.
Note | LLSID | "Big boobs are important!"
User avatar
Stojke
l33t
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: 2012-3-23 @ 14:51
Location: Serbia

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby Logistics » 2015-6-23 @ 02:22

There must have been an important piece of misinformation, even back in the day because I have come across very, very old forum posts by coders who were also trying to figure out why their "1MB" AWE64's were experiencing all sorts of problems when trying to access over 512KB. I think it's safe to assume a 1MB does not actually exist.
User avatar
Logistics
Oldbie
 
Posts: 511
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 06:37
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: "Standard" 1 MB RAM AWE64

Postby dr_st » 2015-6-23 @ 06:39

OK, then. Since there appears to be no evidence to the contrary, I've edited the Wikipedia page to remove reference to the 1MB variant. I'll inform the Nerdly pleasures blog author as well. Thanks, guys. :)
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], goostaw, Revolter, Semrush [Bot] and 15 guests